Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: MSB154(79/174) (Spring/Summer Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 469 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:poplin
photo
About poplinstar
WA USA
Member since: 5/28/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/09 8:10 PM
Last Updated:1/31/10 0:41 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Your dress looks great! You did a wonderful job with the border print fabric too. I bet this is a cool, comfy dress for summer!
6/30/09 9:28 PM
Dee2 said...
Love this dress! I really like the layout of the fabric too--great job!
6/30/09 9:41 PM
Jali said...
I love your use of this fabric for this pattern. I don't have the issue but can imagine what the sleeve drafting was like. Well done on the hodgepodge of it all!
7/1/09 1:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely! I like it very much as it is, but it would also be fun in other fabrics, such as fine prints.
7/1/09 4:14 AM
nicegirl said...
I love the way you used the print on the collar. Nice job!
7/1/09 9:41 AM
marec said...
I have always admired this style of dress. Your dress looks cool, interesting, and not too "girly". It's very nice.
7/1/09 11:11 AM
Kay Y said...
Another great effort from MSB! I did not notice this dress in the magazine - another reason to look at it again! I love the print you used, your placement of the border at the tip of the collar is inspired.
7/1/09 12:30 PM
ALY said...
I love the way you used the border print on this dress, I actually thought you had added matching sequins or embroidery to match the polka dot fabric.
7/1/09 5:55 PM
donna mel said...
so adorable. i wish i had this pattern!
7/1/09 8:42 PM
whirrclunk said...
Looks great, the border print on the collar is brilliant!
7/2/09 6:07 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I think we all agree: the collar placement was inspired! Very cute dress, perfect for the weather we are having right now. Hope your winter is not too unbearable!
1/31/10 1:06 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is fabulous. Truly creative use of fabric.
2/1/10 9:49 AM
ZuleikaD said...
Very cute on you and a good, detailed review! As for white linen -- linen is totally washable, so just be sure to shrink the bejeebus out of it before you cut. Hot water wash & hot dry. I might even do it twice if you plan to put the finished item in the dryer instead of line dry. Otherwise, it's just like white cotton -- hot water and a little Oxyclean keeps it nice. Line dry in the sun, if you can. The more you wash it, the softer it gets and the less it wrinkles.
2/21/10 3:44 PM
Mufffet said...
You have done so nicely with so many Stylebook patterns, that's for sure! Now that I have seen them, I know that the math will just be way to much for me! I really enjoy your reviews! m:)
5/31/11 0:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6674
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6003 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by ak21 on 10/9/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us