Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Stretch & Sew: 841 (Balaclava) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1504 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:galadriel45
photo
About galadriel45starstar
MT USA
Member since: 10/24/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/03 7:46 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
I was searching for swimsuit reviews and found this! I really like what you did and the printed fleece fabric! Some questions: What or who is KT (pardon my ignorance, it's probably something obvious.) Can you compare this pattern to the Green Pepper balaclava pattern? Can you describe your techniques for applying the lycra binding? It sounds difficult.
4/10/04 2:01 PM
galadriel45 said...
KT is my husband - do I guess it isn't so obvious. I've not seen the Green Pepper pattern. Green Pepper does tend to be more complicated, and I think keep it simple is best. The lycra is very easy. First sew the seam together so that the lycra forms a circle. Then, divide the lycra into quarters, by marking with a pin. Then pin the quarter marks to the balalclava, even divided. Start sewing the lycra to the WRONG side. Just stitch a few stitches, then stretch the lycra as you go so that it fits and will come to the next corner. It is very forgiving and wasy. Then stitch down the lycra to the right side, that way the stitches look nice on the front. I don't worry if my stitch line is off a bit on the wrong side. I wore my balaclave as a neck gaiter the other day on the motorcycle. It stretches so well that it worked great.
4/11/04 11:51 AM
JDpenelope said...
I wish there was a way to follow up on review comments! Just found this as I was looking through your reviews. Thanks for your explanation of the lycra application. I think it would be better than the fleece binding that I've used---for convenience--on the GP balaclavas I've sewn. I'd never heard of a balaclava until seeing one on this site, and they're a really good idea! I've even adapted the GP pattern for infants. But I don't like the way the GP design comes to a sort of point in front on the forehead, and also the face opening is a bit small...but then it covers more skin that way and is warmer. The GP design allows for a pretty long covering of the neck and has a cut out for the shoulder, again, making it very warm and toasty fitting under the coat. But it's so tight fitting that I don't believe you could pull it down and use it as a neck gaiter. Hey, I'll bet your balaclava is just the thing on your motorcycle! PS You are an adventuresome sewist and have done awfully nice projects for KT, among others.
7/1/04 6:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

New Look 6683
photo
Review by wendlesue on 5/12/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3627 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3627 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6669 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6669 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9839
photo
Review by LornaJay on 1/20/07
Read Review

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us