SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit)

101 more reviews
Viewed 1455 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/2/09 4:56 PM
Last Updated:6/2/09 5:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Looking gorgeous! Another winner for you and for this pattern.
7/25/09 5:46 AM
selvage said...
very pretty dress! Looks like--or better than--expensive ones I've seen and tried on in stores. I've use my sewing machine's blind hem stitch on slinky knit, btw, and it works beautifully.
7/13/09 5:46 PM
Dei said...
How perfect is this dress on you. Excellent review.
6/28/09 7:10 PM
Sheila457 said...
Great Dress and review. I have that pattern and now have reason to sew up a dress.
6/22/09 11:19 AM
kim*brown said...
I want to get this pattern so I was happy when I saw how awesome it turned out for you!
6/19/09 6:53 PM
NurseByrd said...
Thanks for the review I have been working on this pattern for what seems forever but I will be finished tomorrow.
6/15/09 3:54 AM
whirrclunk said...
What a great dress! And such a good fit!
6/11/09 4:44 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Forgot to say, I've added you to my fave reviewers list - and I have not heard of that "towny dress" thing. And on the knits, I see at least medium end knits always finished with coverstitch. Which is why I LOVE my Janome 900CP, which I use for everything.
6/10/09 9:08 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Love how this looks on you!!! This is on my list of things to sew very soon, so I especially appreciate the info on the back gaposis!! I experienced that recently on S2580 - next time I will cut the back piece a size smaller.
6/10/09 9:07 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
You are WEARIN that dress. I love it. I am about to sew it, was looking for tips. A lot said it was too big...but you said it sizes true on top but you did smallen it in the back...thanks for the detail on that.
6/5/09 5:59 AM
Kathi R said...
Sounds like you made good use of the experience of others and wound up with a great looking dress.....we have to love PR! Thanks for the review.
6/3/09 8:04 PM
MissCelie said...
I've also heard 'goddess'. You look all beachy and sexy! I'm so glad it worked well for you. And you're right, it's a good idea to use a wider strip of elastic. GREAT job!! Woo hoo!
6/3/09 4:51 PM
Mahler said...
Your husband most feel so proud to walk around with a gorgeously dress and beautiful woman. This dress is amazing on you. Happy anniversary!
6/3/09 4:04 PM
Barbara V said...
You look great in your "towny/maxi" dress. I love it. Beautiful fabric. Happy Anniversary!
6/3/09 3:11 PM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous! Perfect fabric and fit. This pattern was made for you. What a coincidence that I happen to have this pattern out on my SM table. Thank you for the sizing and elastic tips. :)
6/3/09 3:02 PM
Markie1 said...
Cindy-You look gorgeous in that dress! Now I have to make it, don't I? Your review was so helpful, I will be referring to it again soon!
6/3/09 2:16 PM
LindsayT said...
Très glam, you! On better RTW hems, it's anything goes these days. Some designers show no hem at all with knits, just a raw edge. Works for me!
6/3/09 12:24 PM
jaeng said...
Another fabulous dress from this pattern. I juse saw Erica B.'s version. Both of you look great and make me want a maxi dress instantly.
6/3/09 12:13 PM
eugenia123 said...
What a gorgeous dress. You look fantastic in it. Happy anniversary.
6/3/09 10:45 AM
Kellie R. said...
*whistles* You look GORGEOUS, just like a model! Fabulous dress and I hope you enjoyed your anniversary! Great job!
6/3/09 8:18 AM
Bonnie O said...
You look fabulous! Towny dress? I hadn't heard that term. Of course, by the time I get around to the idea of a Towny / Maxi dress in my wardrobe, the trend itself be be passe!
6/3/09 7:39 AM
Leora said...
Very pretty!
6/3/09 2:04 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Look at you! You are such a California girl in that hot dress (I still call it a maxi dress as I haven't heard of towny dress - I'm probably behind). Hope you had a great trip :)
6/3/09 1:52 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This looks absolutely fantastic on you. Usually things I sew at 2am are disasters, clearly this is not the case for you!
6/3/09 1:28 AM
Deepika said...
Cindy, this dress is smashing on you!
6/2/09 11:24 PM
DorothyK said...
Perfect choice for your anniversary dinner. You look fantastic. So what's in the box?
6/2/09 11:17 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks great, Cindy. Definitely worth your late night sewing spree!
6/2/09 9:04 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress, Cindy. I love the maxi trend. When I will get around to it, I'm not sure. Have you ever used clear thread? I've seen it but not tried it. Maybe you could use that for future hems and it wouldn't show since it's clear.
6/2/09 8:41 PM
EleanorSews said...
Very pretty! Fits nicely and the fabric is perfect.
6/2/09 8:29 PM
Twinset said...
What a beautiful girl in a beautiful dress!! This print was made for you!
6/2/09 8:24 PM
Terri Smith said...
great dress and thanks for the elastic tips.
6/2/09 8:14 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a great dress! Perfect on you. BTW is that 3 desserts on your plate??
6/2/09 8:10 PM
Patti B said...
Such a darling dress for a sweet occasion.
6/2/09 7:55 PM
loohoo44 said...
WOW Cindy, great dress, great dress on you, and great fabric!! I've used my serger/blind hem foot on silk jersey, wool doubleknit, and rayon doubleknit, I'll PM you about it.
6/2/09 7:50 PM
donna mel said...
your timing is PERFECT! i was hoping to find a nice halter dress pattern and there you were. i LOVE yours and hope mine will be a nice. i'm planning to shorten it and wear it as a beach cover-up.
6/2/09 7:40 PM
Bonnie O said...
You look fabulous! Towny dress? I hadn't heard that term. Of course, by the time I get around to the idea of a Towny / Maxi dress in my wardrobe, the trend itself be be passe!
6/2/09 7:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look mega fabulous, Cindy! Definitely one of my favorite outfits on you! Thanks for sharing that TOTALLY rad and cool pic of you and your sweetheart. Happy Anniversary!
6/2/09 7:05 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I love the other Simplicity Pattern, but this is a real winner for your anniversary dinner. Stunning.
6/2/09 7:02 PM
Gold said...
You looked lovely in your dress!!
6/2/09 6:49 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Maybe he figures it doesn't matter what he looks like b/c no one will even notice him when you're on his arm. Fab-u-lous.
6/2/09 6:40 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That turned out beautifullly! I had that pattern in my cart the other day and remembered our "no big 4" rule and put it back - now I'm mad I did. You look gorgeous - happy anniversary! :-)
6/2/09 6:15 PM
Aixoise said...
Who cares what they call it - you're a knockout in that dress! Very fresh and pretty.
6/2/09 6:02 PM
Re Becca said...
OMG, you look so Vanna White (only w/good, brunette hair) you look breath taking!
6/2/09 5:29 PM
Byrdie said...
Beautiful dress! I love the print... it's very flattering.
6/2/09 5:22 PM
CypGrl said...
Bet that this review will help sell a ~lot~ of Simplicity 3503s. Hope they are on sale somewhere this week -- or that I already have it in stash -- even better! Just checked -- it is 3502 that I have. Oh so close...
6/2/09 5:15 PM
nicegirl said...
Very pretty! I don't know what hem finishes are used on high end RTW knits, but on medium end it is often a coverstitch or even just a raw edge.
6/2/09 5:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Simplicity 2398

photo
by: MaidenJane

Review
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info