SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5752 (The Perfect Knit Dress)

34 more reviews
Viewed 1238 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/09 6:34 PM
Last Updated:7/21/09 9:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
motherwoman said...
Thanks for taking the time to show all the views of you in the garment. That is really helpful.
11/17/09 8:34 AM
mollyshark said...
Looking at this I am guessing you are maybe short-waisted and the waist is actually supposed to be slightly lower than your waist actually is. That would have the gathering hit a little slower and probably stretch out that bulk. Just a thought. I would try the pinch thing..possibly open that seam on the side and draw the material down until the bulk goes away.
8/17/09 2:39 PM
Nancywin said...
I think the dress looks great! I know how frustrating it is when you put a lot of work into something and it doesn't turn out the way you are expecting it to, but really, this does look good on you, and nobody would ever notice that it is full in the waist. the only fullness I see in the pictures looks intentional, so I say it is a winner. Maybe you'll feel better about it after you wear it a couple of times.
7/26/09 11:35 PM
nicegirl said...
I left out the stays and just used the underlinings for the waist ruching on this one; they really designed it with a lot of bulk. I'd just experiment with pinching in at the side seams and sewing down by sewing machine. Easily undone if you don't like the effect, but could make you a lot happier with the dress! You'll be hooked on knits soon enough...
7/22/09 11:50 AM
Markie1 said...
Nancy, I agree with Clin and the others-this dress looks fantastic on you! i know what you mean about fabrics-I get afraid of ruining the good ones. I think you can definitely pinch out the excess (which i would never have noticed BTW) and resew the side seams. Have you thought about multiple sizes and grading down before you cut out the pattern? i am just beginning to get onto this myself. Wear this dress happily, you look great.
7/21/09 10:01 PM
im2melo4u said...
Fantastic job! It looks great on you and the color is wonderful. In previous reviews, sewers omitted some of the facings to cut down on bulk so maybe that was why your waist was so bulky.
7/21/09 1:27 PM
eugenia123 said...
This dress looks really great, especially for a first attempt at a knit dress! I've only made a few knits but I think with practice it really does get easier - but fyi I have got this pattern and I haven't attempted it yet because having read through the instructions it looks a bit tricky - I think there are easier knit dress patterns out there - so well done with yours! I absolutely love the fabric you have chosen - the color really does suit you.
7/21/09 9:23 AM
Kayseri said...
I like this dress on you, the colour is great, and the style flattering. I've had wavy horizontal seams when I've let the fabric stretch while sewing & the seam locks it stretched. I've only been abe to fix this by cutting the seam off and trying again (unpicking stretches it even further). Looking at the closeup of the waist I think also the side seam of the bodice is a bit long. Leora's idea of working inside out sounds like a great approach.
7/21/09 1:17 AM
USMCMom said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself. On the whole, I think it's very flattering on you. And a lovely color! I do see what you mean about the lumpiness at the waistline. I think maybe juggling all those layers might be what's to blame. That's tricky, even if you've sewn knits before. Try pinching them in and tacking them down from inside. Not exactly a couture technique, but it may work. And wear it proudly! It's a testament to your conquering your fear of knits!
7/20/09 10:36 PM
carolynw said...
Put your doubts away - this dress looks amazing on you - wear it often - you'll get compliments. Keep on sewing knits you did a fantastic job first time around!!
7/20/09 9:35 PM
Leora said...
It seems like you could put it on inside out and pinch the extra, baste it, try it right side and tweak until you get it looking better. This is a really nice dress on you!!
7/20/09 9:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
My first instant reaction was "WOW!" I adore this color and style on you. I could not believe that this was your first time in working with knits. It's difficult to tell from the picture of problems you had. I do hope you make more knit outfits.
7/20/09 9:23 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
It's such a bummer when a pattern doesn't work out . . . this pattern didn't work for me, either! I also had a "fear of knits", but the more I sew with them, the more comfortable I am with them. Keep sewing!!
7/20/09 8:06 PM
sewbehind said...
Nancy, I don't know enough about fitting to tell you why your midriff section is rippled. However, previous reviews have mentioned that they didn't use all the facings required in this area. Congratulations on getting over your fear of knits.
7/20/09 7:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now