SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5884 (Blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 366 times 
Reviewed by:jannw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jannwstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/09 1:08 PM
Last Updated:7/25/09 10:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
geeklite said...
I'm glad to know that I'm not the only person where the slit in the front would be so low. Mine looked downright silly - maybe I'll try your alteration.
7/24/09 2:39 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Nice job! I just bought this pattern. Thanks for the review!
7/24/09 11:29 PM
Sallygirl said...
I'm in the process of sewing this, having to make some changes to make it work for me. You're right, it's LOW and I even made my slit half what it called for. Thanks for the heads up about the binding. I am pretty sure I'm going with the short puffed sleeves, but at this point I'm sleeping on it.
7/24/09 11:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! A really beautiful blouse.
7/25/09 5:27 AM
Leora said...
Pretty top!
7/26/09 4:46 AM
Kay Y said...
Very pretty! I prefer your ungathered version to the picture on the envelope.
7/26/09 9:05 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top!!!
7/26/09 9:23 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Nice top. I hadn't noticed this pattern before. Also, a great review. Thanks for the heads up on what could be problem areas.
7/26/09 10:10 AM
ClaireF in CA said...
I have this pattern all ready to sew, but now that I've read your review, I'm not so sure!! Your top, however, looks great and I love your fabric choice!
7/26/09 5:57 PM
jannw said...
claire e..don't let me put you off..it is a cute top and can be worn in many situations, depending upon the fabric..I thought it was low for my tastes and I feel that the slit is uneccessary as you can get the same results(room to tie the tie) by leaving about a 3" space at the CF when you attach the collar and ties. If you normally have to lower darts, this may not be an issue at all. Everyone..thank you for the kind comments..and I will be making this again. This is a pattern that is worth the adjustments. jan
7/26/09 8:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: kealoha

Review