Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-104 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 535 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/09 9:03 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
How I love to see and read about everything you sew! Lovely dress and outfit. Thank you for a wonderful review.
7/15/09 9:31 PM
persevering said...
How I love to see and read about everything you sew! Lovely dress and outfit. Thank you for a wonderful review.
7/15/09 9:38 PM
Christas said...
Really cute dress, Kay! Your jacket looks perfect with it. The decorative belt buckle looks very nice with the fabric.
7/15/09 10:10 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice, Kay. That looks gorgeous. I like that it is so understated and still sexy. Love the buckle.
7/15/09 10:21 PM
Liana said...
What a great dress! Sounds like it was quick and easy, and it looks so good.
7/15/09 10:25 PM
poplin said...
Another wonderful review. Another beautiful outfit.
7/15/09 11:00 PM
Patti B said...
Summer has arrived with your dress; it's perfect for the season. And, of course, it's perfectly sewn per usual.
7/15/09 11:06 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love the whole ensemble. The colors in the print are neutral and interesting at the same time. It's a very classy but not at all boring look.
7/15/09 11:14 PM
khunter said...
great review I love the fabric and you look so terrific in it!!
7/15/09 11:34 PM
Annette1 said...
What a PERFECT summer dress. I love the neutrals in the print, and that linen jacket is really getting some mileage, it goes with so many things. Another beautiful outfit. :o)
7/16/09 0:37 AM
Twinset said...
What a nice outfit with the jacket! Very flattering dress, love the print and the buckle.
7/16/09 0:40 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love it, no one would ever know it can be made in a matter of hours. And you know if Burda say it has a plunging neckline they aren't kidding!
7/16/09 0:53 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Gorgeous Kay, truly gorgeous. A lovely summer ensemble with exquisitely executed workmanship.
7/16/09 1:16 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress!
7/16/09 1:55 AM
Ann Smith said...
This looks so great on you. I love the buckle. Hmm, I wonder if I have a buckle in my stash??
7/16/09 2:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
Smart and distinctive. Well done.
7/16/09 4:45 AM
bluenines said...
very pretty
7/16/09 5:00 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I just love it! Thanks for the great review, as usual!
7/16/09 6:26 AM
Fran S said...
This looks lovely on you!
7/16/09 6:42 AM
Peggy L said...
Great dress!
7/16/09 8:03 AM
DaisyEsq said...
I like the waist feature of your dress. Very pretty.
7/16/09 8:05 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Great dress! You look terrific!
7/16/09 8:32 AM
marec said...
I love the length and the print on you...beautiful dress.
7/16/09 9:00 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Fantastic dress and wonderful workmanship!
7/16/09 10:06 AM
pterion said...
Wow. I love this dress. You made this in a day? Very inspiring!
7/16/09 12:22 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Kay, that is gorgeous! Makes you look so elegant!
7/16/09 2:29 PM
Sharonspils said...
Great looking dress and an informative review. Thank you.
7/17/09 0:20 AM
Barbara V said...
Kay, your dress is lovely. The print works well with the style. I have been thinking about sewing this dress and now really want to get to it soon! You look great in it.
7/17/09 0:22 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I made this same dress this week, Kay and experienced the same issues you did--the upper chest and back are really too long (that's what I get for not making a muslin....) Your version is so pretty and that print is perfect!
7/17/09 0:43 AM
lmg said...
Thanks for the review Kay. I made this dress straight and had the same issues you did. I will try again because it is very flattering.
7/18/09 3:13 PM
Wagtail said...
I just came across this, when I was reviewing Burda 7696, which is the same dress. Someone on this review wrote that it had been reviewed here. Kay, your outfit looks stunning. I am really looking forward to making this dress, and will be taking your comments on board.
8/23/09 2:01 AM
Wagtail said...
I just came across this, when I was reviewing Burda 7696, which is the same dress. Someone on this review wrote that it had been reviewed here. Kay, your outfit looks stunning. I am really looking forward to making this dress, and will be taking your comments on board.
8/23/09 2:02 AM
Wagtail said...
Sorry about posting the same comment twice. I am a bit of a klutz sometimes with computers
8/23/09 2:04 AM
Mahler said...
Simple, comfortable, beautiful, what else could you ask for. I like very much on you. Perfect match with the necklace.
8/24/09 1:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Burda 7646 SHIRT / DRESS
photo
Review by Sewmetoo on 6/23/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1670 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1670 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8691 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8691 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-116 Bardot dress
photo
Review by gwenj on 8/9/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us