SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Lutterloh> 2005-14 (Skirt)

Viewed 288 times 
Reviewed by:Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mufffetstarstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/09 8:09 PM
Last Updated:8/5/14 2:54 PM
Project Photo:Lutterloh: 2005-14 by Mufffet

Lutterloh: 2005-14 by Mufffet  Lutterloh: 2005-14 by Mufffet    
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Mufffet

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Fabric:Rayon  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATE 8/2014: I have used this pattern another several times, and varied the skirt width and fabric - cotton and rayon give good results!

Pattern Description: This is a Lutterloh skirt pattern, and as with all Lutterloh skirt or pant patterns, you use your own hip measurement to draft the pattern.

Pattern Sizing:This pattern is a regular one, not a full figured pattern, but the style lends itself to any figure.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?I used rayon, so the skirt I made is much more drapey. But you can see the general lines, yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?There are no instructions with Lutterloh patterns. You either know the routine of garment construction, or you use your sewing books. This skirt was not hard, and would make a nice beginner project.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I like the style because it has its fullness out and down from the hip, rather than the waist, so the fit is a nice flattering look rather than the fullness of a bunched up waist and upper hip.

Fabric Used:A lovely drapey rayon from Threadneedle Fabrics, my local independent fabric shop.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:I used an elastic sew-flip-sew waist application rather than an applied waistband. This wasn't really a design change, but to hem it I just serged the bottom and turned up just the serging width and sewed that as my hem. I see that a lot now in ready to wear. Nice and neat.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I would sew it again because it is an easy skirt to make, and a quick one! In fact I have another length of rayon ready to go.

Conclusion: This was part of my now fabled SWAP Plan '08, now hoping to be SWAP plan '09.

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
Lovely skirt and in that pretty rayon it must feel so comfy! I am not familiar with Lutterloh, but if there are absolutely no instructions I would have to start with something simple. Great review, thanks!
8/14/14 0:19 AM
tucci4me said...
I missed this one somehow too. I like everything about this skirt on you, the length, the drape, the color. Looks like a great go anywhere skirt!
8/3/09 1:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't know how I double posted a day apart. Sorry.
7/2/09 0:17 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Somehow I missed this review. Your skirt is very pretty. The more I read about what you are doing with Lutterloh, the more I want to learn to use the system too.
7/1/09 3:15 PM
Mufffet said...
Ody, my door is always open to you! :))
6/17/09 9:22 AM
Ody said...
Wonderful skirt! Love the fabric and it is a garment I would like to have for me, as well. You look so cute and if I am ever in your neck of the woods, I am coming over for coffee!
6/17/09 9:15 AM
Annette1 said...
I'd say your fabled SWAP Plan '09 is off to a great start! This is a VERY flattering skirt, and PERFECT with that pretty blue top. :o)
6/17/09 2:08 AM
poorpigling said...
Very nice looking..could wear this anywhere..am learning a lot from your reviews..thanks..
6/16/09 8:18 PM
Sallygirl said...
Such a pretty skirt! It looks great on you! I get all excited when I see someone actually made something from their Lutterloh system.
6/16/09 9:18 AM
maedchen said...
looks so nice. I like everything including fabric.
6/15/09 11:16 PM
Mufffet said...
Elaine I Do wish you luck! :) Beth, I am such a slow sewer that my blog doesn't really move fast! But I do chronicle my path there. ;)
6/15/09 10:41 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Looks great on you. My next project is going to be a skirt. I haven't worn one in years. Wish me luck.
6/15/09 10:37 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Nice skirt! And it looks so nice on you. Great color choice for the top, as well. You're really becoming quite the user of Lutterlohs and I'll be reading your blog more.
6/15/09 8:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
StyleArc Ollie Tunic

photo
by: mudcat

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now