SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2622 (Strapless Maxi Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1040 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 11:31 PM
Last Updated:6/20/09 9:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Zowza! What a dress! Glad you were able to make a save, and I'm positive that wine helped- it always does for me.
6/18/09 11:57 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow, that looks great...good thing you had that galss of wine!!!
6/19/09 0:06 AM
Gold said...
You look fabulous!! I am so hook on maxi dresses too!!
6/19/09 0:19 AM
chicaem29 said...
The dress came out great! I love the fabric. It makes it!
6/19/09 1:17 AM
michalklimer said...
it looks great! thanks for the review!
6/19/09 1:32 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous dress Erica ! The colour and style suit you beautifully :) Yay for a *sip 'n sew*
6/19/09 2:10 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful dress! Great save!
6/19/09 3:37 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Ooooooooooo peeing in my pants I love it so much. And I admire your altering skills.
6/19/09 4:16 AM
Miss Charlie said...
Great photos! If you get a chance to edit your review though, the link to the back view photo has an extra "http//" in the address, which on my browser caused it to not find the photo.
6/19/09 5:07 AM
Kath in ON said...
Beautiful! Good to hear I'm not the only one who throws things in frustration ;)
6/19/09 6:50 AM
Gelbean said...
Love, love, love it!!!
6/19/09 7:46 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
FABULOUS !!!!!!
6/19/09 8:14 AM
carolynw said...
B-E-A-U-T-I-F--U-L. You should be a model!!
6/19/09 8:40 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Gorgeous -- good thing wine helps you sew better, unfortunately for me it works the opposite way!!!
6/19/09 9:19 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Absolutely beautiful. You carry it off well!
6/19/09 10:30 AM
marec said...
This is a beautiful look for you!
6/19/09 10:42 AM
Pamaro said...
That's a very nice dress. I love the fabric and the style and you look very pretty in it. Good idea about using the swimsuit lining instead of tricot.
6/19/09 10:57 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wine while cutting - bad. Wine while debating how to fix things - very good. Obviously, considering your result here.
6/19/09 11:22 AM
mimi g. said...
the dress is hotness!! and you look great by the way :)
6/19/09 12:21 PM
sewtime said...
WOW, Beautiful dress!!
6/19/09 12:22 PM
SarahSews said...
This is a wonderful dress on you. I'm so glad you didn't let it become a wadder!
6/19/09 12:28 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is a beautiful color and silhouette for you. Great dress.
6/19/09 1:00 PM
bconky said...
Love it.
6/19/09 4:25 PM
kim*brown said...
Great job Erica. I always use swimsuit lining whenever I make something that requires a stretch main fabric, so much lighter than lining with another piece of knit fabric.
6/19/09 6:58 PM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous dress! I'm glad you had that glass of wine to help you return to your project and recut the bodice!! It looks GREAT!
6/19/09 8:02 PM
leeannz said...
thanks for the alteration photos...I'm not the only one that seems to have the "empire" sit on the middle of the bust!!!!!
6/19/09 9:35 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Oo-La-La! You look terrific! Love your strapless maxi. Sorry about the ripping & alterations you had to go through!
6/20/09 0:24 AM
barbcl said...
Really pretty dress in a great pattern and colors.
6/20/09 3:04 PM
GBK said...
Cute dress, and the fabric (print and color) are just gorgeous!!!
6/20/09 3:19 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is just so sublime!!
6/20/09 8:31 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Another spectacular maxi dress. You look sensational.
6/21/09 0:20 AM
anncie1 said...
My first maxi will be done tomorrow. Usint an old pattern and I'm about 10' shorter than you. Hope my success is like yours! Your wadder is fabu!
6/21/09 2:07 AM
Aixoise said...
You are one gorgeous woman - and you know how to show it! This dress is a stunner. Love the sip'n'sew idea to alleviate frustration and clear the head. Great job - as always.
6/21/09 4:41 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks so much ladies for all of your wonderful comments!
6/22/09 8:04 AM
Raye Ann said...
seriously- i would never buy RTW again if i could sew like you! love, love your creations. thanks for sharing!
6/23/09 8:49 PM
AliceB said...
Erica, I always appreciate your reviews and the many helpful hints you include. Alice
6/26/09 10:59 PM
racehorse said...
That was a great review! I really appreciate you including the information about the FBA because I am a beginner and I'm a little scared of trying it. Now I see what the pattern looks like when you do it and I am about ready to take the plunge and try it myself. Thanks!
8/11/09 10:54 AM
NurseByrd said...
I wish I had took heed to your advice, the bodice was narrow.
9/16/09 11:39 PM
B Unique Designs said...
Love the color of the fabric. I've noticed your the only person that did the size i'm doing. If it's not a bother can you send pattern pieces 1, 2, and 3. I've misplaced those pieces and can't find them.
8/4/10 3:39 PM
velosewer said...
More praise for a great dress.
8/12/10 8:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now