SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 7850 (1950s shirtwaist dress)

Viewed 428 times 
Reviewed by:graustark
photo

 
 
About graustarkstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/09 10:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
I love the way this looks on you. That retro style suits you and I think all the design choices you made worked really well. I even like the slight looseness in the waistline -- to me that just adds to the cool, summery, retro look. And as far as more experienced sewists not making silly mistakes . . . well I can assure you (speaking only for myself) that that's not the case! Love the watermelon red lining and the buttons too. Nice job!
5/17/09 10:52 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I am in love with this dress. I think shirt-dresses are so versatile, ladylike and functional. You did a really nice job on this and it looks fantastic. As far as making another one, I think you could have several of these and vary things like the sleeves and collar for interest. Bravo!!
5/17/09 11:00 AM
Tiner W said...
I love your dress!
5/17/09 12:39 PM
Peggy L said...
Great dress! You did a wonderful job and I love your choice of fabric/lining/buttons. It looks comfortable and cool for the hot Houston weather. I think you could have several of these in your wardrobe.
5/17/09 12:45 PM
Speech girl said...
Lovely--great job, especially with all the "firsts". Fun fabric choice--great for warm weather.
5/17/09 1:01 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Super cute! The dress looks lovely on you and I love the cuffs, collar, and watermelon red lining.
5/17/09 2:23 PM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress. It looks beautifully made - great job. I love it.
5/17/09 2:24 PM
MaryDB said...
Great job, the dress looks terrific on you, and so comfortable.
5/17/09 3:30 PM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful! Very fresh and sweet. Wonderful fabric and button choice.
5/17/09 4:06 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is a GREAT dress! I can see why you decided that you WILL make this again - it has lots of possibilitites. Great job!
5/18/09 10:49 AM
Mebber said...
Beautiful. You have a great sense of style.
7/15/09 3:12 PM
heapha said...
actually I find set in sleeves to be way easier than the kimono style you ahve done here... could you tell me how you took material out from under the arms as I am struggling to get the kimono sleeve to not look bulky on me.
2/18/10 7:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 7608

photo
by: Mobycat

Review
Other 4654

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now