SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET)

60 more reviews
Viewed 820 times 
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo

 
 
About LindsayTstarstarstar
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/09 12:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Erica B. said...
Lindsay, your jacket is gorgeous! I can't get enough of Chanel jackets! I want to make another one for the Fall. Yours is such great inspiration!
7/2/09 12:57 PM
Terri Smith said...
This is so nice. Thank you for the great tips on the sleeves and the petersham. Did you mark your pocket placement when you cut your fabric or did you try to mark the pockets after construction? I never seem to get the pockets even and would like to know how others accomplish this task.
7/2/09 1:03 PM
LindsayT said...
Terri, I marked and applied the pockets before I added the lining. This works for me. One trick is to place the pockets on one side, chalk them up, then place the other side directly on top so the chalk rubs off and indicates pocket placement. In this case, I eyeballed it. Big pain, though.
7/2/09 1:10 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful summer jacket. I love this pattern, too. What method did you use to remove the sleeve-cap ease?
7/2/09 1:20 PM
Christas said...
What an absolutely gorgeous jacket!
7/2/09 7:16 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket! The combination of fabric and trim is perfect. Beautiful!!!
7/2/09 9:06 PM
Catbird said...
What a great summer jacket! It looks fantastic on you. I like your tip about the pocket placement and hope to hear how you dealt with the excess sleeve cap ease. There is a lot of conflicting information about this. Well done!
7/2/09 9:07 PM
redhotpepper said...
So funny, I just bought this pattern today and here is your lovely jacket and review! Love the white and navy.
7/2/09 10:40 PM
cmarie12 said...
I saw this in person and it is sooooo lovely! LT, I didn't realize that all of these came from 7975! I've really got to try that pattern!
7/3/09 0:22 AM
morzel said...
This is such a stylish jacket! Great idea for summer, a jeansjacket/blouse/chaneljacket crossover.
7/3/09 4:32 AM
LindsayT said...
To answer how I dealt with excess ease at the top of my sleeve caps, I basically just basted, fit, rebasted, trimmed excess and stitched until I got the fit I was looking for. That's it, no magic tips, other than silk thread is wonderful for basting. I'm so glad you all like my jacket.
7/3/09 7:55 AM
Fran G said...
How inspiring and motivating! Thanks for the review. Is there a place where we can read about attaching the pockets ala' Marj?
7/3/09 8:20 AM
carolynw said...
Very, very nice - this pattern is a definite TNT in my stash - sytle is right on and can be adapted so many many ways
7/3/09 9:02 AM
becca a said...
Your jacket is beautiful and so Chanel.
7/3/09 9:20 AM
HLT said...
This is so timeless! Great tips! Love that you did not use any facing!
7/3/09 9:35 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Just one word......PERFECT !
7/4/09 6:57 AM
Jane S said...
Love your new jacket, so light and comfy for summer but also so very stylish.
7/6/09 10:28 AM
Karen6790 said...
When you get tired of this (like that's going to happen!) you can just bundle it up and send it on down to me. It's perfect.
7/8/09 11:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-102

photo
by: AlyssaJS

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now