SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB025FB (Frenchy Bags)

47 more reviews
Viewed 200 times 
Reviewed by:brooksie99
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About brooksie99
MI USA
Member since: 8/3/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:6/17/09 1:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
What a nice first review! Thanks for taking the time to detail your experience with this pattern. I agree with you that instructions for sewing bags can be very difficult to understand, especially when it comes to attaching the lining. It looks like you puzzled your way through it all quite nicely.
6/17/09 5:02 PM
Renren said...
Well, your review is advancing fast through the gallery with all these summer sewists whizzing through sewing projects. Still, I had to track this review down and compliment you on a flawless review. I especially appreciate helping us anticipate potential snags with this pattern along with solutions to overcome those problems.
6/17/09 10:30 PM
VintageBerry said...
Thank you for the detail and the link, I will definitely use your tips when I get to my handbag sewing.
6/18/09 1:59 AM
marthamyers said...
Great pattern. Great result. Thanks for sharing. One other problem I experienced with it - the top stitching between the top and bottom. I found I had to baste it first, in order to make it look even on both the outside and inside. Love your version!
6/18/09 12:36 PM
Mrs. Columbo said...
I too made this bag just last week and reviewed on it as well ... I did do the topstitching in step 7b however when it says to go around it again to secure the lining to the bag, if your seams aren't lined up perfectly, your outside will look great while your inside is way off (ask me how I know. lol) I ended up taking it out .. I did topstitch around the top of the bag however and found that to be sufficient ... I've only made three bags but I did take a class last fall .. until then I could not figure out how to get the lining inside the bag!! Great review. I'm working on my second Frenchy now.
6/20/09 11:16 AM
brooksie99 said...
Thanks for the positive comments! This really was a fun bag to make, and I'm going to try it again very soon- I definitely want to try it with more interfacing. Sewing the Frenchy was a great eye opener for me; I definitely need to be more exact when cutting and aligning seams- Mrs. C, I know exactly what you mean ;) I just bought a Simplicity Birdie Sling knockoff pattern for $1.99 to try; my cousin is actually going with the Amy Butler original pattern- we'll be sharing our experiences, so I'll be doing a little comparison in my next review.
6/20/09 9:41 PM
xray62 said...
I am extremely new to sewing so think I will pass on this for now.
6/22/09 9:48 PM
dirtybirdskyhag said...
Thank you, Thank You, Thank You for the tip on the tutorial. The directions for attaching the lining to the main bag are awful. Other than that, this is a good pattern.
5/20/10 10:25 PM
brooksie99 said...
I haven't logged in here for ages. Thank you all for the positive comments.
7/30/13 3:19 AM
brooksie99 said...
I haven't logged in here for ages. Thank you all for the positive comments.
7/30/13 3:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Other Patterns by Gertie

photo
by: lbreton

Review
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
McCall's 6518

photo
by: turnerkati...

Review