SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1031 

17 more reviews
Viewed 900 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo

 
 
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/09 4:27 PM
Last Updated:8/10/09 7:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
becca a said...
This is a great jacket Nancy. I have considered getting this pattern. Thank you for the very detailed review.
12/28/09 0:45 AM
twinkle72 said...
Hi Nancy, I came to look at your version of the RBCJ. It looks great. I wish I had read your review about double knit before I chose my fabric and got started. It was a little tricky for me!
10/21/09 5:40 PM
katie lynne said...
This is so sharp-looking on you! Great job. I'm wondering too, if a fairly supple wool/blend could work. Hmmm...the descriptors (little stretch, stable, firm...knits) do indicate that they might work as well. Okay, you've gone and done it--I'm adding this to my wish list!
8/12/09 6:23 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Hi Nancy, thanks for excellent review. I am wondering why a knit is needed? What do you think of using a lightweight supple wool tweed? It doesn't seem from the pattern a stretch is needed. . .thanks for your thoughts!
8/12/09 1:39 AM
Larkin said...
Nancy, another great review. Thanks for the details - your jacket looks great!
8/11/09 10:26 AM
Mufffet said...
This looks very nice on you, and looks like a really nice sewing job here. Very nice.
8/10/09 4:05 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Thick knit jackets like that are so comfortable, and look so much sharper than a hoodie :-). However it looks to me like you should have done an FBA - the horizontal flaps you had to omit could only work if the seam was below the bust, not right at it.
8/10/09 10:16 AM
DorothyK said...
Thanks for your helpful review. This jacket looks terrific.
8/10/09 8:48 AM
ITAdmin said...
Great jacket and a great review. Thanks for all the useful information.
8/10/09 5:47 AM
Heatherrique said...
Snazzy and stunning jacket! You look fantastic!
8/9/09 5:33 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks for the review, especially the informative comments about the lapel and hem -- cool result, too!
8/9/09 10:07 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice Nancy - have yet to sew a Hot Pattern but this may be the one! Thanks for the excellent review
8/9/09 9:27 AM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous cardi/jacket! I'm sure the fabric you used is incredibly soft and cozy!
8/9/09 8:50 AM
marjenann said...
Smart and sassy!! What versatile piece. The fabric is just perfect!! Love it!!
8/9/09 8:07 AM
Athene said...
A great jacket and such a nice fit on you.
8/9/09 1:46 AM
Karen6790 said...
This UFO is currently hovering in my sewing room. I had some of the same issues with it that you did, and I like my methods of construction better than theirs. Seeing your result will make me finish my jacket, whether or not I make another one remains to be seen. Congrats on finishing a UFO!
8/8/09 11:50 PM
Barbara V said...
How nice to have a wool cashmere jacket. It's beautiful and fits you very well.
8/8/09 8:18 PM
Immelu said...
It looks great!!! I made this and love wearing it...I would like to make another one with longer sleeves for fall.
8/8/09 7:11 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great jacket! Enjoy reading your review.
8/8/09 5:34 PM
mrsbewley said...
Very cute!
8/8/09 4:54 PM
michellep74 said...
This is really cute! I've had the pattern in my stash for a while but have been waiting to see it made up on someone with a fuller bust. I think I'm sold now--I just picked up a wool doubleknit from Michael that I think would be perfect for this.
8/8/09 4:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Butterick 6967

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

More Info