SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8539 (MISSES' JACKET)

4 more reviews
Viewed 940 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/09 12:34 PM
Last Updated:7/19/09 12:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
whistlin dixie said...
Looking at coat patterns, came across your review. What a great job you did on this. I love the buttonhole seam you added; great idea! Love those Diego buttons, too. I wish I had set some aside for myself before they sold out! Thanks for the inspiration!
12/7/11 6:02 PM
Manalto said...
Great job - all your alterations were thoughtful improvements.
11/26/11 4:01 PM
MidnightBleu said...
Saw your review for this coat. Your coat convinced me to try the pattern. Found your review really helpful, especially about the amount of ease. Congrats on the LA Fair win--no small accomplishment. And your pictures here (and on flickr are really helpful. Great job--love the color.
6/18/11 10:14 AM
MareeAlison said...
Fantastic review - you should win an award for this too. I love your coat - it looks fantastic.
4/16/11 10:43 PM
LBH said...
Very helpful review - esp alert re collar height, I know this will be an issue for me. Your work is beautiful. I especially love the buttonhole treatment. Congrats on your well deserved prize!
2/25/10 6:43 PM
Pokerbelle said...
I also made this jacket this winter in boiled wool--short version with funky square buttons. Turned out fabulous and I get many compliments. I did make it in a size smaller to get a slightly more 'fitted' look than in the picture but still true to design. Lined it fully but woulkd have appreciated a clearer 'how-to' for doing this. A keeper. Kathy L. 2/20/10 Canada
2/21/10 1:20 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, and congratulations. Love the color.
9/6/09 8:01 PM
Tall Mary said...
You and your coat won at the LA fair. Yea!
9/6/09 3:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful coat and a very helpful review -- I really like the changes you made for the buttonholes. Congratulations on your big win at the LA County Fair.
9/6/09 1:19 PM
Kay Y said...
Hey, FIRST PRIZE at the LA County Fair!!! That's good! Nice jacket :)
9/5/09 7:52 PM
ShastaKatt said...
A fantastic coat; you will get plenty of wear out of it, even in sunny CA. I know, lived there a few years. Keep us informed about the judging; I'd give it a blue ribbon!!!
7/26/09 6:39 PM
katie lynne said...
Wow! What a great carcoat. (do they still use that term, I'm a child of the 50s :-)) Your inventive buttonholes are such a brilliant solution. Thanks for so much front end information--start to finish, and pics of the inside. I'm learning a lot.
7/21/09 7:48 PM
SueV said...
really nice!
7/21/09 1:20 PM
Woolygal said...
This is a perfect "grab and go" coat. Looks great.
7/20/09 9:18 AM
calypso said...
Lois- Beautiful coat and your detail work is impeccable - as usual. Great job!!
7/20/09 8:51 AM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. Yes Apple Annie - I did test several interfacings prior to selecting mine. My favorites for lighter or firmer support weren't right. The Flex Weave was a good mid-range support which adhered to my fabric very well.
7/20/09 0:44 AM
apple annie said...
Great looking coat Lois, and I too hope you win a prize for this beauty. Loved your choice for the Hong Kong finish and I too would choose to skip the back neck facing in a coat---too much bulk for my liking. Did you experiment with various interfacings before making your choice?
7/19/09 9:35 PM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is ashow stopper for sure - great techniques make this a real stand out. Very helpful review
7/19/09 6:49 PM
Karendee said...
Marvelous coat and review. The coat, style, color, workmanship, and fabric all are wonderful. Great job!!
7/19/09 6:24 PM
moonchild61 said...
Beautiful coat; Great Job!
7/19/09 6:04 PM
khunter said...
You gotta love a red coat!. Love the details especially the buttonholes. Great job.
7/19/09 4:33 PM
Annette1 said...
I've been curious about how this coat would make up, and yours has made up WONDERFULLY. I really enjoyed all the pictures of the INSIDE, just as much as the outside. You've finished it beautifully. GREAT idea, too, with the in-seam buttonholes. I hope I remember that next time I'm working with a bulky fabric. :o)
7/19/09 4:17 PM
Riesie said...
Wonderful coat, and my favorite color! I loved the buttonhole technique you used, very clever. I will keep my fingers crossed that you win a ribbon at the fair.
7/19/09 3:29 PM
Patti B said...
Just lovely! Your custom touches make this very special. As usual, your techniques are perfect. If you think it's too large for you, I'll be glad to take it off your hands! hee hee
7/19/09 2:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
How beautiful your jacket is! Such perfect construction. The judges should be impressed. I especially like the buttonhole technique in this design. And the color.
7/19/09 2:17 PM
marjenann said...
Dazzling, show stopper coat!! Impeccable finishing! Couldn't be better! And you look fantastic!!!
7/19/09 1:36 PM
Nata said...
Lois, I absolutely love the polka dot binding. I hope you win the fair :)
7/19/09 12:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2922

photo
by: karen n

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now