SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3875 OOP (Men's Contour Shirt)

Viewed 143 times 
Reviewed by:feldmanTcat
photo

 
 
About feldmanTcatstar
NH USA
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/09 5:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
What an amazing job you did. The shirt looks fantastic.
6/20/09 6:38 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart. Well done. When you're used to binding the sleeve opening you should find it easier than a conventional placket - I certainly do!
6/20/09 7:06 PM
quirkygal said...
What a great shirt!
6/20/09 7:35 PM
Renren said...
Great shirt! No wonder fiance wanted you to finish it so he could wear it to work. I've never sewn a continuous lap, but I have seen Margaret Islander demonstrate how to sew one on her shirtmaking DVD. If you can get a copy of it, I bet it will help you out immensely. I borrowed a copy from my local American Sewing Guild (you have to be a member). Check the library, too. BUT . . . your shirt is wonderful (well, your fiance's shirt) the way it is.
6/20/09 8:04 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
I love this pattern..it's one of my favorites. One of the things I love about it is the "fold" collar...not often seen these days. You did a fine job on this shirt!
6/21/09 6:39 AM
SoVintage said...
Great shirt. Nice Fit. A job well done. Kudos to you!
6/21/09 9:14 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
You would probably also enjoy Shirtmaking by David Page Coffin... book and a VHS tape and now a DVD version is out. Fascinating look at how to make real mens shirts RTW results and custom fit and very custom details. Google for his website... most informative. all that said.. GREAT SHIRT! like the color and the vintage vibes....
6/21/09 10:37 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, I really like the fabric you used on this shirt -- it looks very warm and comfy. Make life easy for yourself: if you're sewing for your fiance and he's a 38" chest, 14 1/2 neck (a standard size) choose a 38" pattern. You can find vintage patterns in this size very easily. I highly recommend Margaret Islander's shirtmaking DVD if you're going to continue making men's shirts. It will make the process SO much easier: you'll never have to decipher really bad pattern instruction again! Let's hear it for vintage!
9/16/09 9:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Papercut Patterns 1006

photo
by: RMJ

Review
McCall's 4851

photo
by: autumnmari...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now