SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5283 (Misses Knit Tops)

23 more reviews
Viewed 477 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 2:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireF in CA said... (9/2/09 11:32 PM) Reply
So complicated, I would have given up! But...it's cute on you!
CynthiaSue said... (8/5/09 3:30 PM) Reply
this is your color!! cute cute. thanks for the heads up about the twist. I think you look great in it.
Nancywin said... (8/5/09 9:58 AM) Reply
Another great top Melissa. You're right though, the idea of the top is fab, but I don't know if I would be wanting to adjust that twist when I was wearing it. Probably the reason you had trouble with the directions is that you have made several twist tops before, and maybe this way of doing it is counter intuitive. Anyway, you did a great job and it looks very nice on you.
Dmd4106 said... (8/5/09 1:06 AM) Reply
Cute top! I made this top too and email Butterick because I just couldn't figure the twist out. They responded rather quickly with pics and add'l instructions. I managed to finish top. I like how my muslin came out. Still haven't started on my fashion fabric but still wear muslin out quite bit. I swear the twist takes a different turn every time I wash it....lol
CA Eisenhour said... (8/4/09 9:10 PM) Reply
Lovely top Melissa!.....Your so right about Butterick being "lame." The prom gown I made for a dear friend was a Butterick pattern with ULTRA lame instructions. I recently made a twist top too, also from Butterick B5185 and the instructiions were JUST as bad! Just know it wasn't YOU...it's the pattern compaany! At any rate.....Beautiful top and I adore the color on you! ~Connie
Sherril Miller said... (8/4/09 8:29 PM) Reply
It really makes one boob stand out nicely. Now if you could just get it to do that on both sides, you'd have a really flattering top.
knitmachinequeen said... (8/4/09 5:21 PM) Reply
Okay I think the side twist does look a little weird....and I like it! I just bought that pattern a couple of weeks ago. It looks very cute on you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Class Details

Marfy 2264

photo
by: yorkshire ...

Review
Other Bronte Knit Top

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Pattern Details