SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3830 (Misses' straight skirts)

81 more reviews
Viewed 761 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 275
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:6/13/09 8:25 PM
Last Updated:6/14/09 5:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.21 $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.21 $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
That is pretty fabulous Nancy! Go Burda with the trend setting!
6/15/09 8:13 PM
persevering said...
Your care and efforts to explain your procedures are very much appreciated. :)
6/15/09 11:56 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking skirt. Your lapped zipper method is fawless.
6/14/09 8:31 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful skirt Nancy, and a reminder that simple classic shapes are ultimately the best. I love the green.
6/14/09 7:59 PM
Em's Summer said...
All versions look great, but I especially love the green paisley skirt! Great job!
6/14/09 7:15 PM
Aixoise said...
Nice job on the skirt; thanks for recommending the pattern. I couldn't get my mind around C. Long's vent lining instructions, either. I just "deconstructed" the vent assembly on some Talbot's tailored skirts and copied their method. I know I have good instructions somewhere in the piles of books and magazines. If I ever find them, I'll let you know.
6/14/09 5:34 PM
maryfrana said...
Such beautiful workmanship. Love this print too.
6/14/09 3:59 PM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful craftsmenship. lovely lining. my jaw dropped at how good that lapped zipper is! the main link for your "composite" picture when you click on the thumbnail isn't working. but everything else is.
6/14/09 2:58 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review - especially for mentioning that you generally stabilize at the waist with this. All your skirts look great and I really like how you matched the pattern at the back zipper/seam (on your blog). Also the helpfulness or not of the book mentioned regarding the lining vent. Can you please advise from your experience, for the measurements of one's actual hips, which size you would suggest? (i.e. one's hips measurement = x in., therefore choose pattern's actual hip measurements y in., which equals x in. + ? in.)
6/14/09 12:23 PM
Nancywin said...
Twill tape is usually cotton or polyester tape that does not stretch. I like to buy the 1/4". A similar product is called Tailor's tape. I bought a HUGE roll from zipperstop.com and it will last me about 2 lifetimes! You can buy it in smaller quantities in packages, but it is sometimes hard to find. I have also purchased smaller quantities on ebay.
6/14/09 10:06 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thanks for the great review on your lovely, paisley pencil skirt. Your work is always impeccable, Nancy!
6/14/09 10:03 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi!! What is "twill tape"? Does it come in a package?
6/14/09 9:36 AM
morzel said...
Nice skirt! Lovely fabric and great pattern matching at CB.
6/14/09 8:52 AM
Renren said...
Sorry, forgot to tell you--the vent/lining technique was covered in the Skirts chapter of SB's Power Sewing. But yours looks perfect as is.
6/14/09 8:34 AM
Renren said...
Sandra Betzina has a method of adding a vent to a skirt with lining. I've never done it but I remember reading about it. Nice skirt!
6/14/09 1:23 AM
FreyaStark said...
I love blue and green, and paisley, too!
6/14/09 0:50 AM
LaVerneDee said...
Fabulous skirt! I love the green paisley!
6/13/09 11:43 PM
Christas said...
Each one of your skirts looks so nice and fits you so perfectly.
6/13/09 11:23 PM
khunter said...
I absolutely love it . You do such a professional job!
6/13/09 9:36 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a pretty skirt, the fabric is gorgeous.
6/13/09 9:10 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty skirt, Nancy!
6/13/09 8:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
New Look 6150

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now