Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2977 (Threads Magazine collection) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 885 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:tourist
photo
Friend of PR
About touriststar
BC CANADA
Member since: 7/23/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/09 1:01 PM
Last Updated:7/15/09 3:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Auntie Allyn said...
Looks gorgeous -- and you'll look fabulous on the ballroom floor!
7/1/09 1:38 PM
Em's Summer said...
Beautiful dancing dress!
7/1/09 1:40 PM
colormefun said...
All the work it took to for the appliques and crystals was worth it!
7/1/09 2:35 PM
Christas said...
Gorgeous dress!
7/1/09 2:38 PM
Laurie Lou said...
OK....It is a work of art but next time take pix of the progress. Your review sounds so interesting but confuses me with the miniskirt and leotard. Is taht under the dress? Anyway it will be fun to see the next one too and GOOD luck at the competition!
7/1/09 2:52 PM
Leora said...
Gorgeous dress!
7/1/09 3:19 PM
Athene said...
So very beautiful - good luck in the ballroom dancing competition.
7/1/09 9:13 PM
Raye Ann said...
great dress and good luck in the competition!
7/1/09 10:58 PM
morzel said...
Would have never thought about a regular pattern for a ball gown - it turned out great! You will look wonderful on that competition floor.
7/2/09 1:57 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely dress! Good luck at your comptetition!
7/2/09 7:41 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very creative! I love the embellishments on the dress and the arm pieces you made. Good luck!
7/2/09 8:14 AM
tourist said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. I forgot to say that I added large godets between some of the princess seams to make the hemline wider. I would have put them in every seam but ran out of fabric. This was actually thrift store fabric I bought to make muslins - $7.50. The organza was inexpensive and the crystals not so much. :-)
7/2/09 10:28 AM
marec said...
My gosh! That is beautiful. Good luck in Portland.
7/2/09 11:09 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you are already a winner for sewing such a fantastic dress. One of my friends has made a few of her competition gowns so I know something about how challenging this is. bravo!!
7/2/09 6:44 PM
SheBear0320 said...
I have been following your progress in the making of this dress and I must say it has turned out absolutely fantastic. You did an awesome job and should be very proud of yourself. Good luck in the competition in Portland next week.
7/2/09 9:50 PM
tourist said...
Thanks for the comment, SheBear. You have been unbelievably helpful with this project. Thank you!
7/3/09 10:02 AM
GlButterfly said...
You can be very proud of this dress. It's gorgeous in an outstanding color. Good luck in the competition.
7/7/09 1:59 AM
waltzqueen said...
Really nice gown! I'll bet it dances like a dream. I hope you did well in the competition. I competed until about 3 years ago and the best part was definitely the gowns!! OH, and the eyelashes.
7/15/09 3:34 PM
tourist said...
Thanks everyone. We did achieve our main goal, which was to not come last;-) The dress did dance like a dream, and when I see the photos with false eyelashes and ALL that makeup, I feel very, very pale IRL. Could I swap my 2 minutes a day makeup routine for a 90 minute routine.....? LOL
7/15/09 3:39 PM
tr1c14 said...
Wow, what a fabulous dress - and I'm glad you met your competition goal.
7/15/09 4:51 PM
Jolet said...
Lovely dress! I hope you've got high remarks for the dancing last weekend!
7/16/09 5:00 AM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful work...Love the details
5/19/10 12:43 PM
DNyght said...
Oh, this is beautiful! You two look wonderful together! (And every bit as classy looking as the professional dresses I've seen on the floor.)
2/25/11 3:09 PM
Scheri said...
Congratulations...I am sure you will dance into the winners circle with this beautiful dress
2/25/11 5:27 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Now I get to see what the whole dress looks like, and it's GORGEOUS!! Fabulous design. And all of the work--you're awesome.
4/10/11 10:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other 0000
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5398
photo
Review by JDpenelope on 12/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us