SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2912 (MISSES' BLOUSE)

2 more reviews
Viewed 418 times 
Reviewed by:Emi1yKate
photo

 
 
About Emi1yKatestar
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/09 6:16 AM
Last Updated:7/19/09 6:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
niceheart said...
I read the blog and *really* liked the muslin you made. I'm think of making this blouse in a simple white linen for summer daytime wear. The reviews here have scared me off of using slippery fabrics!
1/31/10 4:30 PM
Emi1yKate said...
MLoyet, thankyou for the commiseration. If I cannot be a good example, I try to at least be an object lesson ;o) Renren, fabric roses might be a good start.... I've been eyeing the leftover uncut fabric, trying to decide if there's enough enough to make a simple pair of girlie boxer-shorts, maybe some fabric roses on them would be cute! TerriSmith, I do think it will be awhile before I splurge on any new silky fabric ;o) Annette1, you're right, if I had left the length as-was, I think it would have been bellybutton time! Usually I have to SHORTEN everything by inches *shrug* MaryNanna, its funny you say that about the spraystarch and washing out cos I actually did that! I guess in the end nearly every sewer must have a Story of the Silk Stuff-up :o)
7/19/09 9:02 PM
Mary Nanna said...
oh bad luck, and such care with the cutting too! Someone here recently posted how they spray their silk with heavy starch to work with, and then wash it out afterwards and then the greatest evils of the fabric are avoided. Me? Not brave enough, have been burnt by slippery silk before, now I only make simple lines, but even then, I avoid like the plague because I hate handwashing.
7/19/09 5:05 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review! I hate that you won't be able to enjoy this top. I wonder if there's any way that you could remove the tucks (might be hard on charmeuse, to have it not SHOW that the stitches were removed) and just have the fabric drape loosely from the yoke? I know, I'm scraping here -- ha! Or maybe even if you don't like it on its own, you could wear it under a jacket, and still get the benefit of that fabric. Man, her patterns must REALLY run short if you're only 5'2"!
7/19/09 4:11 PM
Terri Smith said...
I have made the silk charmeuse mistake too, and vowed to make a simpler garment next time...I have yet to make it though! Thank you for a nice review.
7/19/09 3:46 PM
Renren said...
Looks like you are on the path of something good. Best luck making this pattern work on another try because it's really lovely. I guess for a recycle, you might make fabric roses out of it. If there is enough fabric left over, you could make a drapey tunic with fabric roses around the neck. Just one idea; others will follow, perhaps.
7/19/09 8:47 AM
Michelle L said...
Sorry to hear about the demise of this shirt, but thank you for such a thorough review, it will be incredibly helpful for anyone considering embarking on this project.
7/19/09 8:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

New Look 6130

photo
by: charid daw...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8667

photo
by: knitwitsl

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now