SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8383 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS A)

Viewed 651 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/09 7:21 PM
Last Updated:5/14/09 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jatman said...
I really think this is cute and love the fabric. Would you like it better if you had a shrug or bolero jacket to put with it? I hope it sees the outside of your closet this summer because it's really cute on you!
5/14/09 7:37 PM
CynthiaSue said...
But you look so cute Kellie! and the color is so great. I know why you chose this pattern. It is kind of a 50's retro shirtdress. I bet if it was a vintage pattern, you would have loved it!:):) I think you should wear it all summer.
5/14/09 7:43 PM
Athene said...
Kellie you are very pretty and I think you do look pretty in this dress. However I do know that you if think it doesn't suit you, you won't like it on you. But try to give it a chance.
5/14/09 8:38 PM
Sweetiebop said...
So sorry to hear you don't like the way this dress looks on you. I truly think you look very pretty.
5/14/09 8:41 PM
Em's Summer said...
This looks great on you, Kellie, but I understand your concern about the scant fabric in the side shot. I think that would bother me, too. This still, though, looks really good on you! And it is just a perfect breezy style for summer! BTW--CONGRATULATIONS on winning the Vintage Contest! Your dress was just beautiful!
5/14/09 9:25 PM
Berniejh said...
Wear it, wear it, wear it! It looks absolutely fantastic on you. You have lovely skin so show it off.
5/14/09 10:32 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Actually, I think that this is a very flattering silhouette on you. It emphasizes your beautiful shoulders and arms and definitely draws the eye up. I know what you mean about the coverage issue, though - that would make it hard to wear. Nice work on the dress, and very helpful review!
5/15/09 1:51 AM
Heatherrique said...
Flattering silhouette and I like the halter style on you! You're being too critical! You still look fiiiiiiiiiiiine!
5/15/09 8:30 AM
nicegirl said...
That cutout under the arm is pretty extreme! But I think this looks cute on you. It seems like a pattern with a lot of potential.
5/15/09 10:48 AM
Gold said...
I think it looks good on you!
5/15/09 11:38 AM
Deb Fox said...
Kellie, I think it looks absolutely wonderful on you! It's just as cute as could be, very retro and the perfect summer dress. I think you did a beautiful job, and if you don't want, I would happily take it from you (even though I'm sure we are not even close to being the same size!)
5/15/09 1:20 PM
JuneHawk said...
What are you talking about? It looks great on you!
5/15/09 7:26 PM
Wino said...
Very cute Kellie! I just purchased this pattern and am thinking of fabric-I love the retro shirtwaist look. It reminds me of my Mom!
5/16/09 10:25 AM
Annette1 said...
But it's so CUUUUUUUUUUTE!! (I'm whining now, just in case it's not coming across in print.) I HOPE you'll wear it at least SOME. Look how TINY your waist looks in that "HOLY SKIN BATMAN" picture. :o) I see what you mean about it showing a lot of skin, but in the other pose where you're just standing naturally, I don't think it's too extreme at all. If you don't like the length (and you have more of the fabric), maybe you could add a ruffle on the bottom. I'm not a fan of adding RUFFLES to fix stuff normally, but in this particular style, it's often a design element anyway. I think you should WEAR it, A LOT. Ms. Buttinski, signing off.
5/16/09 4:58 PM
Hilary said...
I too think it looks beautiful on you! But, did you notice, the buttons don't match? (ROFLOL~MEN! :D )
6/3/09 3:21 PM
canyonlady67 said...
I'm cutting view D out of linen...I think your dress looks great. :) Do you remember if you used interfacing on the front bodice piece as prescribed? The linen has so much body to it...with lining, the interfacing seems like it would be a bit much.
1/8/13 0:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8834

photo
by: mm

Review
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now