SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1031 

17 more reviews
Viewed 897 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo

 
 
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/09 4:27 PM
Last Updated:8/10/09 7:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
This is really cute! I've had the pattern in my stash for a while but have been waiting to see it made up on someone with a fuller bust. I think I'm sold now--I just picked up a wool doubleknit from Michael that I think would be perfect for this.
8/8/09 4:39 PM
mrsbewley said...
Very cute!
8/8/09 4:54 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great jacket! Enjoy reading your review.
8/8/09 5:34 PM
Immelu said...
It looks great!!! I made this and love wearing it...I would like to make another one with longer sleeves for fall.
8/8/09 7:11 PM
Barbara V said...
How nice to have a wool cashmere jacket. It's beautiful and fits you very well.
8/8/09 8:18 PM
Karen6790 said...
This UFO is currently hovering in my sewing room. I had some of the same issues with it that you did, and I like my methods of construction better than theirs. Seeing your result will make me finish my jacket, whether or not I make another one remains to be seen. Congrats on finishing a UFO!
8/8/09 11:50 PM
Athene said...
A great jacket and such a nice fit on you.
8/9/09 1:46 AM
marjenann said...
Smart and sassy!! What versatile piece. The fabric is just perfect!! Love it!!
8/9/09 8:07 AM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous cardi/jacket! I'm sure the fabric you used is incredibly soft and cozy!
8/9/09 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice Nancy - have yet to sew a Hot Pattern but this may be the one! Thanks for the excellent review
8/9/09 9:27 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks for the review, especially the informative comments about the lapel and hem -- cool result, too!
8/9/09 10:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
Snazzy and stunning jacket! You look fantastic!
8/9/09 5:33 PM
ITAdmin said...
Great jacket and a great review. Thanks for all the useful information.
8/10/09 5:47 AM
DorothyK said...
Thanks for your helpful review. This jacket looks terrific.
8/10/09 8:48 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Thick knit jackets like that are so comfortable, and look so much sharper than a hoodie :-). However it looks to me like you should have done an FBA - the horizontal flaps you had to omit could only work if the seam was below the bust, not right at it.
8/10/09 10:16 AM
Mufffet said...
This looks very nice on you, and looks like a really nice sewing job here. Very nice.
8/10/09 4:05 PM
Larkin said...
Nancy, another great review. Thanks for the details - your jacket looks great!
8/11/09 10:26 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Hi Nancy, thanks for excellent review. I am wondering why a knit is needed? What do you think of using a lightweight supple wool tweed? It doesn't seem from the pattern a stretch is needed. . .thanks for your thoughts!
8/12/09 1:39 AM
katie lynne said...
This is so sharp-looking on you! Great job. I'm wondering too, if a fairly supple wool/blend could work. Hmmm...the descriptors (little stretch, stable, firm...knits) do indicate that they might work as well. Okay, you've gone and done it--I'm adding this to my wish list!
8/12/09 6:23 PM
twinkle72 said...
Hi Nancy, I came to look at your version of the RBCJ. It looks great. I wish I had read your review about double knit before I chose my fabric and got started. It was a little tricky for me!
10/21/09 5:40 PM
becca a said...
This is a great jacket Nancy. I have considered getting this pattern. Thank you for the very detailed review.
12/28/09 0:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now