SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit)

101 more reviews
Viewed 1455 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/2/09 4:56 PM
Last Updated:6/2/09 5:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Very pretty! I don't know what hem finishes are used on high end RTW knits, but on medium end it is often a coverstitch or even just a raw edge.
6/2/09 5:15 PM
CypGrl said...
Bet that this review will help sell a ~lot~ of Simplicity 3503s. Hope they are on sale somewhere this week -- or that I already have it in stash -- even better! Just checked -- it is 3502 that I have. Oh so close...
6/2/09 5:15 PM
Byrdie said...
Beautiful dress! I love the print... it's very flattering.
6/2/09 5:22 PM
Re Becca said...
OMG, you look so Vanna White (only w/good, brunette hair) you look breath taking!
6/2/09 5:29 PM
Aixoise said...
Who cares what they call it - you're a knockout in that dress! Very fresh and pretty.
6/2/09 6:02 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That turned out beautifullly! I had that pattern in my cart the other day and remembered our "no big 4" rule and put it back - now I'm mad I did. You look gorgeous - happy anniversary! :-)
6/2/09 6:15 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Maybe he figures it doesn't matter what he looks like b/c no one will even notice him when you're on his arm. Fab-u-lous.
6/2/09 6:40 PM
Gold said...
You looked lovely in your dress!!
6/2/09 6:49 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I love the other Simplicity Pattern, but this is a real winner for your anniversary dinner. Stunning.
6/2/09 7:02 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look mega fabulous, Cindy! Definitely one of my favorite outfits on you! Thanks for sharing that TOTALLY rad and cool pic of you and your sweetheart. Happy Anniversary!
6/2/09 7:05 PM
Bonnie O said...
You look fabulous! Towny dress? I hadn't heard that term. Of course, by the time I get around to the idea of a Towny / Maxi dress in my wardrobe, the trend itself be be passe!
6/2/09 7:24 PM
donna mel said...
your timing is PERFECT! i was hoping to find a nice halter dress pattern and there you were. i LOVE yours and hope mine will be a nice. i'm planning to shorten it and wear it as a beach cover-up.
6/2/09 7:40 PM
loohoo44 said...
WOW Cindy, great dress, great dress on you, and great fabric!! I've used my serger/blind hem foot on silk jersey, wool doubleknit, and rayon doubleknit, I'll PM you about it.
6/2/09 7:50 PM
Patti B said...
Such a darling dress for a sweet occasion.
6/2/09 7:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a great dress! Perfect on you. BTW is that 3 desserts on your plate??
6/2/09 8:10 PM
Terri Smith said...
great dress and thanks for the elastic tips.
6/2/09 8:14 PM
Twinset said...
What a beautiful girl in a beautiful dress!! This print was made for you!
6/2/09 8:24 PM
EleanorSews said...
Very pretty! Fits nicely and the fabric is perfect.
6/2/09 8:29 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress, Cindy. I love the maxi trend. When I will get around to it, I'm not sure. Have you ever used clear thread? I've seen it but not tried it. Maybe you could use that for future hems and it wouldn't show since it's clear.
6/2/09 8:41 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks great, Cindy. Definitely worth your late night sewing spree!
6/2/09 9:04 PM
DorothyK said...
Perfect choice for your anniversary dinner. You look fantastic. So what's in the box?
6/2/09 11:17 PM
Deepika said...
Cindy, this dress is smashing on you!
6/2/09 11:24 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This looks absolutely fantastic on you. Usually things I sew at 2am are disasters, clearly this is not the case for you!
6/3/09 1:28 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Look at you! You are such a California girl in that hot dress (I still call it a maxi dress as I haven't heard of towny dress - I'm probably behind). Hope you had a great trip :)
6/3/09 1:52 AM
Leora said...
Very pretty!
6/3/09 2:04 AM
Bonnie O said...
You look fabulous! Towny dress? I hadn't heard that term. Of course, by the time I get around to the idea of a Towny / Maxi dress in my wardrobe, the trend itself be be passe!
6/3/09 7:39 AM
Kellie R. said...
*whistles* You look GORGEOUS, just like a model! Fabulous dress and I hope you enjoyed your anniversary! Great job!
6/3/09 8:18 AM
eugenia123 said...
What a gorgeous dress. You look fantastic in it. Happy anniversary.
6/3/09 10:45 AM
jaeng said...
Another fabulous dress from this pattern. I juse saw Erica B.'s version. Both of you look great and make me want a maxi dress instantly.
6/3/09 12:13 PM
LindsayT said...
Très glam, you! On better RTW hems, it's anything goes these days. Some designers show no hem at all with knits, just a raw edge. Works for me!
6/3/09 12:24 PM
Markie1 said...
Cindy-You look gorgeous in that dress! Now I have to make it, don't I? Your review was so helpful, I will be referring to it again soon!
6/3/09 2:16 PM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous! Perfect fabric and fit. This pattern was made for you. What a coincidence that I happen to have this pattern out on my SM table. Thank you for the sizing and elastic tips. :)
6/3/09 3:02 PM
Barbara V said...
You look great in your "towny/maxi" dress. I love it. Beautiful fabric. Happy Anniversary!
6/3/09 3:11 PM
Mahler said...
Your husband most feel so proud to walk around with a gorgeously dress and beautiful woman. This dress is amazing on you. Happy anniversary!
6/3/09 4:04 PM
MissCelie said...
I've also heard 'goddess'. You look all beachy and sexy! I'm so glad it worked well for you. And you're right, it's a good idea to use a wider strip of elastic. GREAT job!! Woo hoo!
6/3/09 4:51 PM
Kathi R said...
Sounds like you made good use of the experience of others and wound up with a great looking dress.....we have to love PR! Thanks for the review.
6/3/09 8:04 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
You are WEARIN that dress. I love it. I am about to sew it, was looking for tips. A lot said it was too big...but you said it sizes true on top but you did smallen it in the back...thanks for the detail on that.
6/5/09 5:59 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Love how this looks on you!!! This is on my list of things to sew very soon, so I especially appreciate the info on the back gaposis!! I experienced that recently on S2580 - next time I will cut the back piece a size smaller.
6/10/09 9:07 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Forgot to say, I've added you to my fave reviewers list - and I have not heard of that "towny dress" thing. And on the knits, I see at least medium end knits always finished with coverstitch. Which is why I LOVE my Janome 900CP, which I use for everything.
6/10/09 9:08 PM
whirrclunk said...
What a great dress! And such a good fit!
6/11/09 4:44 PM
NurseByrd said...
Thanks for the review I have been working on this pattern for what seems forever but I will be finished tomorrow.
6/15/09 3:54 AM
kim*brown said...
I want to get this pattern so I was happy when I saw how awesome it turned out for you!
6/19/09 6:53 PM
Sheila457 said...
Great Dress and review. I have that pattern and now have reason to sew up a dress.
6/22/09 11:19 AM
Dei said...
How perfect is this dress on you. Excellent review.
6/28/09 7:10 PM
selvage said...
very pretty dress! Looks like--or better than--expensive ones I've seen and tried on in stores. I've use my sewing machine's blind hem stitch on slinky knit, btw, and it works beautifully.
7/13/09 5:46 PM
valerie sews said...
Looking gorgeous! Another winner for you and for this pattern.
7/25/09 5:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2528

photo
by: Stacy Sews

Review
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now