SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2622 (Strapless Maxi Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1041 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 417 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 11:31 PM
Last Updated:6/20/09 9:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
More praise for a great dress.
8/12/10 8:46 PM
B Unique Designs said...
Love the color of the fabric. I've noticed your the only person that did the size i'm doing. If it's not a bother can you send pattern pieces 1, 2, and 3. I've misplaced those pieces and can't find them.
8/4/10 3:39 PM
NurseByrd said...
I wish I had took heed to your advice, the bodice was narrow.
9/16/09 11:39 PM
racehorse said...
That was a great review! I really appreciate you including the information about the FBA because I am a beginner and I'm a little scared of trying it. Now I see what the pattern looks like when you do it and I am about ready to take the plunge and try it myself. Thanks!
8/11/09 10:54 AM
AliceB said...
Erica, I always appreciate your reviews and the many helpful hints you include. Alice
6/26/09 10:59 PM
Raye Ann said...
seriously- i would never buy RTW again if i could sew like you! love, love your creations. thanks for sharing!
6/23/09 8:49 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks so much ladies for all of your wonderful comments!
6/22/09 8:04 AM
Aixoise said...
You are one gorgeous woman - and you know how to show it! This dress is a stunner. Love the sip'n'sew idea to alleviate frustration and clear the head. Great job - as always.
6/21/09 4:41 PM
anncie1 said...
My first maxi will be done tomorrow. Usint an old pattern and I'm about 10' shorter than you. Hope my success is like yours! Your wadder is fabu!
6/21/09 2:07 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Another spectacular maxi dress. You look sensational.
6/21/09 0:20 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is just so sublime!!
6/20/09 8:31 PM
GBK said...
Cute dress, and the fabric (print and color) are just gorgeous!!!
6/20/09 3:19 PM
barbcl said...
Really pretty dress in a great pattern and colors.
6/20/09 3:04 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Oo-La-La! You look terrific! Love your strapless maxi. Sorry about the ripping & alterations you had to go through!
6/20/09 0:24 AM
leeannz said...
thanks for the alteration photos...I'm not the only one that seems to have the "empire" sit on the middle of the bust!!!!!
6/19/09 9:35 PM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous dress! I'm glad you had that glass of wine to help you return to your project and recut the bodice!! It looks GREAT!
6/19/09 8:02 PM
kim*brown said...
Great job Erica. I always use swimsuit lining whenever I make something that requires a stretch main fabric, so much lighter than lining with another piece of knit fabric.
6/19/09 6:58 PM
bconky said...
Love it.
6/19/09 4:25 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is a beautiful color and silhouette for you. Great dress.
6/19/09 1:00 PM
SarahSews said...
This is a wonderful dress on you. I'm so glad you didn't let it become a wadder!
6/19/09 12:28 PM
sewtime said...
WOW, Beautiful dress!!
6/19/09 12:22 PM
mimi g. said...
the dress is hotness!! and you look great by the way :)
6/19/09 12:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wine while cutting - bad. Wine while debating how to fix things - very good. Obviously, considering your result here.
6/19/09 11:22 AM
Pamaro said...
That's a very nice dress. I love the fabric and the style and you look very pretty in it. Good idea about using the swimsuit lining instead of tricot.
6/19/09 10:57 AM
marec said...
This is a beautiful look for you!
6/19/09 10:42 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Absolutely beautiful. You carry it off well!
6/19/09 10:30 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Gorgeous -- good thing wine helps you sew better, unfortunately for me it works the opposite way!!!
6/19/09 9:19 AM
carolynw said...
B-E-A-U-T-I-F--U-L. You should be a model!!
6/19/09 8:40 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
FABULOUS !!!!!!
6/19/09 8:14 AM
Gelbean said...
Love, love, love it!!!
6/19/09 7:46 AM
Kath in ON said...
Beautiful! Good to hear I'm not the only one who throws things in frustration ;)
6/19/09 6:50 AM
Miss Charlie said...
Great photos! If you get a chance to edit your review though, the link to the back view photo has an extra "http//" in the address, which on my browser caused it to not find the photo.
6/19/09 5:07 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Ooooooooooo peeing in my pants I love it so much. And I admire your altering skills.
6/19/09 4:16 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful dress! Great save!
6/19/09 3:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous dress Erica ! The colour and style suit you beautifully :) Yay for a *sip 'n sew*
6/19/09 2:10 AM
michalklimer said...
it looks great! thanks for the review!
6/19/09 1:32 AM
chicaem29 said...
The dress came out great! I love the fabric. It makes it!
6/19/09 1:17 AM
Gold said...
You look fabulous!! I am so hook on maxi dresses too!!
6/19/09 0:19 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow, that looks great...good thing you had that galss of wine!!!
6/19/09 0:06 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Zowza! What a dress! Glad you were able to make a save, and I'm positive that wine helped- it always does for me.
6/18/09 11:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2593

photo
by: bennomusik

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Fishsticks Designs Undercover Boxer Briefs

photo
by: galadriel4...

Review