SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> Frenchy Bag (Frenchy Bag)

1 more reviews
Viewed 199 times 
Reviewed by:Mrs. Columbo
photo

 
 
About Mrs. Columbostar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/3/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/09 6:10 PM
Last Updated:6/13/09 6:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
This is a really cute bag! I've made a few bags and I know they are a lot of work. Your's turned out very nicely. And how lucky your daughter's friend is!
6/13/09 10:58 PM
Woolygal said...
I think if you use plenty of steam and hold that iron for 10 seconds in each spot, you'll get the fusibles to work.Ask how I know.
6/14/09 8:52 AM
Mrs. Columbo said...
I'm a real novice and quite anal about sewing. I take ages to pore over things (small wonder it took me over a year to design my first bear pattern!!) This was quite simple and the second one should go faster. :)
6/14/09 7:08 PM
maryfrana said...
I have had this pattern in my hand more than once but never bought it. Your review has inspired me. Love your bag and thanks for the details.
6/15/09 11:03 AM
Mrs. Columbo said...
maryfrana you will really enjoy making this bag .. I wrote to AB and said how I had a hard time lining up the bag top and the bag panel. They sent me two AB patterns .. I can't wait to try the new Field Bag .. it's HUGE! My 19 yr old daughter will love it if one of my dogs doesn't find it first. :)
6/18/09 6:30 PM
brooksie99 said...
Great review! I too wondered about the "mismatched" top panel and bag pattern pieces; I thought it may have to do with the curves/angles except I learned that when matching convex and concave pieces that I should clip and notch to form the seam. In fact, this is the only way I ever learned that pattern pieces like this would align, and I found it curious that such instructions were not included. I honestly think this is why the topstitching is so wonky on the inside when the bag is finished? I may write Amy Butler and ask this specific question...not that I want a free pattern or anything ;) Your tips on interfacing are very helpful; love the way the top of your bag has more body- I'll try your technique in my next Frenchy bag. Thanks so much!
6/20/09 10:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6611

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Butterick 3833

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now