SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5884 (Blouse)

15 more reviews
Viewed 368 times 
Reviewed by:jannw
photo

 
 
About jannwstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews: 190 (patterns: 175)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/09 1:08 PM
Last Updated:7/25/09 10:46 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said... (7/26/09 8:41 PM) Reply
claire e..don't let me put you off..it is a cute top and can be worn in many situations, depending upon the fabric..I thought it was low for my tastes and I feel that the slit is uneccessary as you can get the same results(room to tie the tie) by leaving about a 3" space at the CF when you attach the collar and ties. If you normally have to lower darts, this may not be an issue at all. Everyone..thank you for the kind comments..and I will be making this again. This is a pattern that is worth the adjustments. jan
ClaireF in CA said... (7/26/09 5:57 PM) Reply
I have this pattern all ready to sew, but now that I've read your review, I'm not so sure!! Your top, however, looks great and I love your fabric choice!
Rhonda Noah said... (7/26/09 10:10 AM) Reply
Nice top. I hadn't noticed this pattern before. Also, a great review. Thanks for the heads up on what could be problem areas.
Em's Summer said... (7/26/09 9:23 AM) Reply
What a cute top!!!
Kay Y said... (7/26/09 9:05 AM) Reply
Very pretty! I prefer your ungathered version to the picture on the envelope.
Leora said... (7/26/09 4:46 AM) Reply
Pretty top!
FreyaStark said... (7/25/09 5:27 AM) Reply
Wow! A really beautiful blouse.
Sallygirl said... (7/24/09 11:49 PM) Reply
I'm in the process of sewing this, having to make some changes to make it work for me. You're right, it's LOW and I even made my slit half what it called for. Thanks for the heads up about the binding. I am pretty sure I'm going with the short puffed sleeves, but at this point I'm sleeping on it.
leanmeansewingmachine said... (7/24/09 11:29 PM) Reply
Nice job! I just bought this pattern. Thanks for the review!
geeklite said... (7/24/09 2:39 PM) Reply
I'm glad to know that I'm not the only person where the slit in the front would be so low. Mine looked downright silly - maybe I'll try your alteration.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Tessuti Fave top

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 09-2010-418

photo
by: KateS

Review
Wonder Wallet Paper Pattern

Wonder Wallet Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Pattern Details