Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2649 (Misses' Dress in Two Lengths)

Viewed 346 times 
Reviewed by:Just T
photo

 
 
About Just T
TX USA
Member since: 6/13/09
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/09 9:05 AM
Last Updated:6/15/09 10:48 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said... (6/15/09 2:09 PM) Reply
Lovely dress quite in keeping with your "theme." BTW, I love your blog.
EleanorSews said... (6/15/09 1:18 PM) Reply
It lloks like the perfect summer dress when you have to be out in the heat and just don't want anything restrictive on. You might want to consider tissue fitting and measuring the flat pieces to check on the amount of ease, but I'm thinking crazygrad has a good thought that perhaps this one is supposed to be a looser fit.
NC Carol said... (6/15/09 10:58 AM) Reply
Cute dress! I know what it's like to sew something and then have the finished dress not fit the way you like. I used to compare my pattern pieces to similar items in my closet to get a sense of the fit before I cut things out. In Jan. 2009 I took the "Fit for Real People" class at a local sewing store. Now I tissue fit the pattern and pin fit the garment. A lot of work! But my sewing projects definitely fit better. Good luck and keep on sewing!
lyrae said... (6/14/09 10:21 AM) Reply
Here's something: I've also done one of the Simplicity "It's So Easy" dresses and it had waaay more ease than I expected. (In fact, the tissue says 7" ease, which I've since found out is at the high end for women's dresses.) It wound up way baggier than the body-skimming photo on the envelope. Your review makes me wonder if that line is drafted larger than their other patterns.
crazygrad said... (6/14/09 9:17 AM) Reply
From the pic, the dress is cute. Looking at the pattern, it doesn't look formfitting. Perhaps it is meant to be a looser dress?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2952

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-115

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Pattern Details