SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2622 (Strapless Maxi Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1035 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 413 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 11:31 PM
Last Updated:6/20/09 9:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
Zowza! What a dress! Glad you were able to make a save, and I'm positive that wine helped- it always does for me.
6/18/09 11:57 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow, that looks great...good thing you had that galss of wine!!!
6/19/09 0:06 AM
Gold said...
You look fabulous!! I am so hook on maxi dresses too!!
6/19/09 0:19 AM
chicaem29 said...
The dress came out great! I love the fabric. It makes it!
6/19/09 1:17 AM
michalklimer said...
it looks great! thanks for the review!
6/19/09 1:32 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous dress Erica ! The colour and style suit you beautifully :) Yay for a *sip 'n sew*
6/19/09 2:10 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful dress! Great save!
6/19/09 3:37 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Ooooooooooo peeing in my pants I love it so much. And I admire your altering skills.
6/19/09 4:16 AM
Miss Charlie said...
Great photos! If you get a chance to edit your review though, the link to the back view photo has an extra "http//" in the address, which on my browser caused it to not find the photo.
6/19/09 5:07 AM
Kath in ON said...
Beautiful! Good to hear I'm not the only one who throws things in frustration ;)
6/19/09 6:50 AM
Gelbean said...
Love, love, love it!!!
6/19/09 7:46 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
FABULOUS !!!!!!
6/19/09 8:14 AM
carolynw said...
B-E-A-U-T-I-F--U-L. You should be a model!!
6/19/09 8:40 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Gorgeous -- good thing wine helps you sew better, unfortunately for me it works the opposite way!!!
6/19/09 9:19 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Absolutely beautiful. You carry it off well!
6/19/09 10:30 AM
marec said...
This is a beautiful look for you!
6/19/09 10:42 AM
Pamaro said...
That's a very nice dress. I love the fabric and the style and you look very pretty in it. Good idea about using the swimsuit lining instead of tricot.
6/19/09 10:57 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wine while cutting - bad. Wine while debating how to fix things - very good. Obviously, considering your result here.
6/19/09 11:22 AM
mimi g. said...
the dress is hotness!! and you look great by the way :)
6/19/09 12:21 PM
sewtime said...
WOW, Beautiful dress!!
6/19/09 12:22 PM
SarahSews said...
This is a wonderful dress on you. I'm so glad you didn't let it become a wadder!
6/19/09 12:28 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is a beautiful color and silhouette for you. Great dress.
6/19/09 1:00 PM
bconky said...
Love it.
6/19/09 4:25 PM
kim*brown said...
Great job Erica. I always use swimsuit lining whenever I make something that requires a stretch main fabric, so much lighter than lining with another piece of knit fabric.
6/19/09 6:58 PM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous dress! I'm glad you had that glass of wine to help you return to your project and recut the bodice!! It looks GREAT!
6/19/09 8:02 PM
leeannz said...
thanks for the alteration photos...I'm not the only one that seems to have the "empire" sit on the middle of the bust!!!!!
6/19/09 9:35 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Oo-La-La! You look terrific! Love your strapless maxi. Sorry about the ripping & alterations you had to go through!
6/20/09 0:24 AM
barbcl said...
Really pretty dress in a great pattern and colors.
6/20/09 3:04 PM
GBK said...
Cute dress, and the fabric (print and color) are just gorgeous!!!
6/20/09 3:19 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is just so sublime!!
6/20/09 8:31 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Another spectacular maxi dress. You look sensational.
6/21/09 0:20 AM
anncie1 said...
My first maxi will be done tomorrow. Usint an old pattern and I'm about 10' shorter than you. Hope my success is like yours! Your wadder is fabu!
6/21/09 2:07 AM
Aixoise said...
You are one gorgeous woman - and you know how to show it! This dress is a stunner. Love the sip'n'sew idea to alleviate frustration and clear the head. Great job - as always.
6/21/09 4:41 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks so much ladies for all of your wonderful comments!
6/22/09 8:04 AM
Raye Ann said...
seriously- i would never buy RTW again if i could sew like you! love, love your creations. thanks for sharing!
6/23/09 8:49 PM
AliceB said...
Erica, I always appreciate your reviews and the many helpful hints you include. Alice
6/26/09 10:59 PM
racehorse said...
That was a great review! I really appreciate you including the information about the FBA because I am a beginner and I'm a little scared of trying it. Now I see what the pattern looks like when you do it and I am about ready to take the plunge and try it myself. Thanks!
8/11/09 10:54 AM
NurseByrd said...
I wish I had took heed to your advice, the bodice was narrow.
9/16/09 11:39 PM
B Unique Designs said...
Love the color of the fabric. I've noticed your the only person that did the size i'm doing. If it's not a bother can you send pattern pieces 1, 2, and 3. I've misplaced those pieces and can't find them.
8/4/10 3:39 PM
velosewer said...
More praise for a great dress.
8/12/10 8:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

KnipMode Magazine 07-2010-3

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Butterick 5825

photo
by: Nadalynn

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now