SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1099 (Plain & Simple Princess Shirt)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1121 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/09 5:33 PM
Last Updated:5/31/09 1:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Congrats on your TNT blouse pattern! It looks great on the dress form.
5/20/09 6:24 PM
Christas said...
Wow, you are on a roll with all the cute garments you have been sewing! This top is so nice!
5/20/09 6:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a sharp looking top!
5/20/09 6:48 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Love that fabric. I'm so glad this pattern - and the narrow hem - worked for you. BTW, since I first made that shirt, and was reminded on Pam's off-the-cuff-style.blogspot.com of what a nice collar it is, I've morphed the collar onto another pattern and it worked perfectly. I'm sorry the HP pattern is now OOP; it's a good one. Nice blouse!
5/20/09 7:25 PM
Restart06 said...
wonderful shirt!!!! you will enjoy wearing and it will look so great on you!!!! I know it fits you perfectly! Thanks for sharing, and looks like a great pattern, too bad it is OOP.
5/20/09 7:31 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks super cute, you miss slinky you!
5/20/09 7:41 PM
Patti B said...
How I would love a TNT blouse pattern! Yours looks great. I'm sure it would take Cynthia Guffey to fit me too. /grin/
5/20/09 8:42 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I really like your shirt. I had shied away from trying this one because of the unusual collar and lack of instructions with the pattern. Thank you so much for the tutorial link. I plan to spend some time on that site studying.
5/20/09 10:50 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Peggy...I LOVE this pattern...and your version is lovely. I've made everything from shirts to casual jackets (one from suede, another from quite heavy denim) with it! Too bad it's OOP..it's a very nice classic shirt!
5/21/09 5:24 AM
Rebecca D said...
OK, I've got this pattern and have been looking for a summer shirt pattern. No more fooling around I am going to do it based on your wonderful shirt.
5/21/09 7:05 AM
carolynw said...
Love the look of this - and it's great that for you it's now a TNT - too bad it's OOP as good shirt patterns are really hard to come by!!
5/21/09 8:50 AM
blue mooney said...
Go-anywhere and wear-with-everything sums it up! Great classic shirt. This looks fantastic for a muslin - the print is fun!
5/21/09 7:15 PM
Renren said...
Wow, what kind of buttons are those you ordered for a muslin??? Very nice blouse and thanks for the narrow hem tip--I knew I had seen it somewhere at PR and your review is very timely for me because I needed this information TODAY in order to finish a top I've been working on. And I dreaded trying to track it down because it seems when I search for info I have a difficult time finding it. So THANKS!!!! I used Karla Kizer's method (I guess handed down from Louise Cutting) and got a very nice narrow hem!
5/21/09 10:04 PM
BettyMike said...
Very nice looking "muslin".
5/22/09 2:45 PM
Ody said...
Didn't we have fun at the Cynthia fitting party in March! Boy! did we work hard! You really got a fabulous looking blouse, and as you said, it will be your Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, Fri--shirt. I know when you were doing the mock up in March, the shirt looked really good. Don't you just love a TNT with great fit??? BTW, thanks for the add ons in the review.
5/22/09 7:15 PM
PegL said...
Great blouse! I have this pattern but didn't get your good results. Perhaps I should try again and use the collar tutorial! Thanks for that link!
5/23/09 1:20 PM
Re Becca said...
I like the collar, and the double buttons.
5/24/09 9:16 PM
Renren said...
Wait, am I to understand you have sewn THREE blouses in less than a week??? Unfair! I'm still finishing up a blouse without a collar and without buttons that I started 3 weeks ago. Well, they are all beautiful, but I really love the lavendar one with the paired buttons; also love the blue silk one, too. Love the red one, too. Well, I think I should go finish my little Burda blouse now and get it reviewed. Sigh . . .
5/24/09 11:34 PM
Leora said...
Sew like the wind Peggy! You look great in your new blouse, very nice!
5/24/09 11:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've just been sewing up a storm! What a GREAT pattern, most definitely a TNT. It has nice shaping, but not too MUCH shaping. I REALLY like your aqua silk. I get the impression a lot of people don't like facings. Personally, I love them. They make for sure a nice finish.
5/25/09 0:42 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, this is definitely the cutest WORK SHIRT I've ever seen. :o) I'm getting ready to work RAT NOW, so hand it over. I LOVE the back pleats. Of course, I had one of those little pleaters at one time too, but I think it's long gone. Wish I'd thought of this idea myself, and maybe I'd still have it. :o)
5/31/09 2:00 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous pleating! You were well inspired. Fantastic results on all of your beautiful shirts!
5/31/09 2:15 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I LOVE those pleats - and the neck finish is perfect.
5/31/09 2:31 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. They're gorgeous shirts - all of them!
5/31/09 5:19 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous, again! I have to get one of those pleaters!
5/31/09 10:43 PM
Sanibelle said...
I didn't have time to read your review when you first posted it and now I get treated to a quadruple play! I love all the versions (that aqua is a beautiful color on you), but the pleats kick this top up many more notches. I might be overseeing it, but I think the link for your first version is missing. I did see it in your flickr album, though. Thanks for showing all the views. :)
6/2/09 2:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
How did I miss this review? I especially love that gray version with pleats. I might try that as this is a tnt pattern for me also.
10/31/09 5:27 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous shirts. I just ordered the reissued pattern because I love the collar. With my short neck, I hate blouses with stands.
10/31/09 12:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 9838

photo
by: fourkid

Review
Simplicity 2211

photo
by: endlesslye...

Review
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now