Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4914 (Maggy London Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 950 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/09 4:35 PM
Last Updated:7/13/09 3:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
What a great dress. You look lovely in it; the fit and fabric are perfect.
7/4/09 4:40 PM
Time4me said...
Super nice dress on you! Are you at home and if so, CAN I COME OVER?!?!?!? Nice yard too!
7/4/09 4:47 PM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful dress, great style - it really suits you.
7/4/09 4:59 PM
Tiner W said...
That is such a beautiful dress!
7/4/09 5:24 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great dress!
7/4/09 6:25 PM
nellc said...
Really nice dress, I love the fabric you have used.
7/4/09 6:32 PM
AdaF said...
Very flattering on your figure (and of course, great job on the workmanship). Thanks for the review! I will add it to my wish list ;) .
7/4/09 7:11 PM
Kelly D. said...
This pattern has been in the stash for some time waiting for the right fabric. You inspire me to make it up this summer! Lovely dress. Can't wait to see where you go from here style-wise if you're done with surplice dresses! ;-)
7/4/09 7:30 PM
greenandlilac said...
Looks great on you
7/4/09 7:31 PM
mdeeter said...
Your dress is so pretty! I have this pattern sitting out to make...I think it's jumped to the top thanks to you!
7/4/09 7:40 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty; great fabric choice. I love Maggy London dresses and I need to get me one of these. This dress is very pretty and feminine on you.
7/4/09 7:53 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I love your dress. I have just bought fabric to make this dress and enjoyed your review. thank you!
7/4/09 8:34 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress!!! Fabric and fit!!!
7/4/09 8:48 PM
Sweetiebop said...
You look lovely in your new dress.
7/5/09 0:02 AM
Kayseri said...
Lovely looking dress.
7/5/09 0:35 AM
Ann Smith said...
Such a lovely dress and it fits you perfectly. Your garden makes the perfect setting for it.
7/5/09 2:00 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful dress and great fit.
7/5/09 2:59 AM
Maychi said...
Lovely, very flattering.
7/5/09 5:30 AM
marjenann said...
Now that is what a call a pulled together look!!! Smashing!!!
7/5/09 9:11 AM
Lori V said...
Great dress.
7/5/09 9:12 AM
ALY said...
Very pretty dress. It looks so nice on you.
7/5/09 9:22 AM
jilly cooper said...
Love the dress on you. That shirred waist looks great and the fabric is perfect. Well done.
7/5/09 9:50 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! Great fit and fabric. This really shows off your great figure!
7/5/09 10:11 AM
Christas said...
Please pack this dress up and send it to ME! I love it! LOL! I have made this pattern before (mine did not turn out anywhere near as cute as yours did) ..... yours is WONDERFUL!
7/5/09 10:47 AM
zazzie said...
I absolutely love this !
7/5/09 12:34 PM
betsyross said...
I have this pattern too. It seems to look great on everyone. Love the fabric. You look wonderfully comfortable wearing this dress. Thanks for the review.
7/5/09 2:53 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is beautiful. i am wondering about matching pattern on a dress cut like this. did you labor over the matching, or does it fall into place a look this fantastic without the fussing? i have a large scale knit print and have been wondering.
7/5/09 4:14 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you fellow sewists for all your comments. Raye Ann, Good quesiton. I didn't think to address this in the review, but I did spend some time with placement of the bodice pieces so as not to have a bullseye right where I didn't want it. At the sewing retreat Ann Smith reminded me of that and helped me decide if it looked right. Other than that I cut the other pattern pieces randomly, just all in the same direction. It depends on the fabric. Most likely a large random print will work itself into the garment sections with no problems, but you may still want to check to make sure that no two distinct designs meet up right at an obvious seam.
7/5/09 4:48 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Such a flattering dress! You look beautiful & so does your yard!!! I love both!!!
7/5/09 5:32 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty and flattering dress on you! I love the print as well.
7/5/09 6:25 PM
DorothyK said...
This dress is fabulous. Perfect cut, shape and fabric for you. I guess I'll have to add this to my wish list.
7/6/09 8:58 AM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely beautiful, Barbara! You sure know how to enable others to buy more patterns...
7/12/09 3:37 AM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous dress.
7/13/09 4:43 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
This dress is stunning on you! I was eyeballing this pattern over the weekend and may move it closer to the front of my "to sew" list!
7/13/09 6:02 PM
sewbehind said...
I can't decide what I like best, your garden or the dress. Okay, the dress! It suits you perfectly.
7/13/09 6:03 PM
busymomof3 said...
Your dress looks great on you!! I love your creations!
7/13/09 6:10 PM
nancyc said...
Very pretty dress! I have this pattern, and you have reminded me that I want to make it. Thanks!
7/13/09 8:04 PM
Sallygirl said...
What a great dress! I love the fabric, and it fits you like a dream!
7/13/09 8:54 PM
Rhoda K said...
Looks great.
7/13/09 9:40 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE dress!! I absolutely LOVE that fabric!!! You look BEAUTIFUL in your new dress!!!
7/14/09 1:00 AM
Levone said...
This dress is gorgeous and fits you perfectly. Great job!
7/14/09 11:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us