SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3300 (Bra)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1300 times 
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/09 6:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
colourbynumber said...
There is a bra making buzz going on. I do the the clean lines on the style!
6/27/09 6:38 AM
dbsewer said...
Beautiful bra. It looks very chic on you. I have been searching for a pattern. I'm a 32F in a European size and it's very hard to find. Thanks for the tutorial links. They will come in handy.
6/27/09 8:21 AM
Nancy K said...
This looks like a rtw bra and is really flattering. The question is, does this bra also work for larger busts? They seem to assume that if you are a larger cup you are also a larger band size. The only DD cup is available only in the size 38 band.
6/27/09 9:52 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Nancy: Good point. I do think that it's pretty easily adaptable to using a smaller size band, but then again maybe it's better to use a pattern that is properly designed for larger cups with smaller band sizes. E-lingeria for instance has patterns for larger cups with a similar slanted design from other companies.
6/27/09 10:13 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
OH My! great results... now the only thing I can shop for is soon going to be shoes, and I am sure somebody here on PR is sewing those too. I am very impressed with your beautiful garment and that you are so generously sharing the pic. I am encouraged to give this a go. I will check out E-lingeria for assistance. Thank you sew much!
6/27/09 12:26 PM
JoanneM said...
This looks great. I have tried this pattern also and I agree with all your dislikes and likes. Other than elingeria,there are few locations here in the U.S that sell all bra making supplies! Looks great!
6/27/09 12:54 PM
morzel said...
Great bra! Clean and simple yet elegant design- just up my alley. Thanks for this good review.
6/27/09 2:05 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Fantastic bra! Thanks for the helpful review too. I'm not quite up to making my own bras yet..but seeing results like this one...I am getting there! ;)
6/27/09 3:50 PM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful result. I've seen a few lately on the lingerie sew along too, and it looks like sizing is good for a lot of different sizes. Glad you found my tutorials helpful.
6/27/09 4:41 PM
kim*brown said...
Perfect fit!
6/27/09 7:29 PM
Renee' S said...
Johanna your bra looks beautiful and the fit looks perfect. I hope it's comfortable and feels as good as it looks. I'm going to try this same pattern as soon as my order from Sew Sassy arrives. Once I've made a bra or two I'll think about a kit from E-lingeria, they have some beautiful fabric/lace combinations.
6/27/09 7:59 PM
Nancywin said...
Johanna - I recently have made this bra twice and am very happy with it too. I like what you did with the upper cups. I agree, I would have liked to have had instructions for how to do the channeling in the guide sheet.
6/28/09 2:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, this is the most beautiful bra I've ever seen! Modern indeed..it's a work of art. You're right about the instructions not reflecting modern materials. But you know, some people were happy that this bra shows how to do without channeling and formal straps and everything, because there are very few places in the world where you can get this kind of thing. Even now that we have the net and therefore some access, it's still not entirely straightforward to have all the notions you need on hand. So a combination of instructions is actually a better balance to cover everyone.
6/28/09 3:18 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Thank you everyone for the lovely comments! And for those who are yet to make their own bra, trust me it's much easier than it looks! And Fuzzygalore: You are absolutely right, I didn't mean that one should exclude the other, only that they should have included instructions for pre made channeling as well.
6/28/09 4:49 AM
DorothyK said...
Your bra is beautiful and a perfect fit. I've always felt that, of all things, it probably pays most to make a bra, because you can customize the fit. However, I would never have thought it was actually possible for ordinary mortals to do. Now I might try it. Thanks for your excellent review.
6/28/09 9:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Yours looks great! I love how you customised it with the power mesh and the self straps. Very hot! :P
6/28/09 10:27 AM
MadeByMeg said...
thanks for your review on this! I am sewing this up and love it when people in my size can comment on a pattern. Double D cups I am not!
3/8/13 2:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: CJgal

Review
McCall's 4286

photo
by: Thomasina4...

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now