Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8590 (TOTES AND DOUBLE BAGS) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 573 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/09 10:43 PM
Last Updated:8/25/09 8:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Patti the bag is gorgeous. Like you, I too have several Marcy Tilton patterns, but unfortunately never seem to have enough time to sew them. The colors in your bag are a real inspiration.
8/3/09 0:35 AM
valerie sews said...
Super cute bag - looks better than the ones on the envelope
8/3/09 8:08 AM
beth5646 said...
Excellent. I love your bag. I have been thinking about making that pattern for my sisters for Christmas. Thanks for your review. Very helpful.
8/3/09 11:01 AM
sew2little said...
Patti--It's beautiful! Marci
8/3/09 7:38 PM
Leora said...
The red piping accents the fabrics beautifully. Pretty bag!
8/4/09 0:45 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking bag. You did a beautiful job on it.
8/4/09 7:40 PM
Mrs. Columbo said...
I looked at this pattern and debated getting it ... I thought I'd have trouble with the elastic ... now I have to buy it. LOL :)
8/7/09 11:00 AM
KarmenG said...
I'm trying to decide on a pattern to make a gift for a friend. This pattern is a contender - more so after your good experience. You bag is wonderful. Have a great trip and thanks for all the hints. (I had not read about sewing off the fabric when leaving a slit in lining - thanks for the helpful tip!)
8/21/09 7:53 PM
Tere Sews said...
I am so glad you reviewed this. I am going to Marcy's Design Outside the Lines in Taos next month and was debating what project to work on. Definitely the bag. I have a collection of dupioni scraps that will be a base for surface design to make the body of this bag. Thanks for the tips on the pockets.
8/26/09 8:22 AM
nancy2001 said...
It's good to know you're bag works well for you.
8/26/09 10:36 AM
Diane E said...
Beautiful bag and really helpful review, Patti. I'm looking for interesting stash-busting patterns, and this looks like a great pick.
9/7/09 12:31 PM
JDpenelope said...
Patti--Somehow, I missed this review. Your bag is gorgeous and the addition of the piping is an elegant touch. Does the pattern have good instructions for an insert? (I hate figuring stuff out myself.) This bag looks like an option for MY upcoming trip. I like all the pockets, the elastic, the shape, and the roominess. Glad it worked so well for you.
9/8/09 7:50 PM
Cynott said...
I just bought this pattern this weekend, so I was excited to see your picture. Your bag came out beautiful. Thanks for the review.
12/1/09 8:38 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Patti~ LOVE your bag! Seems like we have the same taste ( I DO love your SW top too!) and by your GREAT reviews I did purchase your shorts pattern too~ I think you are an EXCELLENT seamstress and I will ba watching what you make from now on ~ knowing that it will be very close to my taste in clothing! This is the first bag I will be making so I am looking forward to doing this one( and you enabled me b/c I went out and purchased this pattern ( when JAnne's had the sale of course) because I want to make this bag so much! ( It will be my first review too!) THANKS for the advice on handles etc,,,I kinda though it would require more than it was called for, or maybe I carry too much in my bags?
5/15/10 10:44 AM
Cultured Purl said...
PS~ Patti I added you on as one of my "favorites" so I can follow your sewing adventures ( and advice) Oh I am not so sure if I am supposed to tell this or not~ If not I hope they will let me know,,,,
5/15/10 10:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 2/2/10
Read Review

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7003 Pattern
Burda 7003 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1010 Lady Grey
photo
Review by Lynnelle on 11/20/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us