Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-102 (Jacket/blouse) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 564 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 264 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 5:56 PM
Last Updated:7/5/09 6:06 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/5/09 6:06 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review. What skill! This is beautiful, classy and the fit is right.
7/5/09 6:07 PM
Pamaro said...
This is a beautiful jacket. It also looks to fit quite nicely. It will serve you well with many outfits.
7/5/09 6:26 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:34 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The lines of this jacket are lovely. Great job.
7/5/09 6:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Kay, it's beautifully sewn, and the fit is perfect. I love the sleeve you used.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful. I like your modified version better than the original. Great fabric too.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
Christas said...
Your version is just lovely. It fits perfectly, of course!
7/5/09 7:07 PM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - this is just gorgeous - lovely colour, lovely fit, exemplary finish.
7/5/09 7:51 PM
Meredith P said...
Nice modifications, Kay. I'll need to remember those.
7/5/09 8:03 PM
carolynw said...
Kay this is beautiful - your closet must be filled with beautiful clothes!!
7/5/09 8:15 PM
Catbird said...
Gorgeous shape, beautiful fabric and flawless work!
7/5/09 8:30 PM
Liana said...
Kay, This is just beautiful! I love your changes/omissions, which I think make it look much sleeker and more feminine. Your fitting skills take this to another level entirely. Just gorgeous!
7/5/09 9:06 PM
barbcl said...
Really slick look that you will wear and wear. Looks great on you.
7/5/09 9:17 PM
Karen6790 said...
Love it! This is why we have libraries of BWOF, because sooner or later we're going to want something specific and they'll have it. This is a gorgeous result, love the fabric and now I can't wait to see the dress.
7/5/09 9:30 PM
Re Becca said...
I love your chic, simplified version of this. I thought this looked fussy in the mag, but your version looks great. I esp. love the sleeves!
7/5/09 9:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, what can I say, other than SHOW-OFF! Absolute PERFECTION in every little detail. And as for wrinkles, it looks pretty darn good to me, linen or no linen! I love ALL your jackets. :o)
7/5/09 10:09 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket! Beautiful work!
7/5/09 10:37 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket!!! I love the buttons they are perfect!
7/5/09 10:42 PM
Twinset said...
What a great looking jacket! The fabric is beautiful, and the execution, perfect!
7/5/09 11:17 PM
JoanneM said...
Lovely jacket. Love the laminated linen,really gives it a unique sheen.
7/5/09 11:45 PM
Kayseri said...
I love your version of this jacket. I've eyed the pattern and rejected it a couple of times because I liked the shape but thought all the extras too fussy. You've inspired me to take another look.
7/6/09 0:22 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great call on the sleeve substitution! Gorgeous jacket and so beautifully made. Your reviews are always inspiring.
7/6/09 0:40 AM
shaggy said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/6/09 0:45 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. Great fit.
7/6/09 2:26 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
What an absolutely lovely jacket !
7/6/09 5:39 AM
Sigrid. said...
What beautiful fabric for this jacket. I would never have thought of changing the sleeve with the other one from the same issue. It worked out very well! Great fit, as always.
7/6/09 6:04 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely jacket. Can't wait to see the dress.
7/6/09 6:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. I have similar fabric so your advise on sewing foot to use was a good one. I think I will wash my fabric as well.
7/6/09 7:09 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous jacket and wonderful fabric choice.
7/6/09 7:35 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, that's a great style, and your stitching is just immaculate, which sets off the design perfectly. Great fabric, too.
7/6/09 8:44 AM
jkaori said...
Wonderful jacket! I like the changes you made to it and the fabric is just stunning for the style. The construction looks beautiful --- congratulations!
7/6/09 9:03 AM
Woolygal said...
Your work is always so professional. I love this jacket.
7/6/09 9:49 AM
digs57 said...
Great job, Kay - what a cool fabric, too.
7/6/09 11:29 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Lovely jacket! Great job as usual! That fabric is unique to me....I've never seen it.
7/6/09 12:55 PM
lmg said...
Lovely jacket! You took a bit too trendy jacket (at least for me) and made it elegant and tasteful. I love the pockets and the beautiful shaping through the waist. And your work is superb.
7/6/09 5:36 PM
Kellie R. said...
Everything you make is superb Kay. This jacket is just BEAUTIFUL and so chic. Great job!!!
7/8/09 11:47 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice Kay! I like your changes and I thought the pockets a bit strange too. I wish I had made mine deeper, not just wider like you did yours.
7/19/09 10:39 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
This is really lovely, and your changes have much improved the original IMO.
9/25/09 7:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 5983
photo
Review by Trephas200... on 1/16/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2012-134 Dolman Dress
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/18/14
Read Review

Simplicity 1468 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1468 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3911 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3911 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us