Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2009-102 (knit dress, asymmetrical pleat) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1148 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/09 3:41 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
Flattering and pretty on you.
7/30/09 3:52 PM
Leora said...
I hadn't noticed this pattern, I'll have to read the other reviews. Such a pretty dress!
7/30/09 4:08 PM
smoody said...
love the colors and the dress style!!!
7/30/09 4:17 PM
Karen6790 said...
That's why I never get rid of BWOF - the minute it's gone, you want it back. This was definitely worth the search because it looks great on you. Interesting that I tend to think of you as looking great in vivid colors, but this is beautiful on you, and I love your "fake fba", I've done something similar myself!
7/30/09 4:19 PM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice in that fabric. Did you end up putting a zipper in?
7/30/09 4:20 PM
Knitters Delight said...
How pretty!
7/30/09 4:31 PM
RLL said...
Perfect match of fabric to pattern. Perfect fit. Looks like a real winner!
7/30/09 4:41 PM
Twinset said...
You look lovely. Beautiful and well made!
7/30/09 4:45 PM
Erica B. said...
Very pretty dress! Great print!
7/30/09 4:55 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Absolutely lovely! That color really suits you. Don't you just love those coverstitch machines?
7/30/09 5:08 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely style and color. Gorgeous on you!
7/30/09 5:13 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress! I originally liked this pattern but then started thinking it looked really young. But on you it's very pretty and classic so I think will go back on my to-do list. Beautiful fabric as well.
7/30/09 5:19 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress - you are rocking with those shoes !!
7/30/09 5:31 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, your fabric is really pretty.
7/30/09 5:44 PM
dbsewer said...
Love the fabric and the dress. It really suits you. Yes, sewing with rayon/lycra is a challenge but after the first few times you'll get the hang of it. You did your usually good job on this.
7/30/09 5:49 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Your dress is beautiful and you look absolutely beautiful in it. The print of course I love it. Another BWOF winner for you.
7/30/09 5:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely dress. Well done.
7/30/09 5:57 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! Very pretty!
7/30/09 6:42 PM
lmg said...
You look stunning in that dress. Thanks for the info on the fake FBA. I agree, every time I get rid of a Burda, I regret it. That's why I have them all the way back to 1999. Yikes.
7/30/09 6:56 PM
donna mel said...
love the dress deepika! its a perfect fit and the empire waist is super flattering. thanks for the tips...i'll need them when i get the burda magazine back and make this for myself!
7/30/09 7:03 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Very nice looking, and I love your "fake FBA" idea. I will be using that one!
7/30/09 7:05 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a beautiful dress! It was obviously meant to be. The style and colour is so incredibly flattering on you. And if you come anywhere near me wearing those shoes I'm stealing them right off your feet! LOL!
7/30/09 7:12 PM
maedchen said...
Beautiful!
7/30/09 7:52 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous dress, it's super flattering ion you, both the style and the fabric.
7/30/09 7:53 PM
PVA said...
Ditto to *All* of the above, I love the dress & how it looks on you. Thanks for the great review.
7/30/09 8:12 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great dress and very helpful review. I love the fabric!
7/30/09 9:47 PM
sideseams said...
Love the dress on you. Really liked the tip about a fake fba. Clever.
7/30/09 9:55 PM
meli88a said...
nice job on the Fake FBA! Thanks for sharing.
7/30/09 10:21 PM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely dress.
7/31/09 5:00 AM
Fran S said...
This is lovely on you Deepika. The fit looks perfect.
7/31/09 7:06 AM
vivianna said...
It is lovely!
7/31/09 7:34 AM
mending maven said...
You hit it out of the ballpark with this one! LOVELY! Great fit, wonderful colors and very flattering on you. LOVELY
7/31/09 9:33 AM
grey ann said...
Deepika, the dress looks very nice on you. I want to thank you for developing Pattern Review into such a great resource. I check it everyday. Thank you, thank you.! Ann
7/31/09 9:36 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress on you. That fabric is so pretty and yes, works well!
7/31/09 9:45 AM
cindyann said...
So pretty! That print was made for you.
7/31/09 10:16 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look absolutely fabulous in this dress Deepika. The fabric is really pretty and fresh looking. Sorry I gave up my subscription to Burda this year.
7/31/09 10:31 AM
patsijean said...
If the neck stretches in spite of the binding, I would not store the dress on a hanger, even with hanger loops. Fold and store in a drawer as you would a nice sweater or special T-Shirt.
7/31/09 10:46 AM
Vintage Joan said...
What a lovely dress! :)
7/31/09 11:12 AM
becca a said...
Beautiful dress, perfect fit. Thank you for the "fake FBA" adjustment picture and explanation. Very helpful review.
7/31/09 11:35 AM
Deepika said...
redhotpepper I did not sew a zipper. I edited my review to add that. Sharon I do love my CS machine but I clearly need more practice. And a clear view foot. Sew4Fun I found those shoes on sale at DSW. They are a peculiar color but I love them! patsijean thanks, I will store it with my sweaters. Thanks for such nice comments everyone!
7/31/09 2:16 PM
Annette1 said...
You're pretty as a picture in your new dress, Deepika. Such a flattering style and PRETTY colors! (I've got a clear view foot on the way as we speak. I can't wait!)
8/1/09 0:07 AM
ryan's mom said...
Love it!!! Perfect print, style, and color on you!.
8/2/09 1:34 PM
mochimo said...
So lovely! I also made this dress recently and love wearing it.
8/5/09 3:57 AM
Laura C. said...
Very nice dress! I'd love to learn more about fake FBA as my daughter's bustline is challenging.
8/14/09 10:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 8294
photo
Review by Jane S on 10/27/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Home Sweet Home Pillow
photo
Review by Sew Nanny on 12/12/08
Read Review

Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us