SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1124 (Misses' Cardigan and Vest)

3 more reviews
Viewed 795 times 
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oceanpegstar
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/09 9:00 PM
Last Updated:8/16/09 5:00 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
I love your version. Wasn't too sure about this pattern before but now it's on my "must sew" list. Great review.
8/17/09 7:39 PM
carolynw said...
Nicd looking - thought the fringe was an extra you added - smart move!!
8/16/09 9:31 AM
GrannyT said...
I have been wondering whether this pattern would work for me - also a plus size - and after reading your review, I can see that it will work very nicely. I really like the look of the jacket and vest and can see that I would make both. I appreciated especially the advice for sizing. So many times in an oversized pattern you learn to go for the smaller size, even if you are a plus - maybe especially if you are a plus- so your clothes don't look so baggy. I would almost certainly have made this mistake without your "pioneering."
8/15/09 11:48 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks all. I'm probably not the only one who uses their shower curtain as a back-drop. It's easy for picture-taking. My laundry room is next to my bathroom, and I actually stand in the laundry room when taking the photos. Like, I stand in the bathroom on a stepping stool when taking photos of the fabric, etc., on top of my washer & dreyer, too, that I use for a cutting table.....LOL. Also used to use the top of the washer & dreyer way back when developing and printing up my film, before changing over to digital photography. My neighbor just loved the cardigan, too, when I surprisingly presented it to her. She couldn't wait to put it on and to show it to her hubby when he walked in the door while we were having a cup of tea at her house.
8/15/09 3:26 AM
magoe6217 said...
I love the look you achieved. Using the selvedges made it so much more interesting than the original pattern. It has a very Issey Miyake/Japonseque feel to it. I immediately added it to my must have pattern list based on your results. Also love the use of your shower curtain as a backdrop for your photos. Brilliant! I hope you won't mind if I copy your idea. I have so few unadulterated backgrounds in my house. Thanks for your review!
8/14/09 5:15 PM
donna mel said...
i like yours better than the picture on the pattern envelope. the raw selvage is really fitting for the loose style.
8/14/09 6:52 AM
Fran S said...
Very nice. Thanks for sharing. I've been wanting a top in this style for a bit and just added this one to my wish list. Lucky neighbor!
8/13/09 7:55 AM
ryansmumAria said...
love it!
8/13/09 0:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118A

photo
by: Gecko

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

More Info
Butterick 5749

photo
by: Viviette

Review