SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5283 (Misses Knit Tops)

23 more reviews
Viewed 477 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews: 217 (patterns: 204)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 2:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireF in CA said... (9/2/09 11:32 PM) Reply
So complicated, I would have given up! But...it's cute on you!
CynthiaSue said... (8/5/09 3:30 PM) Reply
this is your color!! cute cute. thanks for the heads up about the twist. I think you look great in it.
Nancywin said... (8/5/09 9:58 AM) Reply
Another great top Melissa. You're right though, the idea of the top is fab, but I don't know if I would be wanting to adjust that twist when I was wearing it. Probably the reason you had trouble with the directions is that you have made several twist tops before, and maybe this way of doing it is counter intuitive. Anyway, you did a great job and it looks very nice on you.
Dmd4106 said... (8/5/09 1:06 AM) Reply
Cute top! I made this top too and email Butterick because I just couldn't figure the twist out. They responded rather quickly with pics and add'l instructions. I managed to finish top. I like how my muslin came out. Still haven't started on my fashion fabric but still wear muslin out quite bit. I swear the twist takes a different turn every time I wash it....lol
CA Eisenhour said... (8/4/09 9:10 PM) Reply
Lovely top Melissa!.....Your so right about Butterick being "lame." The prom gown I made for a dear friend was a Butterick pattern with ULTRA lame instructions. I recently made a twist top too, also from Butterick B5185 and the instructiions were JUST as bad! Just know it wasn't YOU...it's the pattern compaany! At any rate.....Beautiful top and I adore the color on you! ~Connie
Sherril Miller said... (8/4/09 8:29 PM) Reply
It really makes one boob stand out nicely. Now if you could just get it to do that on both sides, you'd have a really flattering top.
knitmachinequeen said... (8/4/09 5:21 PM) Reply
Okay I think the side twist does look a little weird....and I like it! I just bought that pattern a couple of weeks ago. It looks very cute on you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-1996-417

photo
by: motorharp

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Pattern Details