SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1721 (Jacket, Dress or Jumper)

Viewed 287 times 
Reviewed by:sueinfl
photo

 
 
About sueinfl
FL USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/09 11:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Kski said...
I REALLY like what you did with your "ugly" fabric. The pairing of the two fabrics are works great and the overall color is very "in" right now. What a transformation from the original picture to the final garments. Good luck with the contest!
6/28/09 1:40 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great choice of ugly fabric! At first, I thought it was old drapery fabric from the 60's.
6/28/09 8:11 PM
Oceanpeg said...
It does look like curtain/drapery fabric. I like the way it looks with the matching fabric and being worn as a set as you have done with it.
6/29/09 1:00 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Great job! This looks great. How lovely to remember your mother in this way, I think that is so sweet and so gorgeous what you have done with it.
6/29/09 2:25 AM
Woolygal said...
Wow, a vintage pattern that looks so up to the minute. I love it.
6/29/09 7:27 AM
barbcl said...
Looks fantastic in really great fabrics. I like the contrast/matching of the fabrics, which really add a couture touch. Anything but ugly!
6/29/09 10:49 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Your fabric is indeed ugly all alone. However, once you sewed it into this beautiful cardigan, it is lovely.
6/30/09 12:36 PM
sewfossy said...
I love how this turned out!
6/30/09 1:11 PM
petro said...
This looks really clasy, not at all 'ugly'. I can see why you fell for the vibrant colour, the textured surface works with that toning plain.
7/2/09 4:05 PM
AnneM said...
Ok, I believe! That was an ugly fabric (or at least, I would have had a hard time figuring out what to do with it). But your outfit is NOT ugly at all. The texture of the fabric makes a great jacket, and it was perfect that you found the matching solid fabric.
7/2/09 6:37 PM
RuthieSews said...
Great jacket, great vision! really love it (I am really into vibrant green this year!)
7/4/09 2:36 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
My new favorite color is lime green and all it's near kissin' cousin of apple, and kiwi and on and on, I love your 'results' and a swan has emerged... you have my vote.ll
7/6/09 10:21 PM
CarolynGM said...
Pairing your "ugly" fabric with a solid and using a simple style resulted in a very attractive pair of garments.
7/7/09 7:26 AM
pterion said...
you transformed that ugly fabric! Very nice jacket - I'd totally wear that.
7/7/09 4:14 PM
Moxie Carol said...
Yikes! I remember this fabric from the 60s - only in orange! It was ugly on windows, much less to wear it! What a simple and fabulous transformation you made of it - makes me wish I had those old orange curtains...
7/11/09 2:22 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
What fun to see how your vision for this "yucky" fabric came to life. I love these colors - so much so I have a large and small leather bag in it, shoes and most recently earrings. It's a great color and your outfit turned out super. Way to go!
7/20/09 6:59 AM
SondraG said...
I love it! The fabric is indeed an odd color and style, but you picked an excellent way to use it.
7/20/09 12:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-111

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now