SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-119 (beach cover-up)

3 more reviews
Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/09 11:03 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristine Kay said...
Absolutely gorgeous... both the dress and your daughter! Just wonderful!
7/8/09 11:10 AM
Gold said...
Great job! I know she is loving her maxi dress!
7/8/09 11:18 AM
Christas said...
I keep seeing all these pretty maxi dresses on PR. I always think they look pretty on everyone else, but not for me. The maxi you made your daughter is the first one to make me think I might want a maxi dress for myself. Your fabric and fit are so perfect. Your daughter looks like a gorgeous knock-out in her Mom-made dress!
7/8/09 11:40 AM
BeckyW said...
Gorgeous dress. I want one!
7/8/09 12:39 PM
swede said...
Wow, this dress is gorgeous, and the fit is perfect. I love the straps, and what a beautiful print too.
7/8/09 12:45 PM
Twinset said...
Utterly beautiful sundress... in fact I want one like that!! You can definitely tell from who DD got her good looks! :-) The fabric you used is fantastic.
7/8/09 1:00 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I've been trying to make a successful maxi-dress all weekend without success. Love this one.
7/8/09 1:07 PM
poplin said...
Oh, wow!! Gorgeous!
7/8/09 1:30 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, that is one beautiful dress!
7/8/09 1:42 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Just stunning! I'm inspired!
7/8/09 1:48 PM
VtMartha said...
How lovely is that! The fabric is perfect. And I'm curious to know what else is hanging on that rack - especially the gray with the yellow and pink flowers. I have that fabric as well.
7/8/09 1:51 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all. VtMartha on the rack are some of the other garments that Ann and I sewed while in our very fun "sewing frenzy" and we have been gradually posting reviews on them. - Here is Ann's review of the specific garment you refer to: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=41016 . Also if you would like to read more about the sewing retreat, check out Ann's blog: http://annsthreads.blogspot.com/
7/8/09 2:15 PM
busymomof3 said...
I LOVE this!! Your daughter is beautiful wearing this lovely dress! Watch out, others might be wanting to put an order in! (I want one!!)
7/8/09 2:15 PM
busymomof3 said...
double posted
7/8/09 2:16 PM
21wale said...
Wow! Lovely.
7/8/09 2:36 PM
KrystalL said...
Beautiful!
7/8/09 4:50 PM
Amanda S. said...
Oh, I just love it!!! I wish I had this issue. Your daughter looks beautiful!
7/8/09 5:02 PM
wineyjudy said...
Great dress, great review!
7/8/09 6:13 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a wonderful dress. You did such a good job getting the fabric design in the right places. It's a perfect fit and looks so comfy. But then, what wouldn't look good on your gorgeous DD?
7/8/09 6:55 PM
Raye Ann said...
i love this! great job- the fit is very flattering. i love the pleated skirt treatment- i am in the process of making a maxi dress for myself and am going to pin fit a "pleated" skirt to see if that will be more flattering than the gathered skirt recommended by the pattern. thanks for the review and great tips!
7/8/09 7:46 PM
MissCelie said...
That dress is so hot! I love it!
7/8/09 8:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
This looks so fantastic on Kristen. It looked great on the hanger but even better on her. Your photos look like a professional shoot with the fan blowing her hair just so!
7/8/09 9:15 PM
Peacock Chic said...
oh wow that came out great!!! love it!
7/8/09 10:48 PM
JessB said...
Wow. Wow. Wow! I think this is my favourite maxi dress that I've seen so far on PR. I love rayon and I can imagine just how gorgeous this dress is in 'real life'. thanks for the great review.
7/9/09 1:25 AM
Sew tell me said...
Beautiful dress!
7/9/09 2:22 AM
Valerie S said...
It's beautiful and your daughter is a knock out!
7/9/09 6:49 AM
Lisa Laree said...
That's a fabulous interpretation of that dress! I love what you did with the print...very pretty!
7/9/09 7:59 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Your daughter looks radiant in this beautiful sun dress/beach cover up. The fabric from Ann is beautiful, you are lucky to have such a df and your daughter is lucky to have you to sew for her. And in return, you are lucky she enjoys wearing the things you make for her. She is beautiful!
7/9/09 9:38 AM
kerrynw said...
Stunning fabric, stunning dress and stunning daughter!!!
7/14/09 11:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 78166-1003

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
New Look 6130

photo
by: Victoria B

Review