Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1721 (Jacket, Dress or Jumper) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 286 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:sueinfl
photo
About sueinfl
FL USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/09 11:42 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Kski said...
I REALLY like what you did with your "ugly" fabric. The pairing of the two fabrics are works great and the overall color is very "in" right now. What a transformation from the original picture to the final garments. Good luck with the contest!
6/28/09 1:40 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great choice of ugly fabric! At first, I thought it was old drapery fabric from the 60's.
6/28/09 8:11 PM
Oceanpeg said...
It does look like curtain/drapery fabric. I like the way it looks with the matching fabric and being worn as a set as you have done with it.
6/29/09 1:00 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Great job! This looks great. How lovely to remember your mother in this way, I think that is so sweet and so gorgeous what you have done with it.
6/29/09 2:25 AM
Woolygal said...
Wow, a vintage pattern that looks so up to the minute. I love it.
6/29/09 7:27 AM
barbcl said...
Looks fantastic in really great fabrics. I like the contrast/matching of the fabrics, which really add a couture touch. Anything but ugly!
6/29/09 10:49 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Your fabric is indeed ugly all alone. However, once you sewed it into this beautiful cardigan, it is lovely.
6/30/09 12:36 PM
sewfossy said...
I love how this turned out!
6/30/09 1:11 PM
petro said...
This looks really clasy, not at all 'ugly'. I can see why you fell for the vibrant colour, the textured surface works with that toning plain.
7/2/09 4:05 PM
AnneM said...
Ok, I believe! That was an ugly fabric (or at least, I would have had a hard time figuring out what to do with it). But your outfit is NOT ugly at all. The texture of the fabric makes a great jacket, and it was perfect that you found the matching solid fabric.
7/2/09 6:37 PM
RuthieSews said...
Great jacket, great vision! really love it (I am really into vibrant green this year!)
7/4/09 2:36 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
My new favorite color is lime green and all it's near kissin' cousin of apple, and kiwi and on and on, I love your 'results' and a swan has emerged... you have my vote.ll
7/6/09 10:21 PM
CarolynGM said...
Pairing your "ugly" fabric with a solid and using a simple style resulted in a very attractive pair of garments.
7/7/09 7:26 AM
pterion said...
you transformed that ugly fabric! Very nice jacket - I'd totally wear that.
7/7/09 4:14 PM
Moxie Carol said...
Yikes! I remember this fabric from the 60s - only in orange! It was ugly on windows, much less to wear it! What a simple and fabulous transformation you made of it - makes me wish I had those old orange curtains...
7/11/09 2:22 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
What fun to see how your vision for this "yucky" fabric came to life. I love these colors - so much so I have a large and small leather bag in it, shoes and most recently earrings. It's a great color and your outfit turned out super. Way to go!
7/20/09 6:59 AM
SondraG said...
I love it! The fabric is indeed an odd color and style, but you picked an excellent way to use it.
7/20/09 12:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2005-117 Moto jacket
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5415
photo
Review by Anniinbc on 12/20/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us