Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: Clio Blouse (Clio Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 763 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/09 5:10 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
Beautiful blouse -- you look great in it!
8/5/09 5:16 PM
Izzie said...
What a nice tunic! Your "ruined" fabric looks fabulous! Thanks for the review, I had not seen this pattern yet.
8/5/09 5:32 PM
DorothyK said...
I like this pattern very much. Your top looks wonderful on you. I like all the techniques you described. As usual, you did a great job.
8/5/09 5:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
A stylish and distinctive top. Well done, and thanks for alerting us to this interesting pattern. I have fabrics that would suit it very well.
8/5/09 5:57 PM
Aixoise said...
Lovely top. The lines are very becoming, and the collar frames your face beautifully. Your workmanship is so good. Thanks for making me aware of this pattern.
8/5/09 5:58 PM
SueV said...
really nice! thanks for the review.... I think I *need* this pattern
8/5/09 6:29 PM
mleclair said...
Really lovely. It fits so well and you look wonderful. A great inspiration to try La Fred patters. Thanks.
8/5/09 6:36 PM
sew2little said...
Barbara--You look so chic! Beautiful marriage of pattern and fabric! Marci
8/5/09 7:07 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
You've sewn an elegant & stylish tunic! Lovely, lovely, lovely!
8/5/09 7:21 PM
carolynw said...
This is very nice Barb - am waiting to see the striped version - next week? I like the idea of the bottom being on the bias as this should reduce unflattering flaring out
8/5/09 7:28 PM
Material Girl 1 said...
What a beautiful job you did and I love the fabric and the color. Thanks for such a good thorough review!
8/5/09 8:01 PM
Patti B said...
What a flattering, stylish top! I had convinced myself that I didn't need this pattern -- may need to reconsider that.
8/5/09 8:01 PM
RLL said...
This is gorgeous! I love the pattern, the fabric and the way it fits you.
8/5/09 8:07 PM
nancyc said...
This blouse looks great on you! I love your fabric choice. Nice job and great review. Thanks for including the tips. This is the first time I have seen this pattern.
8/5/09 8:16 PM
Morisot said...
Lovely lines. Beautiful fabric and workmanship. And it looks great on you.
8/5/09 10:50 PM
Mary in MS said...
What a beautiful blouse :)
8/6/09 0:04 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for this review! I received the email notification from La Fred last week, but thought the top looked too big and baggy. Yours is beautiful. Just enough swing to showcase the lines without being sloppy. The Thai silk was a great choice for this. Very nice!
8/6/09 6:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for alerting me to this pattern. Your top is lovely and the choice of the silk was inspired.
8/6/09 7:02 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
The blouse is gorgeous. Wow. I love the lines on you. I may have to get this pattern.
8/6/09 8:03 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! It looks better in real life than in her illustrations. Maybe the fact that you took it in a bit and cut it smaller. It is a very becoming blouse with the neckline and the fit.
8/6/09 8:40 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a fabulous top. I hesitated to buy this with just fashion drawings on the pattern cover but your pictures mean that I'll be adding this one to my collection.
8/6/09 9:14 AM
calminatrix said...
you look beautiful in your perfectly constructed blouse! the fabric is gorgeous, ruined or not!
8/6/09 9:33 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Gorgeous! gorgeous color on you! Love how it drapes and falls. It's a tunic without being one!!
8/6/09 10:28 AM
speedykay said...
Absolutely stunning! You and the blouse! Your fabric choice is also gorgeous. I've been waiting on a review of this pattern. I just ordered, thanks to you. k
8/6/09 11:59 AM
Christas said...
What an absolutely gorgeous blouse! The color and style are so lovely. Your review is excellent!
8/6/09 12:20 PM
Peggy L said...
This looks so stylish on you. Great review.
8/6/09 1:26 PM
grey ann said...
It looks stunning on you - very becoming. I am ordering this pattern and your comments on choosing the size helped a lot. Which interfacing did you use? And please do publish the picture of the striped version. Thanks.
8/6/09 9:15 PM
Kay Y said...
Your fit alterations make this look just gorgeous on you - swingy but not baggy. Really pretty!
8/6/09 9:41 PM
Barbara V said...
Ladies, Thank you for your comments! grey ann, I used Pro-Sheer Elegance fusible interfacing from www.fashionsewingsupply.com I recently ordered a sampling after reading rave reviews about these interfacings here on PR. I wasn't disappointed. As you can see it provided light and soft support. I'm anxious to try some of the other interfacings as well.
8/6/09 10:51 PM
Heatherrique said...
I adore your elegant and eyecatchingly enticing interpretation of this pattern, Barbara! Superb color and fabric choice. You look so fine (as usual!) in this! La Fred should thank you for generating a lot of interest in this pattern and boosting sales!
8/7/09 0:39 AM
Lainy said...
I saw this pattern at a store today and really appreciated seeing your versions. I especially like the thai silk version. Think I'll give this one a try.
8/18/09 6:54 PM
Athene said...
Very nice top.
12/22/09 9:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by Jackie02 on 11/19/08
Read Review

Burda 8376 Pattern
Burda 8376 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9826 Skirt
photo
Review by KathleenS on 9/10/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us