Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2009-141 (wide brimmed sun hat) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 318 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/09 8:00 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
Great hat! It will be perfect for summer.
7/9/09 8:19 AM
pterion said...
Love the hat! I'm so impressed that you are keeping up on your sewing during your hospital stay. Thinking of you and hoping all goes well.
7/9/09 10:31 AM
petro said...
Nice hat. I'm impressed that you're managing to sew in hospital, best wishes.
7/9/09 10:34 AM
Karen6790 said...
Very cute. I was thinking of giving this one a try because I spend a lot of time out in my garden and I think I'm frying my brain. Congrats on actually getting projects together to sew while you're in hospital; I hope it makes the time pass easier for you. And I love your tiny red sewing machine.
7/9/09 10:54 AM
Jali said...
Cool hat! I love your idea of topstitching circles around the brim. The portable machine seems to be doing alright. Keep it going!
7/9/09 11:00 AM
marec said...
You are an inspiration to all people who are struggling with any kind of challenge. I salute you! Okay, now for my comment on the hat...it is darling and I am going to copy all your tips. Thanks so much for a helpful review.
7/9/09 11:33 AM
sewbehind said...
My very best wishes for your health. You are an inspiration and a complete addict! Love the hat. Stay well.
7/9/09 11:39 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Great job! I may have to try one of these myself!
7/9/09 12:43 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Cute hat. I'm sending my best wishes for you....I'm so sorry to hear about your health problems. You are an inspiration to anyone! I hope your hospital stay goes very quickly...I'm so glad that your Mom can be there with you....Mom's always make kids feel better, no matter the age. My 41 yo son still thinks so! You'll be in my thoughts and prayers. Good Luck..thank goodness you are healthy otherwise!
7/9/09 1:05 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Melissa - once you are out of the hospital you should seek "SA" (Sewists Anonomys) for your addicition! Haha - you are such an inspiration. I am hoping all goes well for you! Now that hat is adorable! I love it. It's going to be very functional and super cute all at the same time!
7/9/09 2:21 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Oh and I just realized that this is your 100th review! Congratulations on that milestone!!
7/9/09 2:23 PM
Vintage Joan said...
You are one impressive lady. I hope your time in hospital flies by. In the meantime, that's a great little hat! I may just have to try that pattern. I look forward to the next instalment from your hospital-stay sewing diary. :)
7/9/09 2:25 PM
nellc said...
Love the hat! It's great that you are managing to keep sewing while in hospital. Take care and best wishes.
7/9/09 6:09 PM
Laurasews said...
You will be in my prayers Melissa. Keep up the positive thoughts and I look forward to all of your projects!
7/9/09 11:22 PM
Woolygal said...
You are an inspiration. Great hat. We're all with you.
7/10/09 7:42 AM
lamstu said...
Best wishes for your recovery. And great hat!
7/10/09 10:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2010-109
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 3/17/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6460
photo
Review by irem on 9/9/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us