SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Macphee sewing workshop> 311 (Best of Linda's Tops (BLT))

3 more reviews
Viewed 611 times 
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ssssdebstar
UT United States
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/09 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
Very pretty, jw
6/17/09 5:40 PM
USMCMom said...
I've never heard of the technique of "chenilling". Could you elaborate? Also, do you have a pic of the fabric before it was chenilled? You've got me hooked...
6/17/09 7:10 PM
carolynw said...
Love what you did with this fabric - have a not to pretty piece and may try chenelling it - great looking top you have made
6/17/09 9:33 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Sows ear to silk purse... Lovely results! and neat pattern too. Thanks!
6/17/09 9:51 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful!
6/17/09 10:19 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully done....Very nice!!
6/18/09 0:34 AM
Athene said...
A wonderful jacket. Very pretty end result.
6/18/09 1:21 AM
Kayseri said...
I think this look fun, and a great use of yards off OTT fabric. I'd also like a description of chenilling.
6/18/09 1:41 AM
SoVintage said...
What a creative use of "ugly" fabric. The finished look is anything but "ugly". I would agree it has a BEAUTIFUL water color effect to it. Great Job. ( I'll add learning "chenilling" to my to do list)
6/18/09 8:44 AM
Gelbean said...
What a great transformation. Very impressive!
6/19/09 8:04 AM
j222b said...
Your review is located under 311 not 31. Can this be fixed?
6/19/09 5:44 PM
RuthieSews said...
That is great, you have actually changed the fabric itself by the technique. I am impressed!
6/19/09 5:54 PM
AnneM said...
What a great idea! The jacket came out great. Definitely the same fabric, but it changed the character completely.
6/19/09 8:18 PM
BonnieJ said...
What a great way to tone down a bright fabric ssssdeb. That turned out beautifully and gave me ideas for some of my own "tacky" fabrics.
6/19/09 8:39 PM
Linda G said...
Your ugly fabric is now beautiful.
6/20/09 5:32 PM
sewfossy said...
Love the effect your chenilling produced. Well worth the effort - a very classy jacket, and definately not ugly!
6/23/09 2:02 PM
Bonnie O said...
Very clever. It looks terrific.
7/2/09 8:40 AM
said...
Amazing fabric improvement! Good positive review of pattern.
7/2/09 1:28 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Amazing job turning your "ugly duckling" into a beautiful swan.
7/3/09 2:15 PM
Laurie Lou said...
you have inspired me to look at my fabric in a whole new way. You made a 100% + change to that fabric.
7/6/09 3:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
You really turned a ho hum fabric into something unique and lovely.
7/7/09 7:18 AM
callmeRuth said...
beautiful!!!
7/7/09 10:39 PM
selvage said...
I love the chenille look, and the chevron effect is wonderfully done. Gorgeous results! I, too, would like to know how to make the chenille--maybe there's a link to some tips somewhere?
7/10/09 4:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Kwik Sew Raglan Sweatshirt

photo
by: Leu

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now