SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-135 (Cocktail dress)

Viewed 1029 times 
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC Canada
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/09 6:47 PM
Last Updated:5/8/10 12:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 36 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
63 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
senaSews said...
Gorgeous dress. Love that color!
5/11/10 9:01 AM
marec said...
Beautiful LBD (little blue dress) and very detailed and interesting review. Thanks.
5/9/10 8:45 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous dress and great review! Fabulous photos too.
5/9/10 8:50 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful in that blue.
5/8/10 10:04 PM
Catbird said...
You should make thousands of these. Beautiful!! And I love those shoes, too.
5/8/10 7:58 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Fantastic!
5/8/10 6:07 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Has a review EVER had THIS many comments?? 57 and counting?? ;o Beautiful, classy, sexy!! And... the dress is gorgeous, too ;)
5/8/10 5:37 PM
Barbara V said...
Well here - let me be the 3rd one on the same adjective track - beautiful, spectacular, exquisitely fiitted, stunning, fabulous - and that is for both dresses. Wonderful work!
5/8/10 4:59 PM
homejewel said...
I love the black dress, but the blue dress is equally stunning. You can see the details better in the photos and I love everything about it. It looks fabulous on you! Great job and great review. edited: haha - the previous poster and I must be on the same adjective track!
5/8/10 1:57 PM
sew2little said...
The black version is beautiful, but that blue is spectacular on you--you look fabulous in your exquisitely fitted dress--did I use enough positive adjectives??
5/8/10 1:55 PM
amy in mpls said...
Love it! you look great, and the dress is perfect...
6/12/09 5:08 PM
Mahler said...
Was I right or want. But before that, all my apologies for being so late at commenting your most magnificent dress. I am not surprise that it has been a hit on the PR. Woaw, look at the coverstich work. I want one. Your hem is more then perfet. Bravissima ! I love the look on you. You are top chic and sexy in that dress !!!!!!!!!!!!
6/9/09 10:39 PM
cdi9c said...
Just gorgeous! Your construction is impeccable.
6/7/09 6:34 PM
Kay Y said...
Burda did not make this dress look as beautiful on their model as it looks on you. Bravo!
6/7/09 11:19 AM
akazukinchan said...
Perfect!!!
6/7/09 8:06 AM
Leora said...
You are gorgeous!
6/7/09 0:12 AM
Heidi Ho said...
That is an awesome dress!!! It looks great on you..I mean way better than great it is a total knock out...I wish I had that issue it turned out terrific!!! Great review also!
6/6/09 10:58 PM
kim*brown said...
Flattering fit and very chic style!
6/6/09 8:43 PM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful LBD! You look stunning. I can't believe this hasn't been reviewed before.
6/6/09 7:22 PM
Darla in PA said...
What a great dress! You look beautiful.
6/6/09 6:27 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL dress...looks terrific on you, and very svelte!
6/6/09 6:07 PM
zazzie said...
Absolutely lovely and yes, with beaucoup de classe. Cool blog by the way ! I might visit de temps en temps.
6/6/09 5:29 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I think you are making everone go back and look at their November BWOF 2008!:) I know I am and trying to think of places where I could wear this dress:) Really stunning.
6/6/09 4:05 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful Job! You look fabulous!!!!
6/6/09 2:52 PM
shaggy said...
Thi is perfect!!
6/6/09 1:00 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Absolutely beautiful!
6/6/09 12:02 PM
barbcl said...
Great that you took this project on and made it sing! Sometimes I also wish Burda would make the photos more descriptive of the result.
6/6/09 11:44 AM
Barbara V said...
Stunning dress! You look great in it especially on stage! Wonderful review.
6/6/09 10:49 AM
DorothyK said...
Terrific dress. You did a great job.
6/6/09 10:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Trop belle, JazzBird! Quand vas tu chanter pour nous?
6/6/09 10:30 AM
PegL said...
Your dress is gorgeous! I really enjoy your blog too!
