SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3875 OOP (Men's Contour Shirt)

Viewed 146 times 
Reviewed by:feldmanTcat
photo

 
 
About feldmanTcatstar
NH United States
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews: 21 (patterns: 21)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/09 5:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peter in NYC said... (9/16/09 9:21 PM) Reply
Hey, I really like the fabric you used on this shirt -- it looks very warm and comfy. Make life easy for yourself: if you're sewing for your fiance and he's a 38" chest, 14 1/2 neck (a standard size) choose a 38" pattern. You can find vintage patterns in this size very easily. I highly recommend Margaret Islander's shirtmaking DVD if you're going to continue making men's shirts. It will make the process SO much easier: you'll never have to decipher really bad pattern instruction again! Let's hear it for vintage!
Nancy Rhodes said... (6/21/09 10:37 AM) Reply
You would probably also enjoy Shirtmaking by David Page Coffin... book and a VHS tape and now a DVD version is out. Fascinating look at how to make real mens shirts RTW results and custom fit and very custom details. Google for his website... most informative. all that said.. GREAT SHIRT! like the color and the vintage vibes....
SoVintage said... (6/21/09 9:14 AM) Reply
Great shirt. Nice Fit. A job well done. Kudos to you!
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said... (6/21/09 6:39 AM) Reply
I love this pattern..it's one of my favorites. One of the things I love about it is the "fold" collar...not often seen these days. You did a fine job on this shirt!
renren said... (6/20/09 8:04 PM) Reply
Great shirt! No wonder fiance wanted you to finish it so he could wear it to work. I've never sewn a continuous lap, but I have seen Margaret Islander demonstrate how to sew one on her shirtmaking DVD. If you can get a copy of it, I bet it will help you out immensely. I borrowed a copy from my local American Sewing Guild (you have to be a member). Check the library, too. BUT . . . your shirt is wonderful (well, your fiance's shirt) the way it is.
quirkygal said... (6/20/09 7:35 PM) Reply
What a great shirt!
FreyaStark said... (6/20/09 7:06 PM) Reply
Very smart. Well done. When you're used to binding the sleeve opening you should find it easier than a conventional placket - I certainly do!
Peggy said... (6/20/09 6:38 PM) Reply
What an amazing job you did. The shirt looks fantastic.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 2246

photo
by: LJane

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 355971-1000

photo
by: ToileAndTr...

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details