SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8178 (Very Easy Vogue Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 589 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/09 10:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Oh My GOODNESS! That is so cute on you!
9/23/09 10:58 AM
Andreahg said...
What a beautiful dress! The fit is perfect and the fabric is darling.
9/23/09 11:22 AM
barb111 said...
Great fabric choice and you did an excellent job on the construction The dress looks great
9/23/09 12:04 PM
busymomof3 said...
This dress is very cute on you!! I fits you perfect!
9/23/09 12:16 PM
Knitz said...
Very nice -- both fit and fabric!
9/23/09 12:17 PM
CynthiaSue said...
elegant and classy. perfectly sewn.
9/23/09 12:39 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Ooooh, I love this dress! Looks great on you!
9/23/09 12:47 PM
stretch queen said...
I love the ribbon detail. Genius!! Beautifully made and the fabric is so beautiful.
9/23/09 12:48 PM
RLL said...
Brilliant fabric layout with that collar. Really nice dress!
9/23/09 1:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress looks fabulous on you!!! Beautiful color!
9/23/09 1:59 PM
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this is stunning. The fabric and the ribbon trim are perfect. The dress is very flattering on you. You do such beautiful work!
9/23/09 2:32 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty and flattering! I love how you laid out the fabric for the collar and then stitched a ribbon to it. I always get annoyed when the embroidery stops several inches from the selvage, but think I'll try your method next time. And I made it several years ago and had the same thing happen to the hips! Mine was an embroidered denim - don't know why I didn't go back and take the sides in more. It's been sitting in my closet collecting dust all this time!
9/23/09 2:55 PM
Leora said...
I never looked twice at this pattern. Your dress is so much prettier than the envelope, well done.
9/23/09 3:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above. Very nice!
9/23/09 3:23 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely dress!
9/23/09 3:26 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, I love your fabric.
9/23/09 4:40 PM
okie2thdoc said...
This dress is beautiful on you. It really makes me want to add the pattern to my stash. Could you line it to keep it from stretching more?
9/23/09 7:07 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you fellow Pattern Reviewers for the nice comments....Hi okie2thdoc, yes your suggestion of lining is a great idea and good solution for preventing the fabric from stretching out. My priority however, was to end up with a casual dress as cool as possible for the hot California summers. I have noticed that after taking the seams in the first time it has not stretched out any more...thank goodness!
9/23/09 7:37 PM
sew2little said...
There you go again--looking fabulous! What great fabric for this dress!
9/23/09 8:20 PM
Sharonspils said...
Great looking dress and style and the fit is excellent
9/24/09 0:25 AM
SusiM said...
You have created a real winner here. It looks great on you!!!
9/24/09 0:43 AM
Lisette said...
Very pretty and elegant.
9/24/09 8:15 AM
Enid E said...
What a wonderful way to use the embroidered linen! I would have never thought of making a dress with it . You look great in it, and I loved the trim you incorporated to the collar. Another winner!!
9/24/09 10:43 AM
Christas said...
This looks wonderful on you! I can't think of a better fabric choice .... so pretty! The fit looks perfect; the sewing looks perfect!
9/24/09 1:44 PM
fryman said...
wow!!
9/25/09 12:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 2059

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now