Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB025FB (Frenchy Bags) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 200 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:brooksie99
photo
Friend of PR
About brooksie99
MI USA
Member since: 8/3/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:6/17/09 1:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
What a nice first review! Thanks for taking the time to detail your experience with this pattern. I agree with you that instructions for sewing bags can be very difficult to understand, especially when it comes to attaching the lining. It looks like you puzzled your way through it all quite nicely.
6/17/09 5:02 PM
Renren said...
Well, your review is advancing fast through the gallery with all these summer sewists whizzing through sewing projects. Still, I had to track this review down and compliment you on a flawless review. I especially appreciate helping us anticipate potential snags with this pattern along with solutions to overcome those problems.
6/17/09 10:30 PM
VintageBerry said...
Thank you for the detail and the link, I will definitely use your tips when I get to my handbag sewing.
6/18/09 1:59 AM
marthamyers said...
Great pattern. Great result. Thanks for sharing. One other problem I experienced with it - the top stitching between the top and bottom. I found I had to baste it first, in order to make it look even on both the outside and inside. Love your version!
6/18/09 12:36 PM
Mrs. Columbo said...
I too made this bag just last week and reviewed on it as well ... I did do the topstitching in step 7b however when it says to go around it again to secure the lining to the bag, if your seams aren't lined up perfectly, your outside will look great while your inside is way off (ask me how I know. lol) I ended up taking it out .. I did topstitch around the top of the bag however and found that to be sufficient ... I've only made three bags but I did take a class last fall .. until then I could not figure out how to get the lining inside the bag!! Great review. I'm working on my second Frenchy now.
6/20/09 11:16 AM
brooksie99 said...
Thanks for the positive comments! This really was a fun bag to make, and I'm going to try it again very soon- I definitely want to try it with more interfacing. Sewing the Frenchy was a great eye opener for me; I definitely need to be more exact when cutting and aligning seams- Mrs. C, I know exactly what you mean ;) I just bought a Simplicity Birdie Sling knockoff pattern for $1.99 to try; my cousin is actually going with the Amy Butler original pattern- we'll be sharing our experiences, so I'll be doing a little comparison in my next review.
6/20/09 9:41 PM
xray62 said...
I am extremely new to sewing so think I will pass on this for now.
6/22/09 9:48 PM
dirtybirdskyhag said...
Thank you, Thank You, Thank You for the tip on the tutorial. The directions for attaching the lining to the main bag are awful. Other than that, this is a good pattern.
5/20/10 10:25 PM
brooksie99 said...
I haven't logged in here for ages. Thank you all for the positive comments.
7/30/13 3:19 AM
brooksie99 said...
I haven't logged in here for ages. Thank you all for the positive comments.
7/30/13 3:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1783
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 12/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by moonthirty on 7/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us