SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1721 (Jacket, Dress or Jumper)

Viewed 287 times 
Reviewed by:sueinfl
photo

 
 
About sueinfl
FL USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/09 11:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SondraG said...
I love it! The fabric is indeed an odd color and style, but you picked an excellent way to use it.
7/20/09 12:00 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
What fun to see how your vision for this "yucky" fabric came to life. I love these colors - so much so I have a large and small leather bag in it, shoes and most recently earrings. It's a great color and your outfit turned out super. Way to go!
7/20/09 6:59 AM
Moxie Carol said...
Yikes! I remember this fabric from the 60s - only in orange! It was ugly on windows, much less to wear it! What a simple and fabulous transformation you made of it - makes me wish I had those old orange curtains...
7/11/09 2:22 PM
pterion said...
you transformed that ugly fabric! Very nice jacket - I'd totally wear that.
7/7/09 4:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
Pairing your "ugly" fabric with a solid and using a simple style resulted in a very attractive pair of garments.
7/7/09 7:26 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
My new favorite color is lime green and all it's near kissin' cousin of apple, and kiwi and on and on, I love your 'results' and a swan has emerged... you have my vote.ll
7/6/09 10:21 PM
RuthieSews said...
Great jacket, great vision! really love it (I am really into vibrant green this year!)
7/4/09 2:36 PM
AnneM said...
Ok, I believe! That was an ugly fabric (or at least, I would have had a hard time figuring out what to do with it). But your outfit is NOT ugly at all. The texture of the fabric makes a great jacket, and it was perfect that you found the matching solid fabric.
7/2/09 6:37 PM
petro said...
This looks really clasy, not at all 'ugly'. I can see why you fell for the vibrant colour, the textured surface works with that toning plain.
7/2/09 4:05 PM
sewfossy said...
I love how this turned out!
6/30/09 1:11 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your fabric is indeed ugly all alone. However, once you sewed it into this beautiful cardigan, it is lovely.
6/30/09 12:36 PM
barbcl said...
Looks fantastic in really great fabrics. I like the contrast/matching of the fabrics, which really add a couture touch. Anything but ugly!
6/29/09 10:49 AM
Woolygal said...
Wow, a vintage pattern that looks so up to the minute. I love it.
6/29/09 7:27 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Great job! This looks great. How lovely to remember your mother in this way, I think that is so sweet and so gorgeous what you have done with it.
6/29/09 2:25 AM
Oceanpeg said...
It does look like curtain/drapery fabric. I like the way it looks with the matching fabric and being worn as a set as you have done with it.
6/29/09 1:00 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great choice of ugly fabric! At first, I thought it was old drapery fabric from the 60's.
6/28/09 8:11 PM
Judy Kski said...
I REALLY like what you did with your "ugly" fabric. The pairing of the two fabrics are works great and the overall color is very "in" right now. What a transformation from the original picture to the final garments. Good luck with the contest!
6/28/09 1:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Burda 7447

photo
by: Lori V

Review
McCall's 5662

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now