SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3573 

15 more reviews
Viewed 201 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/09 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
glenj said...
I think you've done a fine job.starting anything new is a learning curve.I tackled a pinafore dress buttoned down the front with a fully pleated skirt,a blouse with a ruffle on the collar for my at the time 3yr old daughter to wear to a family wedding.I was really proud and she looked cute.I see photos now and still think cute,BUT ruffle trim on collar to wide,pinafore fabric to heavy(denim)seam in the pleated skirt showing at the front.nothing is ever exactly as we picture but it is still really good. Your nightgown may not be exactly as you wanted yet you see what needs to be changed for the next time.Again you have done a fabulous job,and your review is very informative. P.S i call it a narrow hem,if I use the hemmer foot on the sewing machine and a rolled hem if I use the overlocker/serger.
7/12/09 8:17 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Added this pattern to my wish list and put a footnote about increasing the width of the fabric to about 180 inches for a fuller ruffle as you mentioned in this PR. Thanks for the tip. The general rule is to make a ruffle 2 1/2 to 3 times the the width of the above layer its to be attached to is what I learned back in my sewing class in high school over 50 years ago. That ruling seems to work on this pattern's bottom ruffle from what you suggested in this PR too.
7/12/09 9:43 AM
Sallygirl said...
I think you got way better than a "serviceable" garment! I love how sweet, feminine, and romantic it looks! I always have to do the same thing with ruffles, giving them more fullness than the pattern piece allows, if I have enough fabric. I'm adding this nightgown pattern to my wish list! Thanks for a great review.
7/12/09 10:41 AM
kathleencramer said...
so classic! I just love it!
7/12/09 12:15 PM
jannw said...
How did I miss this pattern? It looks great on you..I really love your ruffle..very attractive and so much better than the original..I think the seam may be straight..your foot is back and that may be causing the slight tilt..no matter..the results look cool and comfortable.
7/12/09 6:28 PM
moonchild61 said...
I am making a note of this pattern. I just finished a "housedress" that is very similar. I thought I would die 1000 deaths before I finished. I think this looks just fine. Keep going your on a roll!
7/12/09 6:43 PM
Peggy L said...
This looks so nice and cool in that shirting fabric. Nice job and an excellent review. Good for you for learning to use your hemmer foot. Takes a little practice but I love the results.
7/13/09 9:32 AM
Infinity12 said...
How can I widen the upper bodice to in between S and M? The lower half S is fine. But I am using it as a dress, NOT a nightgown. S is too tight, M is way too large. Thanks!
8/3/10 8:06 PM
Renren said...
Infinity12, if you see this, please post your question over at the message board. Someone will help you! I regret that I do not have the expertise to be of assistance. Good luck! (And it really would make a very comfortable dress.)
10/9/10 9:12 AM
barebear said...
Thanks for the informative reviews! I referred to them a lot while working on my nightie from this pattern. Even though, I still wound up with the crooked from seamline like you did. :/ Oh well, I just slapped a piece of lace on top, and voila! No more wonky seam!
11/12/11 8:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now