Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7767 (Mens shirt top) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 567 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:tinaSA
photo
About tinaSAstar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 8/29/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 3:31 PM
Last Updated:8/21/09 9:59 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathyBKnits said...
Thanks! Very helpful information!
8/4/09 5:32 PM
becca a said...
Very helpful review!
8/5/09 10:40 AM
Elona said...
The shirt sounds as though it's beautiful; certainly your choice of fabric and construction techniques are terrific--and I'd really love to see them. But the "project photo" is not clickable, and the details simply cannot be seen without that or a link to a photo somewhere else on the web. Could you supply us with a clickable pic, pretty please?
8/17/09 4:07 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ditto Elona's comments... I would love to see the details. We are all voyeurs here it would seem... Shirt looks great, even in miniature. Thanks for sharing.
8/17/09 9:40 AM
CynthiaSue said...
love it, can you make it so we can click on the picture?? It looks amazing and I want to make one for my husband!
8/17/09 11:04 AM
tinaSA said...
Hi, I'm still a newbie at posting reviews, am trying to make the photo clickable...
8/21/09 9:47 AM
Elona said...
You fixed it! I can click the photo, and it's a beautiful, classic-looking shirt! Nice job, and I bet your dh is just delighted with it.
8/21/09 10:49 AM
Terri A said...
Great fit on him. Nice job. My husband also needs an athletic tapering at the waist... Thanks for the review.
8/21/09 11:37 AM
Peter in NYC said...
I love your photo album -- thanks for posting it! As someone who makes mens shirts, this is SO helpful. I really appreciate all the details about creating seams in particular. The collar looks fantastic and your stitches are beautiful. What kind of thread did you use for this shirt, by the way. Great job!
8/21/09 11:43 AM
Peter in NYC said...

8/21/09 11:44 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Whoops -- didn't mean to re-post. Sorry!
8/21/09 11:44 AM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. I love it!
8/21/09 5:42 PM
rachel5000 said...
I love this shirt. Through the years shirts have become my absolute favorite garment to sew. You did an EXCELLENT JOB!!! Rachel
8/22/09 4:04 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent review -- thanks! Beautiful shirt.
8/22/09 7:34 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks for all the positive feedback! Peter, I used Mettler 100% cotton embroidery thread instead of my usual Mettler 100% Silk Finish sewing thread (wouldn't have tried this if I hadn't read about it in David Page Coffin's book). I found it made the topstitching look much better. I chose a medium grey - best match for the khaki.
8/23/09 3:34 PM
sofietje said...
I think the photo (even with the wrinkles) is a big compliment. It looks like your husband enjoys wearing the shirt.
8/23/09 4:09 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks sofietje, he loves the shirt! The feel of the linen is very different from ordinary cotton shirts. I'm planning to make more - I'm sure they'll be cool in our hot humid summer weather.
8/25/09 3:24 PM
Andys Mom said...
One comment I have on Burda Patterns is that the pocket always seems high. What was your opinion on pocket placement?
10/13/09 10:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Very helpful review, thanks.
12/30/11 4:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-106B Trendy Top
photo
Review by Natasha B on 6/27/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3962 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3962 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3723 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 3723 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6895 Misses Tops
photo
Review by goosegreen on 12/26/11
Read Review

Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern
Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us