SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Zona Jacket 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1019 times 
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DorothyKstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/09 11:44 PM
Last Updated:1/30/10 0:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Raye Ann said...
this is really, really, beautiful. congratulations on your new jacket!
8/7/09 0:56 AM
Fran S said...
Dorothy, Looks great! This pattern is on my wish list and I will definitely refer back to your comments when I make it. Interesting on the underlining -- I've not done that before either.
8/7/09 6:57 AM
Fran G said...
What a great job and your review highlights the value of sewing friends/mentors! The color you chose is lovely and the collar shape is a favorite of mine. Such a great pattern...thanks for the review!
8/7/09 8:39 AM
grey ann said...
Looks great! What is a "DF?" and I'm still confused about how you did the HK finish? If you matched raw edges, how did you have extra organza to wrap? Thanks.
8/7/09 8:49 AM
Karine said...
What a lovely jacket. Your finishing with the organza is brilliant! Thanks for the helpful review.
8/7/09 9:00 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking jacket - love the color of the silk - aren't good sewing buddies just worth their weight in gold?!
8/7/09 9:01 AM
Pam Padilla said...
This review was extremely helpful to me. I am glad she stayed with the project because I learned a lot from her experience.
8/7/09 10:09 AM
marthamyers said...
Yours is lovely. The color is great on you and your workmanship is flawless. Thanks for the suggestion on the collar and shoulder seam. Although I've made this twice now, both times I struggled a bit with this. Maybe I'll make it again and use the pivoting technique. Thanks for the review.
8/7/09 10:35 AM
Barbara V said...
Dorothy, your jacket turned out beautifully. The fake Hong Kong seam finish looks fantastic..so glad to be able to spend some time together working on the technique with you. Now I want to use this technique sometime soon as well. The color, fit and style look so perfect for you and is set off nicely with black on the bottom.
8/7/09 10:43 AM
stitchwitch said...
Thankyou for such a good review Dorothy. You look lovely in your jacket and so worth the effort!
8/7/09 11:47 AM
DorothyK said...
grey ann, a DF is "dear friend," just as DH is "dear husband," etc. For the fake Hong Kong finish, I made the organza 5/8" larger on each side. When I matched the raw edges of the organza with the dupioni and stitched a 1/4" seam on each side, the organza became bunched in the middle. But when I turned it right side out, the organza wrapped itself around the quarter inch seam to the other side. The extra 1/8" was taken up in the turn. Try it with some scrap fabric and you will see it works.
8/7/09 12:39 PM
persevering said...
Stunning! Glad this worked out so well for you.
8/7/09 2:58 PM
Michelle L said...
What a wonderful jacket! So chic!
8/7/09 4:32 PM
Karendee said...
This jacket is especially lovely on you. The collar and color and some of my favorites, and I love working with dupioni as well. I have saved your technique on Hong Kong seam finishes; you described it perfectly so that I can understand the process.
8/7/09 7:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
I'm so happy you persevered with this project and Barbara came along just at the right moment to help with the organza finish. This looks fantastic on you. Elvira seems to like it also.
8/7/09 9:56 PM
moushka said...
Your jacket is stunning. I've heard of the fake HK finish before but never seen it in action. Makes a great finish. Thanks for persevering as we all benefited from your experience. Great review.
10/19/09 8:24 PM
Rebecca D said...
This new version is too die for - it's no surprise that folks are stopping you on the street. The fabric is gorgeous and it's a perfect marriage with that pattern.
1/30/10 8:47 AM
carolynw said...
Dorothy this is beyond eye catching - I would certainly stop you on the street but with a view to theft of garment - good thing a continent divides us but I travel a lot so ---It's just so beautiful - thanks for sharing
1/30/10 10:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Fabulous jacket....one of a kind beauty. The stretch cotton worked out well and sews into a jacket that is so nice to wear now towards spring.
1/30/10 11:28 AM
bonnie said...
Incredible workmanship and choice of fabric.. I fell in love with this fabric at MT website, but was too late to order some. Has anyone else seen this elsewhere??
1/30/10 11:38 AM
j222b said...
I like this version of the jacket even better than the last!
1/30/10 2:52 PM
Renren said...
Very nice! TO BONNIE: This fabric is at fabricmartfabrics.com under Vera Wang, but their offering is a silk cotton blend, and I do believe it was a sheer. However, you might find it suits your needs.
1/30/10 3:24 PM
sew2little said...
OMG--you beat me in posting a new jacket in this fabric! Love yours too!
1/30/10 5:23 PM
sfshaza said...
Wow, Dorothy, this is so smart looking. I love it!!
2/3/10 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

Simplicity 4987

photo
by: MissParayi...

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now