SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5884 (Blouse)

15 more reviews
Viewed 368 times 
Reviewed by:jannw

About jannwstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews: 190 (patterns: 175)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/09 1:08 PM
Last Updated:7/25/09 10:46 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
jannw said... (7/26/09 8:41 PM) Reply
claire e..don't let me put you is a cute top and can be worn in many situations, depending upon the fabric..I thought it was low for my tastes and I feel that the slit is uneccessary as you can get the same results(room to tie the tie) by leaving about a 3" space at the CF when you attach the collar and ties. If you normally have to lower darts, this may not be an issue at all. Everyone..thank you for the kind comments..and I will be making this again. This is a pattern that is worth the adjustments. jan
ClaireF in CA said... (7/26/09 5:57 PM) Reply
I have this pattern all ready to sew, but now that I've read your review, I'm not so sure!! Your top, however, looks great and I love your fabric choice!
Rhonda Noah said... (7/26/09 10:10 AM) Reply
Nice top. I hadn't noticed this pattern before. Also, a great review. Thanks for the heads up on what could be problem areas.
Em's Summer said... (7/26/09 9:23 AM) Reply
What a cute top!!!
Kay Y said... (7/26/09 9:05 AM) Reply
Very pretty! I prefer your ungathered version to the picture on the envelope.
Leora said... (7/26/09 4:46 AM) Reply
Pretty top!
FreyaStark said... (7/25/09 5:27 AM) Reply
Wow! A really beautiful blouse.
Sallygirl said... (7/24/09 11:49 PM) Reply
I'm in the process of sewing this, having to make some changes to make it work for me. You're right, it's LOW and I even made my slit half what it called for. Thanks for the heads up about the binding. I am pretty sure I'm going with the short puffed sleeves, but at this point I'm sleeping on it.
leanmeansewingmachine said... (7/24/09 11:29 PM) Reply
Nice job! I just bought this pattern. Thanks for the review!
geeklite said... (7/24/09 2:39 PM) Reply
I'm glad to know that I'm not the only person where the slit in the front would be so low. Mine looked downright silly - maybe I'll try your alteration.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 9769

by: Artemisia ...

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details