SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8383 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS A)

Viewed 653 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/09 7:21 PM
Last Updated:5/14/09 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jatman said...
I really think this is cute and love the fabric. Would you like it better if you had a shrug or bolero jacket to put with it? I hope it sees the outside of your closet this summer because it's really cute on you!
5/14/09 7:37 PM
CynthiaSue said...
But you look so cute Kellie! and the color is so great. I know why you chose this pattern. It is kind of a 50's retro shirtdress. I bet if it was a vintage pattern, you would have loved it!:):) I think you should wear it all summer.
5/14/09 7:43 PM
Athene said...
Kellie you are very pretty and I think you do look pretty in this dress. However I do know that you if think it doesn't suit you, you won't like it on you. But try to give it a chance.
5/14/09 8:38 PM
Sweetiebop said...
So sorry to hear you don't like the way this dress looks on you. I truly think you look very pretty.
5/14/09 8:41 PM
Em's Summer said...
This looks great on you, Kellie, but I understand your concern about the scant fabric in the side shot. I think that would bother me, too. This still, though, looks really good on you! And it is just a perfect breezy style for summer! BTW--CONGRATULATIONS on winning the Vintage Contest! Your dress was just beautiful!
5/14/09 9:25 PM
Berniejh said...
Wear it, wear it, wear it! It looks absolutely fantastic on you. You have lovely skin so show it off.
5/14/09 10:32 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Actually, I think that this is a very flattering silhouette on you. It emphasizes your beautiful shoulders and arms and definitely draws the eye up. I know what you mean about the coverage issue, though - that would make it hard to wear. Nice work on the dress, and very helpful review!
5/15/09 1:51 AM
Heatherrique said...
Flattering silhouette and I like the halter style on you! You're being too critical! You still look fiiiiiiiiiiiine!
5/15/09 8:30 AM
nicegirl said...
That cutout under the arm is pretty extreme! But I think this looks cute on you. It seems like a pattern with a lot of potential.
5/15/09 10:48 AM
Gold said...
I think it looks good on you!
5/15/09 11:38 AM
Deb Fox said...
Kellie, I think it looks absolutely wonderful on you! It's just as cute as could be, very retro and the perfect summer dress. I think you did a beautiful job, and if you don't want, I would happily take it from you (even though I'm sure we are not even close to being the same size!)
5/15/09 1:20 PM
JuneHawk said...
What are you talking about? It looks great on you!
5/15/09 7:26 PM
Wino said...
Very cute Kellie! I just purchased this pattern and am thinking of fabric-I love the retro shirtwaist look. It reminds me of my Mom!
5/16/09 10:25 AM
Annette1 said...
But it's so CUUUUUUUUUUTE!! (I'm whining now, just in case it's not coming across in print.) I HOPE you'll wear it at least SOME. Look how TINY your waist looks in that "HOLY SKIN BATMAN" picture. :o) I see what you mean about it showing a lot of skin, but in the other pose where you're just standing naturally, I don't think it's too extreme at all. If you don't like the length (and you have more of the fabric), maybe you could add a ruffle on the bottom. I'm not a fan of adding RUFFLES to fix stuff normally, but in this particular style, it's often a design element anyway. I think you should WEAR it, A LOT. Ms. Buttinski, signing off.
5/16/09 4:58 PM
Hilary said...
I too think it looks beautiful on you! But, did you notice, the buttons don't match? (ROFLOL~MEN! :D )
6/3/09 3:21 PM
canyonlady67 said...
I'm cutting view D out of linen...I think your dress looks great. :) Do you remember if you used interfacing on the front bodice piece as prescribed? The linen has so much body to it...with lining, the interfacing seems like it would be a bit much.
1/8/13 0:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 2828

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now