Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: Frenchy Bag (Frenchy Bag) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 199 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Mrs. Columbo
photo
About Mrs. Columbostar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/3/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/09 6:10 PM
Last Updated:6/13/09 6:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
This is a really cute bag! I've made a few bags and I know they are a lot of work. Your's turned out very nicely. And how lucky your daughter's friend is!
6/13/09 10:58 PM
Woolygal said...
I think if you use plenty of steam and hold that iron for 10 seconds in each spot, you'll get the fusibles to work.Ask how I know.
6/14/09 8:52 AM
Mrs. Columbo said...
I'm a real novice and quite anal about sewing. I take ages to pore over things (small wonder it took me over a year to design my first bear pattern!!) This was quite simple and the second one should go faster. :)
6/14/09 7:08 PM
maryfrana said...
I have had this pattern in my hand more than once but never bought it. Your review has inspired me. Love your bag and thanks for the details.
6/15/09 11:03 AM
Mrs. Columbo said...
maryfrana you will really enjoy making this bag .. I wrote to AB and said how I had a hard time lining up the bag top and the bag panel. They sent me two AB patterns .. I can't wait to try the new Field Bag .. it's HUGE! My 19 yr old daughter will love it if one of my dogs doesn't find it first. :)
6/18/09 6:30 PM
brooksie99 said...
Great review! I too wondered about the "mismatched" top panel and bag pattern pieces; I thought it may have to do with the curves/angles except I learned that when matching convex and concave pieces that I should clip and notch to form the seam. In fact, this is the only way I ever learned that pattern pieces like this would align, and I found it curious that such instructions were not included. I honestly think this is why the topstitching is so wonky on the inside when the bag is finished? I may write Amy Butler and ask this specific question...not that I want a free pattern or anything ;) Your tips on interfacing are very helpful; love the way the top of your bag has more body- I'll try your technique in my next Frenchy bag. Thanks so much!
6/20/09 10:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-123 Parka
photo
Review by jkaori on 12/18/09
Read Review

Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7115 Pattern
Burda 7115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2886
photo
Review by oohisay on 5/19/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us