SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8178 (Very Easy Vogue Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 589 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/09 10:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Oh My GOODNESS! That is so cute on you!
9/23/09 10:58 AM
Andreahg said...
What a beautiful dress! The fit is perfect and the fabric is darling.
9/23/09 11:22 AM
barb111 said...
Great fabric choice and you did an excellent job on the construction The dress looks great
9/23/09 12:04 PM
busymomof3 said...
This dress is very cute on you!! I fits you perfect!
9/23/09 12:16 PM
Knitz said...
Very nice -- both fit and fabric!
9/23/09 12:17 PM
CynthiaSue said...
elegant and classy. perfectly sewn.
9/23/09 12:39 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Ooooh, I love this dress! Looks great on you!
9/23/09 12:47 PM
stretch queen said...
I love the ribbon detail. Genius!! Beautifully made and the fabric is so beautiful.
9/23/09 12:48 PM
RLL said...
Brilliant fabric layout with that collar. Really nice dress!
9/23/09 1:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress looks fabulous on you!!! Beautiful color!
9/23/09 1:59 PM
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this is stunning. The fabric and the ribbon trim are perfect. The dress is very flattering on you. You do such beautiful work!
9/23/09 2:32 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty and flattering! I love how you laid out the fabric for the collar and then stitched a ribbon to it. I always get annoyed when the embroidery stops several inches from the selvage, but think I'll try your method next time. And I made it several years ago and had the same thing happen to the hips! Mine was an embroidered denim - don't know why I didn't go back and take the sides in more. It's been sitting in my closet collecting dust all this time!
9/23/09 2:55 PM
Leora said...
I never looked twice at this pattern. Your dress is so much prettier than the envelope, well done.
9/23/09 3:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above. Very nice!
9/23/09 3:23 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely dress!
9/23/09 3:26 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, I love your fabric.
9/23/09 4:40 PM
okie2thdoc said...
This dress is beautiful on you. It really makes me want to add the pattern to my stash. Could you line it to keep it from stretching more?
9/23/09 7:07 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you fellow Pattern Reviewers for the nice comments....Hi okie2thdoc, yes your suggestion of lining is a great idea and good solution for preventing the fabric from stretching out. My priority however, was to end up with a casual dress as cool as possible for the hot California summers. I have noticed that after taking the seams in the first time it has not stretched out any more...thank goodness!
9/23/09 7:37 PM
sew2little said...
There you go again--looking fabulous! What great fabric for this dress!
9/23/09 8:20 PM
Sharonspils said...
Great looking dress and style and the fit is excellent
9/24/09 0:25 AM
SusiM said...
You have created a real winner here. It looks great on you!!!
9/24/09 0:43 AM
Lisette said...
Very pretty and elegant.
9/24/09 8:15 AM
Enid E said...
What a wonderful way to use the embroidered linen! I would have never thought of making a dress with it . You look great in it, and I loved the trim you incorporated to the collar. Another winner!!
9/24/09 10:43 AM
Christas said...
This looks wonderful on you! I can't think of a better fabric choice .... so pretty! The fit looks perfect; the sewing looks perfect!
9/24/09 1:44 PM
fryman said...
wow!!
9/25/09 12:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 0000

photo
by: Terri A

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1017

photo
by: nancy2001

Review