Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8397 (MISSES' PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 604 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR
About ssssdebstar
UT USA
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/09 8:24 PM
Last Updated:5/26/09 8:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
The pleats and tucks make for very nice detailing and I really like the shoes you chose to wear with the pants.
5/27/09 0:58 AM
gaginny said...
Thanks for the review. I just cut these out yesterday..I also chose to shorten mine and am anxious to get them sewn tos ee how I like them.
5/27/09 8:08 AM
Renren said...
Well, I think they look nice. Sometimes I think Marcy Tilton and Sandra Betzina may be designing clothes for . . . well, those of us who are past a certain age and are dealing with the body spreading hither and thither, or really for anyone that might have trouble fitting in sizes based on standard proportions. Thus the elastic waist. I don't know this, but I'm pretty sure that's what SB is all about, and I think maybe (from observation) the same with MT. Nonetheless, I think your pants are striking looking on your slender frame. This link will take you to MT's latest version of these pants: http://www.marcytilton.com/item.php?pid=1239&cid=907
5/27/09 8:59 AM
DorothyK said...
The pants have nice details. I guess it's a matter of getting the right fit. Once you do, I bet you'll love them.
5/27/09 10:17 AM
ssssdeb said...
I understand fitting for the mature figure. At 45 years old that is not lost on me and I fight it with tons of exercise and diet every single day of my life. What I do NOT understand is that when we use the measurements given on the pattern envelope and the garment is 4x's bigger than that, to me that is not good or understandable drafting. I don't mean to rant here - not at all- so please don't take this as a negative. But when I use the pattern's given measurements I'd like some semblance of the same with a finished garment. I can measure and size, but one of the reasons we use patterns is so at least some of that work is done for us - or we could draft our own otherwise. Having sewn many pattern companies, I am just finding that MT patterns are bigger than most. I have some SB that I plan to do soon, so I will keep the same in mind when I tissue fit / measure, etc. before cutting out :)
5/27/09 8:31 PM
Mebber said...
Thank you for an excellent review. I also struggle with greatly oversized patterns and I will avoid this one. I was somewhat drawn to the seemingly contemporary design details but don't want to deal with the required alterations to get them to fit.
6/22/09 8:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Other Oop M2241
photo
Review by velosewer on 1/29/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5464 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by RadarRadia... on 6/19/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us