Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2702 (Misses or Miss Petite Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 855 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/09 11:40 PM
Last Updated:6/24/09 6:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
I think you look very pretty in your dress. Sorry you don't like it.
6/23/09 11:43 PM
Elona said...
The dress is very cute, actually, but speaking as a not-very-tall, bosomy woman, I find that dresses with unconstrained fullness at or just below the bust make me appear pretty top-heavy. For this reason, not many of the current crop of patterns with yokes and gathers up top call to me.
6/24/09 0:35 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think it would also look darling layered with an underskirt (maybe in same fabric as yoke) and tied at the waist with a belt!
6/24/09 3:56 AM
BillieJean said...
I think this is cute, but I sure can relate to your statement "I'm not sure why I thought this style would look good on me." I have made so many wadders recently for the very same reason.
6/24/09 5:23 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy I think this looks very nice on you and hope you will wear it but I sure can relate to your statement "don't know why I thought this would look good on me" having just made (using expensive fabric) a top that even though DH says it looks nice on me I don't think anyone in the outside world is ever goign to see me in it - it is just now "me"
6/24/09 9:50 AM
khunter said...
The neckband placket is PERFECT! I have some fabric like this in my stash. I never thought about putting a floral print with it. It looks wonderful! You do such beautiful work.
6/24/09 12:22 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I think you look VERY nice in this dress. You fabric choices are great!
6/24/09 4:58 PM
CynthiaSue said...
The outside band is gorgeous. Doesn't look like you have problems at all with this type of neckband. I think it is a lovely dress that "tents" even on the model. I would take it in at the sides and maybe even shorten it some and maybe go sleeveless. It's the combo of the girly swing and sleeves that makes it look younger(like 10 years old on everyone, not just you.). This neckline style is so in. Don't give it up if you don't want to! Yes try cinching with belt. that's a great idea.
6/24/09 4:58 PM
Renren said...
Well, I've got to say, I'm really okay with this dress. As the temperatures soar, I don't want fabric hanging around my waist. This dress looks easy, breezy to wear and the neckline finish is just the perfect detail. Of course, how you feel in your clothes is almost everything, but I will not vote this dress off the island. Cute!
6/24/09 7:43 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for all of your comments. I'm much happier with the dress now that I took it in at the sisdes
6/24/09 8:54 PM
meli88a said...
This is a very cute dress - good save by taking in the sides!
6/24/09 9:49 PM
Bonnie123 said...
You are tooooo hard on yourself. This dress is absolutely gorgeous. It looks great on you. You did a great job. I understand that we all like a certain fit; but the dress is darling!
6/25/09 9:13 AM
Deepika said...
Really cute dress Nancy!
6/25/09 2:40 PM
sewin said...
I like it. I'm looking for a summer dress or two myself. I'm particularly looking for something loose to be comfortable in. I like it on you.
7/31/12 9:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 5778
photo
Review by SondraG on 12/21/09
Read Review

McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )
McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7257 Pattern
Burda 7257 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/3/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us