SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Mail Order 9199 (Dress, The Corn Belt Dailies)

Viewed 758 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/09 2:30 PM
Last Updated:6/2/09 7:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda Noah said...
Wow! What a dress! I just love, love, love it. I wonder how long it will take me to find my own pattern now. LOL The belt sounds terrific and your review is wonderful with all the detail you included. And by the way, I hope you had a lovely birthday dinner.
8/22/09 1:44 PM
cindyintampa said...
This is the perfect fabric for this pattern. Beautiful result.
7/22/09 3:34 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
That is so totally awesome!! I always love your patterns!! Simply beautiful!
6/8/09 7:30 AM
Sharon M said...
Wow! This is a gorgeous dress - you look stunning in it! You must have jumped for joy when you discovered this pattern among your treasures from the sale
6/7/09 7:50 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Beautifully tailored and very careful review.
6/4/09 5:38 PM
Sheila457 said...
Absolutely stunning dress.
6/3/09 12:39 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely gorgeous and so wonderfully well made and with such a very detailed and helpful review. You look wonderful in this.
6/3/09 3:08 AM
DorothyK said...
Kellie, you look smashing in this dress. I adore the bodice, in particular.
6/2/09 11:23 PM
CynthiaSue said...
hot, hot, hot!! you are so talented. love the comment from your son. I want your figure when my son is 11 yo!! it must have taken 2 hours to write this review btw!
6/2/09 5:10 PM
McKavity said...
That's a gorgeous dress!
6/2/09 4:38 PM
Darla in PA said...
Absolutely beautiful! Enjoy your new favorite dress.
6/2/09 2:22 PM
Karen6790 said...
Happy 43rd Bday! You definitely look plenty "hubba" in that dress, and I hope you have a fabulous time wearing it.
6/2/09 1:40 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous dress. It's hard to believe something so glamorous and sophisticated came from "The Corn Belt Dallies."
6/2/09 1:36 PM
Mahler said...
You are my favourite retro dress maker !!!!!!! Wonderful, AGAIN. This is among my favourite models you have sewn. It is such a beautiful, original an chic design. Your dress is a gem. Superb on you !
6/2/09 12:40 PM
Hilary said...
SUCH a fabulous dress!! I love it! It looks fantastic on you-sexy but not over the top. I can see why its your favorite~ thanks for the review!
6/2/09 12:25 PM
mad4sewing said...
Oh how I wish that pattern came in sizes big enough to fit a modern size 14.... 41" bust...but alas no. I guess I will have to be jealous! It looks wonderful.
6/2/09 11:17 AM
redhotpepper said...
Oooo, I'm in love! The dress is beautiful and looks stunning on you. Happy birthday and welcome to the 43 club!!!
6/2/09 11:00 AM
Lisette said...
Just gorgeous!!
6/2/09 10:49 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow! That is an absolutely amazing dress!
6/2/09 10:40 AM
VtMartha said...
Absolutely beautiful!
6/2/09 9:09 AM
Michelle L said...
Beautiful dress! This is really wonderful, and fabric is perfect!
6/2/09 9:01 AM
yummymummy38 said...
so stylish, retro but easily worn today. Don't you just love kid's comments, so honest...
6/2/09 8:57 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Stunning! Such a fabulous color for you and just the style! I have one of these patterns and I now have the courage to get started on it. Thank you!
6/2/09 8:42 AM
jent said...
Wow - what a great dress!
6/2/09 7:55 AM
jent said...
Wow - what a great dress!
6/2/09 7:40 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
That's a fantastic dress and you look great. Now I'm on the hunt for this pattern. Thanks for the great pictures and review!
6/1/09 10:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
You are a beauty in paradise! Wonderful job in making retro Hollywood glamour so current! It seems that many mail order patterns from the past have lovely and fashion forward designs! Your stunning dress is a keeper!
6/1/09 4:12 PM
Stitchcakes said...
LOVE the bodice, and it fits perfectly! I would love to see it on a fuller skirt, too. This is great casual or dressy! What a find...
6/1/09 1:53 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you all sooo much for your kind words! This was a pleasure to make. I just hope that the weather is good on Saturday so that we can eat outdoors!
6/1/09 1:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a sophisticated summer dress! Lovely, as usual! Great review, too!
6/1/09 1:09 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is amazing on you! I love your choice to use a print instead of the solid and I especially love how you interpret vintage patterns so that they have all of the detailing from older patterns but can pass the contemporary wear test! This is stunning!
6/1/09 11:37 AM
barbcl said...
Fantastic fabric, dress, and fit. Thanks for the tips in your review. Your pattern is a classic keeper for sure.
6/1/09 11:01 AM
maryfrana said...
Where to start....the dress is dynamite, the fit is perfect. The fabric is just right. This is a work of art. And what a hubby! You look so beautiful and ready to serve the mai tais!
6/1/09 10:34 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful dress. It looks beautiful on you. Lucky to find that pattern!
6/1/09 9:25 AM
angi_nagel said...
Wow - that looks great on you, and I can hardly believe you're turning 43 :) Great job. Love all the detail you provided, and all the pictures! I have never sewn a vintage dress, but this makes me want to do it. I love how - like you said - it is very sexy with the shoulders bared, but it's not at all revealing. Modern designers and RTW could take a hint from this! You can have a sexy dress without worrying that something will fall out, or that your lingerie will show!
6/1/09 8:17 AM
JEF said...
Lovely.
5/31/09 9:25 PM
Catbird said...
This is beautiful! The style looks like old Hollywood glamour, and it would be outstanding in silk, too. You wear it well. (p.s....Happy Birthday!)
5/31/09 8:37 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress! It looks very lovely on you!
5/31/09 7:12 PM
wreninrome said...
awesome...very hubba and lucky you on such a great hubby!
5/31/09 6:07 PM
eibhlin said...
So Beautiful!
5/31/09 6:05 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Wow! Awesome dress and awesome review... thanks for all the tips and photos. And you know what, I'm gonna bet your hubby thinks you're 'hubba' in the dress!
5/31/09 5:54 PM
persevering said...
How very beautiful!
5/31/09 5:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous!
5/31/09 5:13 PM
Anne S said...
I love your dress. You look stunning in it. Beautiful work!
5/31/09 4:56 PM
Judy Wentz said...
What a great dress!
5/31/09 4:38 PM
Andreahg said...
great work!
5/31/09 3:27 PM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful! i love your attention to detail. the bodice style is classic but unique at the same time.
5/31/09 3:24 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful dress and very detailed review.
5/31/09 3:15 PM
kittybishop said...
That is gorgeous with a capital G and it fits you perfectly, like your detailed review too.
5/31/09 2:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

More Info