Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2009-115 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 617 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo
About LindsayTstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/09 12:20 PM
Last Updated:6/11/09 12:24 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
That's really cute. I love that contrast running stitch.
6/11/09 12:23 PM
annie11 said...
Love the idea of this as a beach cover-up. Thanks for the tips on the sizing!
6/11/09 12:28 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great dress! The hand stitching was a fantastic idea to add interest.
6/11/09 12:37 PM
Marji said...
It's darling! Thanks for the heads-up on the hole size.
6/11/09 12:41 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review and I regularly read your blog. This is so adorable! And I want to make it too. Never mind I've never sewn a knit, haven't been sewing for quite a while (it is going to be soon though - I've promised to teach a young woman how to read a sewing pattern today - so before she arrives, I'll have my sewing area, stash, etc. finally organized) and I'm 56 years old (I bike, swim, walk and eat healthy 95% of the time & it shows). What do you (and other readers) honestly think?
6/11/09 12:43 PM
Karen6790 said...
Thanks for the warning on the difference between pattern and photo. I was thinking about making this and just making it a bit longer - I don't have 20-something thighs and it would look a little silly on me, but your daughter looks fabulous.
6/11/09 1:35 PM
CypGrl said...
Go for it "Persevering!" I know women your age who could pull it off -- especially for the beach, resort, etc. Your daughter is a great model for your creations, LindsayT. Another winner!
6/11/09 2:10 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Really nice! I like the running stitch detail. Thanks for the info about the sizing, neckline and cutout.
6/11/09 3:25 PM
LindsayT said...
Persevering, it sounds like this would look great on you. Looking forward to your review!
6/11/09 4:23 PM
redhotpepper said...
This is so darned cute! I love the white stitching and your daughter has the perfect bod for it!!!
6/11/09 4:42 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the great review, this is such a cute dress and looks fantastic on your dd.
6/11/09 4:58 PM
RobinMCPA said...
It looks great on your daughter! Thanks for the sizing tips!
6/11/09 5:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i knew, knew your daughter would want this!! love how you "trick" her into your design ideas by telling her which version is "cooler"!! not that I could ever wear it but it's so perfect for 20 and under!!
6/11/09 5:42 PM
Catbird said...
This is a great little dress. I love the contrast stitching and it suits your daughter's style. Looks great!
6/11/09 7:59 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Very cute!
6/11/09 10:10 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Cute as... thanks for all the tips!
6/12/09 5:39 AM
kerrynw said...
Great review, cute dress!
6/12/09 12:05 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
thanks for the notice about the differences between the pattern and the photo...it's significant!
6/12/09 12:20 PM
Opals Passions said...
This dress is too cute... I may have make one for myself to wear around the house......
6/12/09 11:11 PM
Lisamarieg said...
Really cute you were so right on the running stitch it really looks cute anice detail
6/13/09 5:31 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for all of the tips. This was the pattern in this issue that I am dying to make!!
6/20/09 8:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Sew Simple 2026 Pullover Top
photo
Review by DeJa Chic on 4/18/12
Read Review

McCalls 6785 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6785 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6578 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6578 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8787 Misses Dress
photo
Review by lah119 on 1/8/14
Read Review

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us