6/6/09 10:14 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Gorgeous! I have this pattern traced out, just waiting on the perfect fabric! I'm going touse your suggestion about the alternate fabrics. Great idea, beautiful dress!
6/6/09 9:40 AM
Fran G said...
Fabulous dress.! Your workmanship is superb, your choice of fabric perfect , your review worth 10 stars!Thanks for all the detailed shots, both construction and action. Off to check out your blog!
6/6/09 9:32 AM
valerie sews said...
Thank you for bringing this dress to life and reviewing it. Your pics really do look better than the Burda one, you look great.
6/6/09 9:13 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous dress. It looks a lot better on you than it does on the model. Great job!
6/6/09 8:51 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - Mahler's advice was so right - great review and I love the action shots
6/6/09 8:50 AM
sewing addict said...
That is such a great review and like the others said it looks so much better than the one in the magazine. Thanks for all the wonderful pictures too.
6/6/09 8:18 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
This dress is a stunner! I looked and looked at this one in the November issue, but was so unimpressed with the version in the mag that I skipped right past it. Yours makes it clear that this is a must make dress! Thanks for the thorough review! Oh, and Judy Barlap and the sewing place sell fusible tapes. I've used and have been pleased with both!
6/6/09 8:00 AM
Woolygal said...
What fun. The dress looks great.
6/6/09 7:59 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful dress! It is so elegant and fits you so well. Your workmanship is superb.
6/6/09 6:59 AM
Jali said...
Classy dress! I think the fact that you thought so thoroughly through the process, makes it extra special.
6/6/09 6:31 AM
eugenia123 said...
Stunning dress and so beautifully made. Thanks for such a great review.
6/6/09 6:04 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabo dress and a great review!
6/6/09 3:35 AM
Markie1 said...
Littlejazzbird, this is a seriously sexy and feminine dress you made here, girl! I will have to revisit that Burda, because yours looks so much better than theirs did> Well done!
6/6/09 2:05 AM
redhotpepper said...
Drop dead gorgeous! It looks great on you and so appropriate for a performance.
6/6/09 1:29 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous dress! Looks great on you.
6/6/09 1:04 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wowza!
6/6/09 0:07 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
I always love your reviews...the fabulous clothes you make. Wow is right!
6/5/09 11:19 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is an absolutely stunning dress on you and the photos are fantastic. I know exactly what you mean about procrastinating over patterns, sometimes you just need to dive in and making up a lot of patterns from one issue is a fun way to go about it.
6/5/09 11:16 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Fabulous dress- thanks for the review.
6/5/09 10:55 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, wow, wow -- so beautiful!! :) And your action shots are wonderful, too, as is your helpful attention to detail in this review!
6/5/09 10:01 PM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful
6/5/09 9:50 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Like the tune, HOT HOT HOT... Fabulous Darling!
6/5/09 9:43 PM
Amanda S. said...
Ditto the WOW comments. I too thought this would look awful on small busted gals. It's so nice to see this made up and I think you've convinced me that I need this design in my closet. Thanks for such a thorough review.
6/5/09 9:25 PM
JoanneM said...
Simply stunning.
6/5/09 9:13 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful.
6/5/09 9:10 PM
Catbird said...
Whew! This is a delicious review and a complete knockout of a dress. I love your new blog, love the action shots, but wish I could hear some of your music! You never fail to inspire me. You look beautiful, chic and at ease in your new dress.
6/5/09 8:58 PM
Sallygirl said...
WOW! That dress is fantastic! Great review too. Love the action shot! I think Burda needs some people from here to showcase their clothes. I always like them better than in the magazine.
6/5/09 7:57 PM
Gelbean said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/5/09 7:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, fabulous dress! You look beautiful. You weren't the only one that thought this dress looked cute in BWOF but many of us don't have your figure to pull it off. :)
6/5/09 7:44 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, great dress and I love your action shots.
6/5/09 7:33 PM
Vonnevo said...
A stunning dress and fabulous photos !!! Just perfect :)
6/5/09 7:10 PM
librarylady said...
wow!
6/5/09 6:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8679

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now