SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-102 (Jacket/blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 567 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 5:56 PM
Last Updated:7/5/09 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sarahinlafayette said...
This is really lovely, and your changes have much improved the original IMO.
9/25/09 7:52 PM
Nancy K said...
Very nice Kay! I like your changes and I thought the pockets a bit strange too. I wish I had made mine deeper, not just wider like you did yours.
7/19/09 10:39 AM
Kellie R. said...
Everything you make is superb Kay. This jacket is just BEAUTIFUL and so chic. Great job!!!
7/8/09 11:47 AM
lmg said...
Lovely jacket! You took a bit too trendy jacket (at least for me) and made it elegant and tasteful. I love the pockets and the beautiful shaping through the waist. And your work is superb.
7/6/09 5:36 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Lovely jacket! Great job as usual! That fabric is unique to me....I've never seen it.
7/6/09 12:55 PM
digs57 said...
Great job, Kay - what a cool fabric, too.
7/6/09 11:29 AM
Woolygal said...
Your work is always so professional. I love this jacket.
7/6/09 9:49 AM
jkaori said...
Wonderful jacket! I like the changes you made to it and the fabric is just stunning for the style. The construction looks beautiful --- congratulations!
7/6/09 9:03 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, that's a great style, and your stitching is just immaculate, which sets off the design perfectly. Great fabric, too.
7/6/09 8:44 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous jacket and wonderful fabric choice.
7/6/09 7:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. I have similar fabric so your advise on sewing foot to use was a good one. I think I will wash my fabric as well.
7/6/09 7:09 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely jacket. Can't wait to see the dress.
7/6/09 6:26 AM
Sigrid. said...
What beautiful fabric for this jacket. I would never have thought of changing the sleeve with the other one from the same issue. It worked out very well! Great fit, as always.
7/6/09 6:04 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
What an absolutely lovely jacket !
7/6/09 5:39 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. Great fit.
7/6/09 2:26 AM
shaggy said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/6/09 0:45 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great call on the sleeve substitution! Gorgeous jacket and so beautifully made. Your reviews are always inspiring.
7/6/09 0:40 AM
Kayseri said...
I love your version of this jacket. I've eyed the pattern and rejected it a couple of times because I liked the shape but thought all the extras too fussy. You've inspired me to take another look.
7/6/09 0:22 AM
JoanneM said...
Lovely jacket. Love the laminated linen,really gives it a unique sheen.
7/5/09 11:45 PM
Twinset said...
What a great looking jacket! The fabric is beautiful, and the execution, perfect!
7/5/09 11:17 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket!!! I love the buttons they are perfect!
7/5/09 10:42 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket! Beautiful work!
7/5/09 10:37 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, what can I say, other than SHOW-OFF! Absolute PERFECTION in every little detail. And as for wrinkles, it looks pretty darn good to me, linen or no linen! I love ALL your jackets. :o)
7/5/09 10:09 PM
Re Becca said...
I love your chic, simplified version of this. I thought this looked fussy in the mag, but your version looks great. I esp. love the sleeves!
7/5/09 9:46 PM
Karen6790 said...
Love it! This is why we have libraries of BWOF, because sooner or later we're going to want something specific and they'll have it. This is a gorgeous result, love the fabric and now I can't wait to see the dress.
7/5/09 9:30 PM
barbcl said...
Really slick look that you will wear and wear. Looks great on you.
7/5/09 9:17 PM
Liana said...
Kay, This is just beautiful! I love your changes/omissions, which I think make it look much sleeker and more feminine. Your fitting skills take this to another level entirely. Just gorgeous!
7/5/09 9:06 PM
Catbird said...
Gorgeous shape, beautiful fabric and flawless work!
7/5/09 8:30 PM
carolynw said...
Kay this is beautiful - your closet must be filled with beautiful clothes!!
7/5/09 8:15 PM
Meredith P said...
Nice modifications, Kay. I'll need to remember those.
7/5/09 8:03 PM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - this is just gorgeous - lovely colour, lovely fit, exemplary finish.
7/5/09 7:51 PM
Christas said...
Your version is just lovely. It fits perfectly, of course!
7/5/09 7:07 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful. I like your modified version better than the original. Great fabric too.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Kay, it's beautifully sewn, and the fit is perfect. I love the sleeve you used.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The lines of this jacket are lovely. Great job.
7/5/09 6:49 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:36 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:34 PM
Pamaro said...
This is a beautiful jacket. It also looks to fit quite nicely. It will serve you well with many outfits.
7/5/09 6:26 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review. What skill! This is beautiful, classy and the fit is right.
7/5/09 6:07 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/5/09 6:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

More Info