SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8397 (MISSES' PANTS)

20 more reviews
Viewed 619 times 
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo

 
 
About ssssdebstar
UT United States
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews: 109 (patterns: 89)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/09 8:24 PM
Last Updated:5/26/09 8:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Mebber said... (6/22/09 8:57 AM) Reply
Thank you for an excellent review. I also struggle with greatly oversized patterns and I will avoid this one. I was somewhat drawn to the seemingly contemporary design details but don't want to deal with the required alterations to get them to fit.
ssssdeb said... (5/27/09 8:31 PM) Reply
I understand fitting for the mature figure. At 45 years old that is not lost on me and I fight it with tons of exercise and diet every single day of my life. What I do NOT understand is that when we use the measurements given on the pattern envelope and the garment is 4x's bigger than that, to me that is not good or understandable drafting. I don't mean to rant here - not at all- so please don't take this as a negative. But when I use the pattern's given measurements I'd like some semblance of the same with a finished garment. I can measure and size, but one of the reasons we use patterns is so at least some of that work is done for us - or we could draft our own otherwise. Having sewn many pattern companies, I am just finding that MT patterns are bigger than most. I have some SB that I plan to do soon, so I will keep the same in mind when I tissue fit / measure, etc. before cutting out :)
DorothyK said... (5/27/09 10:17 AM) Reply
The pants have nice details. I guess it's a matter of getting the right fit. Once you do, I bet you'll love them.
renren said... (5/27/09 8:59 AM) Reply
Well, I think they look nice. Sometimes I think Marcy Tilton and Sandra Betzina may be designing clothes for . . . well, those of us who are past a certain age and are dealing with the body spreading hither and thither, or really for anyone that might have trouble fitting in sizes based on standard proportions. Thus the elastic waist. I don't know this, but I'm pretty sure that's what SB is all about, and I think maybe (from observation) the same with MT. Nonetheless, I think your pants are striking looking on your slender frame. This link will take you to MT's latest version of these pants: http://www.marcytilton.com/item.php?pid=1239&cid=907
gaginny said... (5/27/09 8:08 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I just cut these out yesterday..I also chose to shorten mine and am anxious to get them sewn tos ee how I like them.
Athene said... (5/27/09 0:58 AM) Reply
The pleats and tucks make for very nice detailing and I really like the shoes you chose to wear with the pants.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Mimi G T-Shirt Maxi Dress

photo
by: Shannick

Review
Simplicity 1782

photo
by: beanchor

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Pattern Details