SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5101 (Wrap top & pants)

25 more reviews
Viewed 794 times 
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 72 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/09 11:49 AM
Last Updated:8/23/09 2:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth Designs said...
I had this pattern in my collection for awhile and after seeing how lovely your top looks, it has made me want to put it on my to do list.
5/4/11 9:31 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I bought this pattern for the skirt, which I love & have made several of, but never really warmed to the top. Now that I've seen your version though, this has been elevated to a must sew. It looks absolutely gorgeous - thanks for the inspiration!
4/29/10 6:04 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty. I missed this review in the summer while traveling and came upon it this evening while planning to sew up the pants on this pattern. Your top is absolutely elegant.
11/26/09 11:47 PM
halleyscomet said...
I love wrap tops and this looks great on you! I've had this pattern for awhile but haven't used it yet. Your review is inspiring me to make something from this pattern.
8/24/09 9:01 AM
carolynw said...
Geez I have this pattern and never thought it could look so nice - thanks for the review - will move it up the line of "to do" now
8/23/09 10:13 PM
Sharon Smith said...
You look terrific in this, it really shows off your long legs! What a great style, and bears repeating with the 2 piece outfit. Thanks for the tie alert.
8/23/09 5:23 PM
Markie1 said...
I love the combination of the fabric and pattern--you chose it beautifully. I agree about wrap tops, they are usually cleavage showcases-but this one looks feminine and cozy on you. I love it.
8/23/09 3:56 PM
frame said...
Your outfit looks terrific. I love the fabric for your top.
8/23/09 3:14 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a great looking outfit! You make the blouse look quite chic. I need to put that pattern on my list. Nice review.
8/23/09 3:08 PM
LollyVee said...
Love that knit fabric..the print is stunning on you. It would look great with a pair of dark denium jeans! PS: not made for ties either. Thanks for a great review as always.
8/23/09 2:46 PM
Kim12469 said...
Great top! This is one of my favorite wrap patterns. I love the print too.
8/23/09 2:24 PM
katie lynne said...
Cute, cute, cute! I'm with you, I didn't think I liked this pattern, there's so many wrap tops out now. Your point about the tie is right on, I would like the 'non-bow' tie too. Thanks for a very great review. Also, I peeked at your blogsite--are you making your wedding outfit?
7/26/09 4:39 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Well done . . . a great, classic top! Amazing how many unneccessary back seams are drawn into patterns these days . . . it's good to know that this pattern doesn't need one!
7/26/09 11:57 AM
kathleencramer said...
The top really turned out cute. I purchased this pattern so that I could make the top also. It looks so good on the cover, and now seeing yours, I am more motivated to pull it out of my pile. Nice job eliminating the back seam. I'm not sure why they would put that in there... It turned out really sophisticated and love that knit fabric. Thanks for the tip on the ties.
7/25/09 10:22 PM
Sigrid. said...
Cute top.
7/25/09 4:31 PM
AquariJenn said...
This pattern is on my late summer to-do list (ok...left over from last summer's to-do list). Thanks for the review. I hope mine turns out as well as yours. :)
7/25/09 3:11 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks for the heads up on the ties. I think this top is really cute. I'll start on this when I start on my fall/winter wardrobe.
7/25/09 12:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 3532

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
Butterick B5316

photo
by: SewLuva

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now