Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 81508 (Ebb & Flow) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 573 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/09 1:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Sorry you did not get the fit you wanted. I am very curious about your tops migrating to the back over your shoulders because my clothes do the same thing (tops and dresses), even my Chicos RTW tops. Your solution to add across the back was mentioned, but when I was reading FFRP the other day, it was suggested that a forward shoulder adjustment might fix the problem. My guess is you are advanced enough you would know about it if it worked, so this alterations is still a big question mark for me. I do like your blouses, especially the solid one. And I do like the collar/banding up, also. I have her By Popular Demand, which I believe you hae sewn, and I hope I don't have a problem with the front to back migration. Good luck!
5/31/09 10:12 PM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for this very helpful review. I like the solid one a lot, especially with the collar up - a nice classic white shirt. But I agree - this pattern appears to be less-than-wonderful.
6/1/09 10:00 AM
m/m said...
I've got the same issues with tops sliding to the back. I've done a round back adjustment for at least 40 years (adding about 1/2 in across the back, tapering out to nothing at the armhole seams, and either darting out the extra at the top of the shoulder or removing the extra fabric at the top of the armhole, tapering out to nothing at the end of the cutting line for adding the extra back length) but that's been giving me extra fabric in the lower back for a while. Louise Cutting suggested tipping the neck openning forward instead. In my case she told me to raise the center back 1/2 inch, lower the center front of the neck 1/2 inch and redraw the neckline so that the new line passes through the new cb and cf points and through the as-originally-drafted point where the shoulder seam and the neck seam meet. This works for me without adding additional fabric in the lower back. This adjustment is for people with rounded upper backs and heads carried forward. The length of the neck seam doesn't change (collars still fit into the seam fine) but facings need to be redrawn to fit the new curve. Basically you're moving the neck openning slightly forward on the garment to better conform to the shape of your body. Irene: I always like to see what wonders you've accomplished with all of your sewing and great reviews.
6/1/09 10:27 AM
Renren said...
Thanks, m/m. (Not trying to hijack your fine review, Irene!) I'm printing out this page and will try to work with this alteration because I know I have a high rounded back and I think I have a forward head.
6/1/09 11:07 AM
Peggy L said...
Irene - thanks for this excellent review. You always seem to have such great luck with this line of patterns that I was a little surprised. They do look nice and cool for the summer months. I just went to a fitting class a couple of months ago and now do a one inch upper back adjustment. I had been doing a small forward shoulder adjustment but this was a new one for me!!!
6/1/09 11:50 AM
fryman said...
This particular to, although sewn beautifully with lovely fabric is not as flattering as others.I realize that Cutting Line Designs run with a LOT of designer ease; in this case, on you, it look exaggerated. Keep smiling. You have a lovely smily!
6/6/09 10:15 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the heads up about this pattern. They look great on you, so you'd never know about the problems.
8/18/10 9:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jalie 2568
photo
Review by clothingen... on 4/22/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3958 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3958 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5725 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
Butterick 5725 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7807
photo
Review by Rhonda Noa... on 9/12/03
Read Review

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us