SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 962 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/09 4:35 PM
Last Updated:7/13/09 3:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
This dress is gorgeous and fits you perfectly. Great job!
7/14/09 11:54 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE dress!! I absolutely LOVE that fabric!!! You look BEAUTIFUL in your new dress!!!
7/14/09 1:00 AM
Rhoda K said...
Looks great.
7/13/09 9:40 PM
Sallygirl said...
What a great dress! I love the fabric, and it fits you like a dream!
7/13/09 8:54 PM
nancyc said...
Very pretty dress! I have this pattern, and you have reminded me that I want to make it. Thanks!
7/13/09 8:04 PM
busymomof3 said...
Your dress looks great on you!! I love your creations!
7/13/09 6:10 PM
sewbehind said...
I can't decide what I like best, your garden or the dress. Okay, the dress! It suits you perfectly.
7/13/09 6:03 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
This dress is stunning on you! I was eyeballing this pattern over the weekend and may move it closer to the front of my "to sew" list!
7/13/09 6:02 PM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous dress.
7/13/09 4:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely beautiful, Barbara! You sure know how to enable others to buy more patterns...
7/12/09 3:37 AM
DorothyK said...
This dress is fabulous. Perfect cut, shape and fabric for you. I guess I'll have to add this to my wish list.
7/6/09 8:58 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty and flattering dress on you! I love the print as well.
7/5/09 6:25 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Such a flattering dress! You look beautiful & so does your yard!!! I love both!!!
7/5/09 5:32 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you fellow sewists for all your comments. Raye Ann, Good quesiton. I didn't think to address this in the review, but I did spend some time with placement of the bodice pieces so as not to have a bullseye right where I didn't want it. At the sewing retreat Ann Smith reminded me of that and helped me decide if it looked right. Other than that I cut the other pattern pieces randomly, just all in the same direction. It depends on the fabric. Most likely a large random print will work itself into the garment sections with no problems, but you may still want to check to make sure that no two distinct designs meet up right at an obvious seam.
7/5/09 4:48 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is beautiful. i am wondering about matching pattern on a dress cut like this. did you labor over the matching, or does it fall into place a look this fantastic without the fussing? i have a large scale knit print and have been wondering.
7/5/09 4:14 PM
betsyross said...
I have this pattern too. It seems to look great on everyone. Love the fabric. You look wonderfully comfortable wearing this dress. Thanks for the review.
7/5/09 2:53 PM
zazzie said...
I absolutely love this !
7/5/09 12:34 PM
Christas said...
Please pack this dress up and send it to ME! I love it! LOL! I have made this pattern before (mine did not turn out anywhere near as cute as yours did) ..... yours is WONDERFUL!
7/5/09 10:47 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! Great fit and fabric. This really shows off your great figure!
7/5/09 10:11 AM
jilly cooper said...
Love the dress on you. That shirred waist looks great and the fabric is perfect. Well done.
7/5/09 9:50 AM
ALY said...
Very pretty dress. It looks so nice on you.
7/5/09 9:22 AM
Lori V said...
Great dress.
7/5/09 9:12 AM
marjenann said...
Now that is what a call a pulled together look!!! Smashing!!!
7/5/09 9:11 AM
Maychi said...
Lovely, very flattering.
7/5/09 5:30 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful dress and great fit.
7/5/09 2:59 AM
Ann Smith said...
Such a lovely dress and it fits you perfectly. Your garden makes the perfect setting for it.
7/5/09 2:00 AM
Kayseri said...
Lovely looking dress.
7/5/09 0:35 AM
Sweetiebop said...
You look lovely in your new dress.
7/5/09 0:02 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress!!! Fabric and fit!!!
7/4/09 8:48 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I love your dress. I have just bought fabric to make this dress and enjoyed your review. thank you!
7/4/09 8:34 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty; great fabric choice. I love Maggy London dresses and I need to get me one of these. This dress is very pretty and feminine on you.
7/4/09 7:53 PM
mdeeter said...
Your dress is so pretty! I have this pattern sitting out to make...I think it's jumped to the top thanks to you!
7/4/09 7:40 PM
greenandlilac said...
Looks great on you
7/4/09 7:31 PM
Kelly D. said...
This pattern has been in the stash for some time waiting for the right fabric. You inspire me to make it up this summer! Lovely dress. Can't wait to see where you go from here style-wise if you're done with surplice dresses! ;-)
7/4/09 7:30 PM
AdaF said...
Very flattering on your figure (and of course, great job on the workmanship). Thanks for the review! I will add it to my wish list ;) .
7/4/09 7:11 PM
nellc said...
Really nice dress, I love the fabric you have used.
7/4/09 6:32 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great dress!
7/4/09 6:25 PM
Tiner W said...
That is such a beautiful dress!
7/4/09 5:24 PM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful dress, great style - it really suits you.
7/4/09 4:59 PM
Time4me said...
Super nice dress on you! Are you at home and if so, CAN I COME OVER?!?!?!? Nice yard too!
7/4/09 4:47 PM
Aixoise said...
What a great dress. You look lovely in it; the fit and fabric are perfect.
7/4/09 4:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now