SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-108 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/09 0:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Great looking dress! The red is a good color on you.
5/19/09 0:23 AM
Twinset said...
You look fantastic in your beautiful red dress!!! Love it.
5/19/09 0:49 AM
morzel said...
Aah, another great version of this. This is a wonderful dress on you! Looks like it is very versatile, as it can be dressed up or down.
5/19/09 2:05 AM
paolag said...
I have been wanting to make this dress for ages, but have been waiting for my skills to catch up. I think I'm nearly there, so I will give this one a crack soon. Looks great on you, and the accessories set it off perfectly.
5/19/09 2:23 AM
Ann Smith said...
What a great dress! I love the color on you plus the silk noil choice of fabric.
5/19/09 3:08 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
Very pretty. Great color too.
5/19/09 3:15 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thank you for the great review. I am glad I am not the only one who can't work out which way to fold the pleats. I think I get it wrong every time! Your dress is lovely!
5/19/09 6:55 AM
graustark said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks both comfortable and the fit is great. I love the elastic on the sides. And thanks for posting the collar tutorial. I am working on a shirtdress from the most recent issue of BWOF and FWIW, the directions pleats should fold are marked on this pattern.
5/19/09 8:12 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love this dress. It is so stylish and the silk noil really makes it sophisticated. Lovely!
5/19/09 9:21 AM
Speech girl said...
Pretty dress!
5/19/09 9:32 AM
Sallygirl said...
Love this dress in red! I will have to study the collar tutorial just in case I make this a third time. Just for future reference, I folded each of the 2 outside pleats toward the center. The two inside pleats meet in the center. At least that's what I read the markings to say and so that's how I did it. :)
5/19/09 9:35 AM
Kelly D. said...
As always, you've made a fabulous dress and it looks smashing on you. A collar on a stand is my favorite detail on a shirt or dress. Thanks for the link to the tutorial.
5/19/09 9:42 AM
crisford said...
Your dress is beautiful and fits you very well. To know that it is made of silk bumps it up a few more levels, too.
5/19/09 11:21 AM
EleanorSews said...
So nice! Love your choice of soil noil. This looks great on you. The classic simplicity of a shirtwaist given a whole new look. BTW, I like your photos better than the BWOF image....
5/19/09 11:44 AM
Judy Wentz said...
Very nice! jw
5/19/09 12:37 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a really nice dress. You look fabulous in it. It's nice to have a dress that's so comfortable. I like the waistline. I love your choice of fabric. :)
5/19/09 12:50 PM
sew2little said...
Barbara--this dress looks wonderful on you and gives me an object lesson. I almost never choose a solid, but I think this looks so chic in the fabric you chose. So I need a new mantra when I go fabric shopping: solids, solids, solids. Marci
5/19/09 4:33 PM
Mahler said...
I love red dresses and yours has just the perfect intensity of colour. This is a great pattern, I love that style on you. Plus those sandals seam wonderful. This is a great look, very actual. Another great silk garment in your wardrobe. I still think about the silk safari out fit ... I am jealous of it ;-) I think of that dress as well. Thank you for sharing you creations. They are wonderful.
5/19/09 4:42 PM
Pamaro said...
That's a very attractive dress on you. Beautiful choice of fabric, too.
5/19/09 6:46 PM
lmg said...
Much nicer than the Burda fashion photo. A lovely red dress.
5/19/09 10:53 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress ..... it looks so lovely on you!
5/20/09 0:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely and flattering dress on you. Love the color!
5/20/09 5:27 AM
kerrynw said...
Lovely dress, the colour suits you. Yours looks much better than the original!
5/21/09 2:41 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
Gorgeous! What a flattering dress!
5/24/09 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick B5796

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now