SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2649 (Misses' Dress in Two Lengths)

Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:Just T
photo

 
 
About Just T
TX USA
Member since: 6/13/09
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/09 9:05 AM
Last Updated:6/15/09 10:48 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Karendee said... (6/15/09 2:09 PM) Reply
Lovely dress quite in keeping with your "theme." BTW, I love your blog.
EleanorSews said... (6/15/09 1:18 PM) Reply
It lloks like the perfect summer dress when you have to be out in the heat and just don't want anything restrictive on. You might want to consider tissue fitting and measuring the flat pieces to check on the amount of ease, but I'm thinking crazygrad has a good thought that perhaps this one is supposed to be a looser fit.
NC Carol said... (6/15/09 10:58 AM) Reply
Cute dress! I know what it's like to sew something and then have the finished dress not fit the way you like. I used to compare my pattern pieces to similar items in my closet to get a sense of the fit before I cut things out. In Jan. 2009 I took the "Fit for Real People" class at a local sewing store. Now I tissue fit the pattern and pin fit the garment. A lot of work! But my sewing projects definitely fit better. Good luck and keep on sewing!
lyrae said... (6/14/09 10:21 AM) Reply
Here's something: I've also done one of the Simplicity "It's So Easy" dresses and it had waaay more ease than I expected. (In fact, the tissue says 7" ease, which I've since found out is at the high end for women's dresses.) It wound up way baggier than the body-skimming photo on the envelope. Your review makes me wonder if that line is drafted larger than their other patterns.
crazygrad said... (6/14/09 9:17 AM) Reply
From the pic, the dress is cute. Looking at the pattern, it doesn't look formfitting. Perhaps it is meant to be a looser dress?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Butterick B4443

photo
by: MaryMacTre...

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Pattern Details
Butterick 6031

photo
by: ggf2005

Review