Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5007 (Gore Skirt)

25 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:RuthieSews
photo

 
 
About RuthieSewsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/06
Reviews: 136 (patterns: 133)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/09 11:10 AM
Last Updated:5/31/09 11:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said... (5/30/09 11:07 PM) Reply
This skirt is as you said, "an elegant shape" and yours looks beautiful. The length you chose looks just right.
yorkshire lass said... (5/30/09 3:23 PM) Reply
Very lovely. I really like you in this skirt and the fabric is fab, pity it was disobedient, but it sounds as though you tamed it well.
maryfrana said... (5/30/09 2:00 PM) Reply
Gorgeous fabric and beautiful skirt. I too love this pattern and have made it several times.
Nancy Rhodes said... (5/30/09 10:41 AM) Reply
Helpful review on sewing with those ravel-ly beasty fabrics... a lovely skirt! & Looks great on you too.
Patti B said... (5/25/09 9:24 AM) Reply
What a nice summer skirt in very appealing fabric. Love skirts that swish when you walk and I'll bet this one swishes.
Em's Summer said... (5/24/09 3:37 PM) Reply
This is such a lovely skirt!
j222b said... (5/24/09 12:42 PM) Reply
Thanks you for these reviews. I love L Hinse patterns and find I sew them over and over too. This skirt is one I have not sewn--but it's on my list now!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2013-102

photo
by: Amanda.Cla...

Review
Simplicity 2175

photo
by: MissyBelle

Review
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Pattern Details