Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Advance Pattern Company: 7850 (1950s shirtwaist dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 426 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:graustark
photo
About graustarkstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/09 10:10 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
I love the way this looks on you. That retro style suits you and I think all the design choices you made worked really well. I even like the slight looseness in the waistline -- to me that just adds to the cool, summery, retro look. And as far as more experienced sewists not making silly mistakes . . . well I can assure you (speaking only for myself) that that's not the case! Love the watermelon red lining and the buttons too. Nice job!
5/17/09 10:52 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I am in love with this dress. I think shirt-dresses are so versatile, ladylike and functional. You did a really nice job on this and it looks fantastic. As far as making another one, I think you could have several of these and vary things like the sleeves and collar for interest. Bravo!!
5/17/09 11:00 AM
Tiner W said...
I love your dress!
5/17/09 12:39 PM
Peggy L said...
Great dress! You did a wonderful job and I love your choice of fabric/lining/buttons. It looks comfortable and cool for the hot Houston weather. I think you could have several of these in your wardrobe.
5/17/09 12:45 PM
Speech girl said...
Lovely--great job, especially with all the "firsts". Fun fabric choice--great for warm weather.
5/17/09 1:01 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Super cute! The dress looks lovely on you and I love the cuffs, collar, and watermelon red lining.
5/17/09 2:23 PM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress. It looks beautifully made - great job. I love it.
5/17/09 2:24 PM
MaryDB said...
Great job, the dress looks terrific on you, and so comfortable.
5/17/09 3:30 PM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful! Very fresh and sweet. Wonderful fabric and button choice.
5/17/09 4:06 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is a GREAT dress! I can see why you decided that you WILL make this again - it has lots of possibilitites. Great job!
5/18/09 10:49 AM
Mebber said...
Beautiful. You have a great sense of style.
7/15/09 3:12 PM
heapha said...
actually I find set in sleeves to be way easier than the kimono style you ahve done here... could you tell me how you took material out from under the arms as I am struggling to get the kimono sleeve to not look bulky on me.
2/18/10 7:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Dos de Tejas 5023
photo
Review by petra on 8/9/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 00015
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 11/10/10
Read Review

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us