SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-102 (Jacket/blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 5:56 PM
Last Updated:7/5/09 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/5/09 6:06 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review. What skill! This is beautiful, classy and the fit is right.
7/5/09 6:07 PM
Pamaro said...
This is a beautiful jacket. It also looks to fit quite nicely. It will serve you well with many outfits.
7/5/09 6:26 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:34 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The lines of this jacket are lovely. Great job.
7/5/09 6:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Kay, it's beautifully sewn, and the fit is perfect. I love the sleeve you used.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful. I like your modified version better than the original. Great fabric too.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
Christas said...
Your version is just lovely. It fits perfectly, of course!
7/5/09 7:07 PM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - this is just gorgeous - lovely colour, lovely fit, exemplary finish.
7/5/09 7:51 PM
Meredith P said...
Nice modifications, Kay. I'll need to remember those.
7/5/09 8:03 PM
carolynw said...
Kay this is beautiful - your closet must be filled with beautiful clothes!!
7/5/09 8:15 PM
Catbird said...
Gorgeous shape, beautiful fabric and flawless work!
7/5/09 8:30 PM
Liana said...
Kay, This is just beautiful! I love your changes/omissions, which I think make it look much sleeker and more feminine. Your fitting skills take this to another level entirely. Just gorgeous!
7/5/09 9:06 PM
barbcl said...
Really slick look that you will wear and wear. Looks great on you.
7/5/09 9:17 PM
Karen6790 said...
Love it! This is why we have libraries of BWOF, because sooner or later we're going to want something specific and they'll have it. This is a gorgeous result, love the fabric and now I can't wait to see the dress.
7/5/09 9:30 PM
Re Becca said...
I love your chic, simplified version of this. I thought this looked fussy in the mag, but your version looks great. I esp. love the sleeves!
7/5/09 9:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, what can I say, other than SHOW-OFF! Absolute PERFECTION in every little detail. And as for wrinkles, it looks pretty darn good to me, linen or no linen! I love ALL your jackets. :o)
7/5/09 10:09 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket! Beautiful work!
7/5/09 10:37 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket!!! I love the buttons they are perfect!
7/5/09 10:42 PM
Twinset said...
What a great looking jacket! The fabric is beautiful, and the execution, perfect!
7/5/09 11:17 PM
JoanneM said...
Lovely jacket. Love the laminated linen,really gives it a unique sheen.
7/5/09 11:45 PM
Kayseri said...
I love your version of this jacket. I've eyed the pattern and rejected it a couple of times because I liked the shape but thought all the extras too fussy. You've inspired me to take another look.
7/6/09 0:22 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great call on the sleeve substitution! Gorgeous jacket and so beautifully made. Your reviews are always inspiring.
7/6/09 0:40 AM
shaggy said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/6/09 0:45 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. Great fit.
7/6/09 2:26 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
What an absolutely lovely jacket !
7/6/09 5:39 AM
Sigrid. said...
What beautiful fabric for this jacket. I would never have thought of changing the sleeve with the other one from the same issue. It worked out very well! Great fit, as always.
7/6/09 6:04 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely jacket. Can't wait to see the dress.
7/6/09 6:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. I have similar fabric so your advise on sewing foot to use was a good one. I think I will wash my fabric as well.
7/6/09 7:09 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous jacket and wonderful fabric choice.
7/6/09 7:35 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, that's a great style, and your stitching is just immaculate, which sets off the design perfectly. Great fabric, too.
7/6/09 8:44 AM
jkaori said...
Wonderful jacket! I like the changes you made to it and the fabric is just stunning for the style. The construction looks beautiful --- congratulations!
7/6/09 9:03 AM
Woolygal said...
Your work is always so professional. I love this jacket.
7/6/09 9:49 AM
digs57 said...
Great job, Kay - what a cool fabric, too.
7/6/09 11:29 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Lovely jacket! Great job as usual! That fabric is unique to me....I've never seen it.
7/6/09 12:55 PM
lmg said...
Lovely jacket! You took a bit too trendy jacket (at least for me) and made it elegant and tasteful. I love the pockets and the beautiful shaping through the waist. And your work is superb.
7/6/09 5:36 PM
Kellie R. said...
Everything you make is superb Kay. This jacket is just BEAUTIFUL and so chic. Great job!!!
7/8/09 11:47 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice Kay! I like your changes and I thought the pockets a bit strange too. I wish I had made mine deeper, not just wider like you did yours.
7/19/09 10:39 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
This is really lovely, and your changes have much improved the original IMO.
9/25/09 7:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-120

photo
by: Merche

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now