SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3875 OOP (Men's Contour Shirt)

Viewed 143 times 
Reviewed by:feldmanTcat
photo

 
 
About feldmanTcatstar
NH USA
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/09 5:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
What an amazing job you did. The shirt looks fantastic.
6/20/09 6:38 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart. Well done. When you're used to binding the sleeve opening you should find it easier than a conventional placket - I certainly do!
6/20/09 7:06 PM
quirkygal said...
What a great shirt!
6/20/09 7:35 PM
Renren said...
Great shirt! No wonder fiance wanted you to finish it so he could wear it to work. I've never sewn a continuous lap, but I have seen Margaret Islander demonstrate how to sew one on her shirtmaking DVD. If you can get a copy of it, I bet it will help you out immensely. I borrowed a copy from my local American Sewing Guild (you have to be a member). Check the library, too. BUT . . . your shirt is wonderful (well, your fiance's shirt) the way it is.
6/20/09 8:04 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
I love this pattern..it's one of my favorites. One of the things I love about it is the "fold" collar...not often seen these days. You did a fine job on this shirt!
6/21/09 6:39 AM
SoVintage said...
Great shirt. Nice Fit. A job well done. Kudos to you!
6/21/09 9:14 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
You would probably also enjoy Shirtmaking by David Page Coffin... book and a VHS tape and now a DVD version is out. Fascinating look at how to make real mens shirts RTW results and custom fit and very custom details. Google for his website... most informative. all that said.. GREAT SHIRT! like the color and the vintage vibes....
6/21/09 10:37 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, I really like the fabric you used on this shirt -- it looks very warm and comfy. Make life easy for yourself: if you're sewing for your fiance and he's a 38" chest, 14 1/2 neck (a standard size) choose a 38" pattern. You can find vintage patterns in this size very easily. I highly recommend Margaret Islander's shirtmaking DVD if you're going to continue making men's shirts. It will make the process SO much easier: you'll never have to decipher really bad pattern instruction again! Let's hear it for vintage!
9/16/09 9:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now