Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2912 (MISSES' BLOUSE) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 415 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Emi1yKate
photo
About Emi1yKatestar
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/09 6:16 AM
Last Updated:7/19/09 6:22 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
Sorry to hear about the demise of this shirt, but thank you for such a thorough review, it will be incredibly helpful for anyone considering embarking on this project.
7/19/09 8:35 AM
Renren said...
Looks like you are on the path of something good. Best luck making this pattern work on another try because it's really lovely. I guess for a recycle, you might make fabric roses out of it. If there is enough fabric left over, you could make a drapey tunic with fabric roses around the neck. Just one idea; others will follow, perhaps.
7/19/09 8:47 AM
Terri Smith said...
I have made the silk charmeuse mistake too, and vowed to make a simpler garment next time...I have yet to make it though! Thank you for a nice review.
7/19/09 3:46 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review! I hate that you won't be able to enjoy this top. I wonder if there's any way that you could remove the tucks (might be hard on charmeuse, to have it not SHOW that the stitches were removed) and just have the fabric drape loosely from the yoke? I know, I'm scraping here -- ha! Or maybe even if you don't like it on its own, you could wear it under a jacket, and still get the benefit of that fabric. Man, her patterns must REALLY run short if you're only 5'2"!
7/19/09 4:11 PM
Mary Nanna said...
oh bad luck, and such care with the cutting too! Someone here recently posted how they spray their silk with heavy starch to work with, and then wash it out afterwards and then the greatest evils of the fabric are avoided. Me? Not brave enough, have been burnt by slippery silk before, now I only make simple lines, but even then, I avoid like the plague because I hate handwashing.
7/19/09 5:05 PM
Emi1yKate said...
MLoyet, thankyou for the commiseration. If I cannot be a good example, I try to at least be an object lesson ;o) Renren, fabric roses might be a good start.... I've been eyeing the leftover uncut fabric, trying to decide if there's enough enough to make a simple pair of girlie boxer-shorts, maybe some fabric roses on them would be cute! TerriSmith, I do think it will be awhile before I splurge on any new silky fabric ;o) Annette1, you're right, if I had left the length as-was, I think it would have been bellybutton time! Usually I have to SHORTEN everything by inches *shrug* MaryNanna, its funny you say that about the spraystarch and washing out cos I actually did that! I guess in the end nearly every sewer must have a Story of the Silk Stuff-up :o)
7/19/09 9:02 PM
niceheart said...
I read the blog and *really* liked the muslin you made. I'm think of making this blouse in a simple white linen for summer daytime wear. The reviews here have scared me off of using slippery fabrics!
1/31/10 4:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5335 coordinates
photo
Review by Linda G on 1/6/08
Read Review

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6900 Pattern
Burda 6900 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3745 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by shannie on 8/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us