Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1099 (Plain & Simple Princess Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1119 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/09 5:33 PM
Last Updated:5/31/09 1:12 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Congrats on your TNT blouse pattern! It looks great on the dress form.
5/20/09 6:24 PM
Christas said...
Wow, you are on a roll with all the cute garments you have been sewing! This top is so nice!
5/20/09 6:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a sharp looking top!
5/20/09 6:48 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Love that fabric. I'm so glad this pattern - and the narrow hem - worked for you. BTW, since I first made that shirt, and was reminded on Pam's off-the-cuff-style.blogspot.com of what a nice collar it is, I've morphed the collar onto another pattern and it worked perfectly. I'm sorry the HP pattern is now OOP; it's a good one. Nice blouse!
5/20/09 7:25 PM
Restart06 said...
wonderful shirt!!!! you will enjoy wearing and it will look so great on you!!!! I know it fits you perfectly! Thanks for sharing, and looks like a great pattern, too bad it is OOP.
5/20/09 7:31 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks super cute, you miss slinky you!
5/20/09 7:41 PM
Patti B said...
How I would love a TNT blouse pattern! Yours looks great. I'm sure it would take Cynthia Guffey to fit me too. /grin/
5/20/09 8:42 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I really like your shirt. I had shied away from trying this one because of the unusual collar and lack of instructions with the pattern. Thank you so much for the tutorial link. I plan to spend some time on that site studying.
5/20/09 10:50 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Peggy...I LOVE this pattern...and your version is lovely. I've made everything from shirts to casual jackets (one from suede, another from quite heavy denim) with it! Too bad it's OOP..it's a very nice classic shirt!
5/21/09 5:24 AM
Rebecca D said...
OK, I've got this pattern and have been looking for a summer shirt pattern. No more fooling around I am going to do it based on your wonderful shirt.
5/21/09 7:05 AM
carolynw said...
Love the look of this - and it's great that for you it's now a TNT - too bad it's OOP as good shirt patterns are really hard to come by!!
5/21/09 8:50 AM
blue mooney said...
Go-anywhere and wear-with-everything sums it up! Great classic shirt. This looks fantastic for a muslin - the print is fun!
5/21/09 7:15 PM
Renren said...
Wow, what kind of buttons are those you ordered for a muslin??? Very nice blouse and thanks for the narrow hem tip--I knew I had seen it somewhere at PR and your review is very timely for me because I needed this information TODAY in order to finish a top I've been working on. And I dreaded trying to track it down because it seems when I search for info I have a difficult time finding it. So THANKS!!!! I used Karla Kizer's method (I guess handed down from Louise Cutting) and got a very nice narrow hem!
5/21/09 10:04 PM
BettyMike said...
Very nice looking "muslin".
5/22/09 2:45 PM
Ody said...
Didn't we have fun at the Cynthia fitting party in March! Boy! did we work hard! You really got a fabulous looking blouse, and as you said, it will be your Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, Fri--shirt. I know when you were doing the mock up in March, the shirt looked really good. Don't you just love a TNT with great fit??? BTW, thanks for the add ons in the review.
5/22/09 7:15 PM
PegL said...
Great blouse! I have this pattern but didn't get your good results. Perhaps I should try again and use the collar tutorial! Thanks for that link!
5/23/09 1:20 PM
Re Becca said...
I like the collar, and the double buttons.
5/24/09 9:16 PM
Renren said...
Wait, am I to understand you have sewn THREE blouses in less than a week??? Unfair! I'm still finishing up a blouse without a collar and without buttons that I started 3 weeks ago. Well, they are all beautiful, but I really love the lavendar one with the paired buttons; also love the blue silk one, too. Love the red one, too. Well, I think I should go finish my little Burda blouse now and get it reviewed. Sigh . . .
5/24/09 11:34 PM
Leora said...
Sew like the wind Peggy! You look great in your new blouse, very nice!
5/24/09 11:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've just been sewing up a storm! What a GREAT pattern, most definitely a TNT. It has nice shaping, but not too MUCH shaping. I REALLY like your aqua silk. I get the impression a lot of people don't like facings. Personally, I love them. They make for sure a nice finish.
5/25/09 0:42 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, this is definitely the cutest WORK SHIRT I've ever seen. :o) I'm getting ready to work RAT NOW, so hand it over. I LOVE the back pleats. Of course, I had one of those little pleaters at one time too, but I think it's long gone. Wish I'd thought of this idea myself, and maybe I'd still have it. :o)
5/31/09 2:00 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous pleating! You were well inspired. Fantastic results on all of your beautiful shirts!
5/31/09 2:15 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I LOVE those pleats - and the neck finish is perfect.
5/31/09 2:31 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. They're gorgeous shirts - all of them!
5/31/09 5:19 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous, again! I have to get one of those pleaters!
5/31/09 10:43 PM
Sanibelle said...
I didn't have time to read your review when you first posted it and now I get treated to a quadruple play! I love all the versions (that aqua is a beautiful color on you), but the pleats kick this top up many more notches. I might be overseeing it, but I think the link for your first version is missing. I did see it in your flickr album, though. Thanks for showing all the views. :)
6/2/09 2:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
How did I miss this review? I especially love that gray version with pleats. I might try that as this is a tnt pattern for me also.
10/31/09 5:27 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous shirts. I just ordered the reissued pattern because I love the collar. With my short neck, I hate blouses with stands.
10/31/09 12:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 3762 Jumper
photo
Review by SewingSusa... on 1/24/04
Read Review

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Alabama Chanin Corset
photo
Review by Lynn67 on 11/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us