SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-108 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/09 0:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Great looking dress! The red is a good color on you.
5/19/09 0:23 AM
Twinset said...
You look fantastic in your beautiful red dress!!! Love it.
5/19/09 0:49 AM
morzel said...
Aah, another great version of this. This is a wonderful dress on you! Looks like it is very versatile, as it can be dressed up or down.
5/19/09 2:05 AM
paolag said...
I have been wanting to make this dress for ages, but have been waiting for my skills to catch up. I think I'm nearly there, so I will give this one a crack soon. Looks great on you, and the accessories set it off perfectly.
5/19/09 2:23 AM
Ann Smith said...
What a great dress! I love the color on you plus the silk noil choice of fabric.
5/19/09 3:08 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
Very pretty. Great color too.
5/19/09 3:15 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thank you for the great review. I am glad I am not the only one who can't work out which way to fold the pleats. I think I get it wrong every time! Your dress is lovely!
5/19/09 6:55 AM
graustark said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks both comfortable and the fit is great. I love the elastic on the sides. And thanks for posting the collar tutorial. I am working on a shirtdress from the most recent issue of BWOF and FWIW, the directions pleats should fold are marked on this pattern.
5/19/09 8:12 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love this dress. It is so stylish and the silk noil really makes it sophisticated. Lovely!
5/19/09 9:21 AM
Speech girl said...
Pretty dress!
5/19/09 9:32 AM
Sallygirl said...
Love this dress in red! I will have to study the collar tutorial just in case I make this a third time. Just for future reference, I folded each of the 2 outside pleats toward the center. The two inside pleats meet in the center. At least that's what I read the markings to say and so that's how I did it. :)
5/19/09 9:35 AM
Kelly D. said...
As always, you've made a fabulous dress and it looks smashing on you. A collar on a stand is my favorite detail on a shirt or dress. Thanks for the link to the tutorial.
5/19/09 9:42 AM
crisford said...
Your dress is beautiful and fits you very well. To know that it is made of silk bumps it up a few more levels, too.
5/19/09 11:21 AM
EleanorSews said...
So nice! Love your choice of soil noil. This looks great on you. The classic simplicity of a shirtwaist given a whole new look. BTW, I like your photos better than the BWOF image....
5/19/09 11:44 AM
Judy Wentz said...
Very nice! jw
5/19/09 12:37 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a really nice dress. You look fabulous in it. It's nice to have a dress that's so comfortable. I like the waistline. I love your choice of fabric. :)
5/19/09 12:50 PM
sew2little said...
Barbara--this dress looks wonderful on you and gives me an object lesson. I almost never choose a solid, but I think this looks so chic in the fabric you chose. So I need a new mantra when I go fabric shopping: solids, solids, solids. Marci
5/19/09 4:33 PM
Mahler said...
I love red dresses and yours has just the perfect intensity of colour. This is a great pattern, I love that style on you. Plus those sandals seam wonderful. This is a great look, very actual. Another great silk garment in your wardrobe. I still think about the silk safari out fit ... I am jealous of it ;-) I think of that dress as well. Thank you for sharing you creations. They are wonderful.
5/19/09 4:42 PM
Pamaro said...
That's a very attractive dress on you. Beautiful choice of fabric, too.
5/19/09 6:46 PM
lmg said...
Much nicer than the Burda fashion photo. A lovely red dress.
5/19/09 10:53 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress ..... it looks so lovely on you!
5/20/09 0:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely and flattering dress on you. Love the color!
5/20/09 5:27 AM
kerrynw said...
Lovely dress, the colour suits you. Yours looks much better than the original!
5/21/09 2:41 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
Gorgeous! What a flattering dress!
5/24/09 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Other P026

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 99538-1000

photo
by: bijou90

Review