SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2977 (Threads Magazine collection)

26 more reviews
Viewed 894 times 
Reviewed by:tourist
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About touriststar
BC CANADA
Member since: 7/23/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/09 1:01 PM
Last Updated:7/15/09 3:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Auntie Allyn said...
Looks gorgeous -- and you'll look fabulous on the ballroom floor!
7/1/09 1:38 PM
Em's Summer said...
Beautiful dancing dress!
7/1/09 1:40 PM
colormefun said...
All the work it took to for the appliques and crystals was worth it!
7/1/09 2:35 PM
Christas said...
Gorgeous dress!
7/1/09 2:38 PM
Laurie Lou said...
OK....It is a work of art but next time take pix of the progress. Your review sounds so interesting but confuses me with the miniskirt and leotard. Is taht under the dress? Anyway it will be fun to see the next one too and GOOD luck at the competition!
7/1/09 2:52 PM
Leora said...
Gorgeous dress!
7/1/09 3:19 PM
Athene said...
So very beautiful - good luck in the ballroom dancing competition.
7/1/09 9:13 PM
Raye Ann said...
great dress and good luck in the competition!
7/1/09 10:58 PM
morzel said...
Would have never thought about a regular pattern for a ball gown - it turned out great! You will look wonderful on that competition floor.
7/2/09 1:57 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely dress! Good luck at your comptetition!
7/2/09 7:41 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very creative! I love the embellishments on the dress and the arm pieces you made. Good luck!
7/2/09 8:14 AM
tourist said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. I forgot to say that I added large godets between some of the princess seams to make the hemline wider. I would have put them in every seam but ran out of fabric. This was actually thrift store fabric I bought to make muslins - $7.50. The organza was inexpensive and the crystals not so much. :-)
7/2/09 10:28 AM
marec said...
My gosh! That is beautiful. Good luck in Portland.
7/2/09 11:09 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you are already a winner for sewing such a fantastic dress. One of my friends has made a few of her competition gowns so I know something about how challenging this is. bravo!!
7/2/09 6:44 PM
SheBear0320 said...
I have been following your progress in the making of this dress and I must say it has turned out absolutely fantastic. You did an awesome job and should be very proud of yourself. Good luck in the competition in Portland next week.
7/2/09 9:50 PM
tourist said...
Thanks for the comment, SheBear. You have been unbelievably helpful with this project. Thank you!
7/3/09 10:02 AM
GlButterfly said...
You can be very proud of this dress. It's gorgeous in an outstanding color. Good luck in the competition.
7/7/09 1:59 AM
waltzqueen said...
Really nice gown! I'll bet it dances like a dream. I hope you did well in the competition. I competed until about 3 years ago and the best part was definitely the gowns!! OH, and the eyelashes.
7/15/09 3:34 PM
tourist said...
Thanks everyone. We did achieve our main goal, which was to not come last;-) The dress did dance like a dream, and when I see the photos with false eyelashes and ALL that makeup, I feel very, very pale IRL. Could I swap my 2 minutes a day makeup routine for a 90 minute routine.....? LOL
7/15/09 3:39 PM
tr1c14 said...
Wow, what a fabulous dress - and I'm glad you met your competition goal.
7/15/09 4:51 PM
Jolet said...
Lovely dress! I hope you've got high remarks for the dancing last weekend!
7/16/09 5:00 AM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful work...Love the details
5/19/10 12:43 PM
DNyght said...
Oh, this is beautiful! You two look wonderful together! (And every bit as classy looking as the professional dresses I've seen on the floor.)
2/25/11 3:09 PM
Scheri said...
Congratulations...I am sure you will dance into the winners circle with this beautiful dress
2/25/11 5:27 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Now I get to see what the whole dress looks like, and it's GORGEOUS!! Fabulous design. And all of the work--you're awesome.
4/10/11 10:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member