SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-122 (Blouse with drawstring)

2 more reviews
Viewed 612 times 
Reviewed by:graustark
photo

 
 
About graustarkstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 10:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
Very nice shirt - I like the one without the sleeve bands best, although both versions are flattering. The vintage buttons were a good score!
6/9/09 11:21 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Nice! I agree that the sleeves as designed are a bit "out there" -- I like your idea of making this sleeveless. Your first (non-sleeveless) version is a gorgeous color, though! Oh, and those are the perfect buttons you've used on version 2. It's great that you now have a button trove. Everyone should have one. :) Yay, Aunt Dora!
6/9/09 11:38 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i have this cut out! i'm so glad there's a review. your pictures and top are lovely. Did you sew the casing on the outside. ?The instructions don't really say whether to sew it on the outside or inside.
6/10/09 0:52 AM
graustark said...
Thanks, y'all! And yes, I did put the casing on the outside, since they didn't mention making buttonholes to thread the tie through. Oh, and I bought a bodkin to turn the tie, rather than trying to use pencils or knitting needles and oh WOW am I happy about spending that $3!
6/10/09 8:03 AM
Christas said...
Cute top! The second version is my favorite.
6/10/09 9:21 AM
Karen6790 said...
I like the sleeveless version - for all that the sleeve bands put you through, I think sleeveless is a better look. I like that the husband attempted to decipher the instructions for you, he's a keeper. Great job.
6/10/09 9:38 AM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty blouse--both versions! Congrats on persevering through the sleeve bands.
6/10/09 1:09 PM
Catbird said...
Very pretty! I love the color of version #1. I agree that the sleeves give it a Jetsonesque quality, but you wear it well. I think your narrow ruffle idea would work beautifully with this top. What a horror show those BWOF instructions can be! Even simple things are made to seem as complex as a Japanese tea ceremony. Congratulations for perservering.
6/10/09 3:11 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute!
6/10/09 9:54 PM
amy in mpls said...
So cute! Love both versions!
6/12/09 5:00 PM
solosmocker said...
the one without the sleeve bands is definitely my fave. Flattering design. Thanks for your review. I have this traced out and will start the muslin today. I find their description of the front band very consfusing.
6/18/09 9:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-102

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Butterick 5815

photo
by: MissyBelle

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now