SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2702 (Misses or Miss Petite Dresses)

10 more reviews
Viewed 866 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 274
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/09 11:40 PM
Last Updated:6/24/09 6:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewin said...
I like it. I'm looking for a summer dress or two myself. I'm particularly looking for something loose to be comfortable in. I like it on you.
7/31/12 9:48 AM
Deepika said...
Really cute dress Nancy!
6/25/09 2:40 PM
Bonnie123 said...
You are tooooo hard on yourself. This dress is absolutely gorgeous. It looks great on you. You did a great job. I understand that we all like a certain fit; but the dress is darling!
6/25/09 9:13 AM
meli88a said...
This is a very cute dress - good save by taking in the sides!
6/24/09 9:49 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for all of your comments. I'm much happier with the dress now that I took it in at the sisdes
6/24/09 8:54 PM
Renren said...
Well, I've got to say, I'm really okay with this dress. As the temperatures soar, I don't want fabric hanging around my waist. This dress looks easy, breezy to wear and the neckline finish is just the perfect detail. Of course, how you feel in your clothes is almost everything, but I will not vote this dress off the island. Cute!
6/24/09 7:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
The outside band is gorgeous. Doesn't look like you have problems at all with this type of neckband. I think it is a lovely dress that "tents" even on the model. I would take it in at the sides and maybe even shorten it some and maybe go sleeveless. It's the combo of the girly swing and sleeves that makes it look younger(like 10 years old on everyone, not just you.). This neckline style is so in. Don't give it up if you don't want to! Yes try cinching with belt. that's a great idea.
6/24/09 4:58 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I think you look VERY nice in this dress. You fabric choices are great!
6/24/09 4:58 PM
khunter said...
The neckband placket is PERFECT! I have some fabric like this in my stash. I never thought about putting a floral print with it. It looks wonderful! You do such beautiful work.
6/24/09 12:22 PM
carolynw said...
Nancy I think this looks very nice on you and hope you will wear it but I sure can relate to your statement "don't know why I thought this would look good on me" having just made (using expensive fabric) a top that even though DH says it looks nice on me I don't think anyone in the outside world is ever goign to see me in it - it is just now "me"
6/24/09 9:50 AM
BillieJean said...
I think this is cute, but I sure can relate to your statement "I'm not sure why I thought this style would look good on me." I have made so many wadders recently for the very same reason.
6/24/09 5:23 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think it would also look darling layered with an underskirt (maybe in same fabric as yoke) and tied at the waist with a belt!
6/24/09 3:56 AM
Elona said...
The dress is very cute, actually, but speaking as a not-very-tall, bosomy woman, I find that dresses with unconstrained fullness at or just below the bust make me appear pretty top-heavy. For this reason, not many of the current crop of patterns with yokes and gathers up top call to me.
6/24/09 0:35 AM
sewtime said...
I think you look very pretty in your dress. Sorry you don't like it.
6/23/09 11:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1005

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Burda 7735

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

More Info
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

More Info