Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2917 (Women's Tunic)

14 more reviews
Viewed 581 times 
Reviewed by:PatCSM
photo

 
 
About PatCSMstar
MS USA
Member since: 5/8/07
Reviews: 44 (patterns: 33)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/09 5:21 PM
Last Updated:7/30/09 5:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said... (8/1/09 11:37 PM) Reply
PatCSM, that's a great idea. I'm glad to hear it, because you are almost there. I do the same thing.
PatCSM said... (8/1/09 5:53 AM) Reply
Thanks for all your comments. I think I will put this away for a couple of weeks, then pull it out and try again.
Annette1 said... (8/1/09 0:11 AM) Reply
No, don't throw it out, or at least don't give up on this pattern! You just need to go down a size, in my NON-EXPERT opinion, or at least one. It really drapes so beautifully, and the neckline is so cute! I think if you just go down a notch, you'll have it made in the shade!
BeeBeeSew said... (7/31/09 8:38 AM) Reply
Oh, I so agree, this is way too big! Your front seams should be more towards the center, across the apex of the bust. Your shoulders and neck are too big, even the bustline under your arms. Look how it pulls under and in front of the arm and the shoulder seam is too long. You probably need to start with a size smaller and not take out so much of the shaping. You took all the shaping out of the top below the bust, look at how it flares out about where your hands are. When you did your FBA did you take back in the extra below the bust line? Honestly, I think this style would be very flattering on you, would give you some shape, but you just haven't gotten there yet on this one. I would put it on wrong side out and start pinning to see how you can improve it. I hope I didn't come across as mean, I really meant my comments to help. I think you could look really nice in this style, but I suspect you started too big and then over-altered the bust line.
arianamaniacs said... (7/31/09 3:25 AM) Reply
I also think that you'd be happier with it with a smaller size. I don't know if you added width to the center front, but the princess lines will be more flattering if they fall directly over the center of the breast. A seam down the center front might be able to fix that and make the fit more tailored. Keep trying!
Cathy Loves Fabric said... (7/31/09 1:10 AM) Reply
Pat, I agree with Clin. I am an apple too and have made similar patterns. In my opinion, the neck and high bust are too big. For example, from armpit to armpit. Ok there is a much better term for armpit, lol. I start with a smaller neck and armhole size and add extra to the side seam and FBA. And there is too much fabric around your stomach, which is contributing to the look you don't like. The raised neckline and FBA look great and that was the hard part. You have an awful lot of work in this pattern, but it is possible for it to still work for you. Princess seams are the apple's best friend! Good luck. Happy Sewing.
carolynw said... (7/30/09 9:58 PM) Reply
Geez I hope I don't offend you but I think the problem is that you are making this bigger than you need to - If you take in some of the excess in the seams from the bust down I bet you'll be more happy with the fit - let's see what others have to say
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7607

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Pattern Details