SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

161 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo

 
 
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/25/09 6:20 AM
Last Updated:6/25/09 5:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sallygirl said...
Bless you for being the first guinea pig. I'm eager to hear the outcome after all your hard work. You inspire me to be more persevering!
6/24/09 8:41 PM
wreninrome said...
wow! way to go...you are very brave
6/25/09 6:38 AM
chelsy21 said...
I love the contrasting fabric! These look great! Good job!
6/25/09 6:59 AM
betsyross said...
Great story, interesting review. For someone who doesn't know anything about pattern alterations, I think you are well on your way to being an expert!
6/25/09 7:09 AM
donna mel said...
great review, and the pants came out really well! you've learned a ton and have a new pair of pants...what more can you ask for?
6/25/09 7:26 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your determination is inspiring! Fun to read review... loved the part about the blue grass growing in the carpet.... Keep at it! You will win the battle of the needle....
6/25/09 7:57 AM
Jatman said...
Incredibly cute! Love the fabric you used and really nice fit!
6/25/09 8:13 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
These jeans are certainly a testament to your fortitude...GREAT JOB!!! You have forged the way and I know others have eagerly aniticipated a review of this pattern in non-stretch denim. Great, great review and you turned out a stylish, well-fitting pair of jeans!
6/25/09 8:38 AM
Sallygirl said...
Awesome job! I love your contrasting pockets. What an inspiring review! I love your last paragraph -- describes sewists to a tee -- all worn out and ready to do it all over again. Thanks for including all the information you did. It was super helpful!
6/25/09 8:38 AM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for all the details. The jeans look great and I LOVE your contrast pockets!
6/25/09 8:45 AM
Bonnie123 said...
You did a great job. You are a true Sewer/Seamstress because you took on this project knowing that you would have to alter it because of the non-strecth denim. Nontheless, you did a fantastic job and these jeans can be marketed! :)
6/25/09 9:02 AM
becca a said...
Wow, your jeans look great! I was dubious about making these jeans in nonstretch fabric after Emilie emailed me that the pattern hadn't been tested for nonstretch denim and she didn't think they would be comfortable. Thank you for taking on this project and reviewing it. You have inspired me to try a nonstretch pair too!
6/25/09 10:05 AM
Michelle L said...
Thanks for a fantastic review. In spite of everything, I think your jeans are really, really cute! I love te contrast fabric, and given your struggles, the fit is great. I really like the v-shaped waist band in the back, it is done so well, it looks like you did it deliberately.
6/25/09 10:14 AM
Deepika said...
As I was reading your review I was thinking to myself, maybe she just started with a bigger size... and that's what it is. You perseverance is commendable. You made these work for you and they look great. I enjoyed reading your review too!
6/25/09 2:39 PM
Raye Ann said...
your determination is commendable:) thank you for being the first to test this "non-stretch" issue with everyone's fav jean pattern. maybe one day i will tackle it... i recently bought about 5 yds of designer denim remnant, non-stretch, so we will see...
6/25/09 5:23 PM
khunter said...
so cute! I'm not a fan of stretch denim. I don't really know why, but it just doesn't look good on me...Love your review, I might try t his pattern.
6/25/09 9:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Your jeans look great and your review is very helpful. Btw a quik-unpick is also known as a seam ripper.
6/26/09 7:09 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jeans look great.
6/27/09 8:30 AM
Athene said...
You jeans are great. Thank you so much for such a great and informative review. All the work you have done is truly inspirational to me.
1/16/10 1:07 PM
Bambi Lynne said...
What an experience! I don't think I would have had the persistence you had. IMHO I would say that yes, you should have started out with a smaller size. It's my understanding that using the hip measurement is most accurate, although you were trying to compensate for non-stretch denim. To me, every garment I make is a learning experience! I'm waiting for my Jalie jeans pattern to arrive so soon I will have my turn to try it out. Thanks for sharing!
2/10/10 12:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now