Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8539 (MISSES' JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 917 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR
About KarmenGstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/09 12:34 PM
Last Updated:7/19/09 12:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nata said...
Lois, I absolutely love the polka dot binding. I hope you win the fair :)
7/19/09 12:41 PM
marjenann said...
Dazzling, show stopper coat!! Impeccable finishing! Couldn't be better! And you look fantastic!!!
7/19/09 1:36 PM
Ann Smith said...
How beautiful your jacket is! Such perfect construction. The judges should be impressed. I especially like the buttonhole technique in this design. And the color.
7/19/09 2:17 PM
Patti B said...
Just lovely! Your custom touches make this very special. As usual, your techniques are perfect. If you think it's too large for you, I'll be glad to take it off your hands! hee hee
7/19/09 2:23 PM
Riesie said...
Wonderful coat, and my favorite color! I loved the buttonhole technique you used, very clever. I will keep my fingers crossed that you win a ribbon at the fair.
7/19/09 3:29 PM
Annette1 said...
I've been curious about how this coat would make up, and yours has made up WONDERFULLY. I really enjoyed all the pictures of the INSIDE, just as much as the outside. You've finished it beautifully. GREAT idea, too, with the in-seam buttonholes. I hope I remember that next time I'm working with a bulky fabric. :o)
7/19/09 4:17 PM
khunter said...
You gotta love a red coat!. Love the details especially the buttonholes. Great job.
7/19/09 4:33 PM
moonchild61 said...
Beautiful coat; Great Job!
7/19/09 6:04 PM
Karendee said...
Marvelous coat and review. The coat, style, color, workmanship, and fabric all are wonderful. Great job!!
7/19/09 6:24 PM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is ashow stopper for sure - great techniques make this a real stand out. Very helpful review
7/19/09 6:49 PM
apple annie said...
Great looking coat Lois, and I too hope you win a prize for this beauty. Loved your choice for the Hong Kong finish and I too would choose to skip the back neck facing in a coat---too much bulk for my liking. Did you experiment with various interfacings before making your choice?
7/19/09 9:35 PM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. Yes Apple Annie - I did test several interfacings prior to selecting mine. My favorites for lighter or firmer support weren't right. The Flex Weave was a good mid-range support which adhered to my fabric very well.
7/20/09 0:44 AM
calypso said...
Lois- Beautiful coat and your detail work is impeccable - as usual. Great job!!
7/20/09 8:51 AM
Woolygal said...
This is a perfect "grab and go" coat. Looks great.
7/20/09 9:18 AM
SueV said...
really nice!
7/21/09 1:20 PM
katie lynne said...
Wow! What a great carcoat. (do they still use that term, I'm a child of the 50s :-)) Your inventive buttonholes are such a brilliant solution. Thanks for so much front end information--start to finish, and pics of the inside. I'm learning a lot.
7/21/09 7:48 PM
ShastaKatt said...
A fantastic coat; you will get plenty of wear out of it, even in sunny CA. I know, lived there a few years. Keep us informed about the judging; I'd give it a blue ribbon!!!
7/26/09 6:39 PM
Kay Y said...
Hey, FIRST PRIZE at the LA County Fair!!! That's good! Nice jacket :)
9/5/09 7:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful coat and a very helpful review -- I really like the changes you made for the buttonholes. Congratulations on your big win at the LA County Fair.
9/6/09 1:19 PM
Tall Mary said...
You and your coat won at the LA fair. Yea!
9/6/09 3:26 PM
AnneM said...
Great job, and congratulations. Love the color.
9/6/09 8:01 PM
Pokerbelle said...
I also made this jacket this winter in boiled wool--short version with funky square buttons. Turned out fabulous and I get many compliments. I did make it in a size smaller to get a slightly more 'fitted' look than in the picture but still true to design. Lined it fully but woulkd have appreciated a clearer 'how-to' for doing this. A keeper. Kathy L. 2/20/10 Canada
2/21/10 1:20 AM
LBH said...
Very helpful review - esp alert re collar height, I know this will be an issue for me. Your work is beautiful. I especially love the buttonhole treatment. Congrats on your well deserved prize!
2/25/10 6:43 PM
MareeAlison said...
Fantastic review - you should win an award for this too. I love your coat - it looks fantastic.
4/16/11 10:43 PM
MidnightBleu said...
Saw your review for this coat. Your coat convinced me to try the pattern. Found your review really helpful, especially about the amount of ease. Congrats on the LA Fair win--no small accomplishment. And your pictures here (and on flickr are really helpful. Great job--love the color.
6/18/11 10:14 AM
Manalto said...
Great job - all your alterations were thoughtful improvements.
11/26/11 4:01 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Looking at coat patterns, came across your review. What a great job you did on this. I love the buttonhole seam you added; great idea! Love those Diego buttons, too. I wish I had set some aside for myself before they sold out! Thanks for the inspiration!
12/7/11 6:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by BluestRose on 11/5/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1984 Palazzo Pant
photo
Review by Tailypo on 8/22/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us