Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3875 OOP (Men's Contour Shirt) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 143 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:feldmanTcat
photo
About feldmanTcatstar
NH USA
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/09 5:37 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
What an amazing job you did. The shirt looks fantastic.
6/20/09 6:38 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart. Well done. When you're used to binding the sleeve opening you should find it easier than a conventional placket - I certainly do!
6/20/09 7:06 PM
quirkygal said...
What a great shirt!
6/20/09 7:35 PM
Renren said...
Great shirt! No wonder fiance wanted you to finish it so he could wear it to work. I've never sewn a continuous lap, but I have seen Margaret Islander demonstrate how to sew one on her shirtmaking DVD. If you can get a copy of it, I bet it will help you out immensely. I borrowed a copy from my local American Sewing Guild (you have to be a member). Check the library, too. BUT . . . your shirt is wonderful (well, your fiance's shirt) the way it is.
6/20/09 8:04 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
I love this pattern..it's one of my favorites. One of the things I love about it is the "fold" collar...not often seen these days. You did a fine job on this shirt!
6/21/09 6:39 AM
SoVintage said...
Great shirt. Nice Fit. A job well done. Kudos to you!
6/21/09 9:14 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
You would probably also enjoy Shirtmaking by David Page Coffin... book and a VHS tape and now a DVD version is out. Fascinating look at how to make real mens shirts RTW results and custom fit and very custom details. Google for his website... most informative. all that said.. GREAT SHIRT! like the color and the vintage vibes....
6/21/09 10:37 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, I really like the fabric you used on this shirt -- it looks very warm and comfy. Make life easy for yourself: if you're sewing for your fiance and he's a 38" chest, 14 1/2 neck (a standard size) choose a 38" pattern. You can find vintage patterns in this size very easily. I highly recommend Margaret Islander's shirtmaking DVD if you're going to continue making men's shirts. It will make the process SO much easier: you'll never have to decipher really bad pattern instruction again! Let's hear it for vintage!
9/16/09 9:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Folkwear 258
photo
Review by Annika on 6/28/08
Read Review

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1000 Judy Jetson
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/30/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us