SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5101 (Wrap top & pants)

25 more reviews
Viewed 793 times 
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/09 11:49 AM
Last Updated:8/23/09 2:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks for the heads up on the ties. I think this top is really cute. I'll start on this when I start on my fall/winter wardrobe.
7/25/09 12:07 PM
AquariJenn said...
This pattern is on my late summer to-do list (ok...left over from last summer's to-do list). Thanks for the review. I hope mine turns out as well as yours. :)
7/25/09 3:11 PM
Sigrid. said...
Cute top.
7/25/09 4:31 PM
kathleencramer said...
The top really turned out cute. I purchased this pattern so that I could make the top also. It looks so good on the cover, and now seeing yours, I am more motivated to pull it out of my pile. Nice job eliminating the back seam. I'm not sure why they would put that in there... It turned out really sophisticated and love that knit fabric. Thanks for the tip on the ties.
7/25/09 10:22 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Well done . . . a great, classic top! Amazing how many unneccessary back seams are drawn into patterns these days . . . it's good to know that this pattern doesn't need one!
7/26/09 11:57 AM
katie lynne said...
Cute, cute, cute! I'm with you, I didn't think I liked this pattern, there's so many wrap tops out now. Your point about the tie is right on, I would like the 'non-bow' tie too. Thanks for a very great review. Also, I peeked at your blogsite--are you making your wedding outfit?
7/26/09 4:39 PM
Kim12469 said...
Great top! This is one of my favorite wrap patterns. I love the print too.
8/23/09 2:24 PM
LollyVee said...
Love that knit fabric..the print is stunning on you. It would look great with a pair of dark denium jeans! PS: not made for ties either. Thanks for a great review as always.
8/23/09 2:46 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a great looking outfit! You make the blouse look quite chic. I need to put that pattern on my list. Nice review.
8/23/09 3:08 PM
frame said...
Your outfit looks terrific. I love the fabric for your top.
8/23/09 3:14 PM
Markie1 said...
I love the combination of the fabric and pattern--you chose it beautifully. I agree about wrap tops, they are usually cleavage showcases-but this one looks feminine and cozy on you. I love it.
8/23/09 3:56 PM
Sharon Smith said...
You look terrific in this, it really shows off your long legs! What a great style, and bears repeating with the 2 piece outfit. Thanks for the tie alert.
8/23/09 5:23 PM
carolynw said...
Geez I have this pattern and never thought it could look so nice - thanks for the review - will move it up the line of "to do" now
8/23/09 10:13 PM
halleyscomet said...
I love wrap tops and this looks great on you! I've had this pattern for awhile but haven't used it yet. Your review is inspiring me to make something from this pattern.
8/24/09 9:01 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty. I missed this review in the summer while traveling and came upon it this evening while planning to sew up the pants on this pattern. Your top is absolutely elegant.
11/26/09 11:47 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I bought this pattern for the skirt, which I love & have made several of, but never really warmed to the top. Now that I've seen your version though, this has been elevated to a must sew. It looks absolutely gorgeous - thanks for the inspiration!
4/29/10 6:04 AM
Ruth Designs said...
I had this pattern in my collection for awhile and after seeing how lovely your top looks, it has made me want to put it on my to do list.
5/4/11 9:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-132B

photo
by: tiadia

Review
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Other Desmond Jacket

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review