Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1124 (Misses' Cardigan and Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 792 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR
About Oceanpegstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/09 9:00 PM
Last Updated:8/16/09 5:00 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
love it!
8/13/09 0:45 AM
Fran S said...
Very nice. Thanks for sharing. I've been wanting a top in this style for a bit and just added this one to my wish list. Lucky neighbor!
8/13/09 7:55 AM
donna mel said...
i like yours better than the picture on the pattern envelope. the raw selvage is really fitting for the loose style.
8/14/09 6:52 AM
magoe6217 said...
I love the look you achieved. Using the selvedges made it so much more interesting than the original pattern. It has a very Issey Miyake/Japonseque feel to it. I immediately added it to my must have pattern list based on your results. Also love the use of your shower curtain as a backdrop for your photos. Brilliant! I hope you won't mind if I copy your idea. I have so few unadulterated backgrounds in my house. Thanks for your review!
8/14/09 5:15 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks all. I'm probably not the only one who uses their shower curtain as a back-drop. It's easy for picture-taking. My laundry room is next to my bathroom, and I actually stand in the laundry room when taking the photos. Like, I stand in the bathroom on a stepping stool when taking photos of the fabric, etc., on top of my washer & dreyer, too, that I use for a cutting table.....LOL. Also used to use the top of the washer & dreyer way back when developing and printing up my film, before changing over to digital photography. My neighbor just loved the cardigan, too, when I surprisingly presented it to her. She couldn't wait to put it on and to show it to her hubby when he walked in the door while we were having a cup of tea at her house.
8/15/09 3:26 AM
GrannyT said...
I have been wondering whether this pattern would work for me - also a plus size - and after reading your review, I can see that it will work very nicely. I really like the look of the jacket and vest and can see that I would make both. I appreciated especially the advice for sizing. So many times in an oversized pattern you learn to go for the smaller size, even if you are a plus - maybe especially if you are a plus- so your clothes don't look so baggy. I would almost certainly have made this mistake without your "pioneering."
8/15/09 11:48 PM
carolynw said...
Nicd looking - thought the fringe was an extra you added - smart move!!
8/16/09 9:31 AM
moushka said...
I love your version. Wasn't too sure about this pattern before but now it's on my "must sew" list. Great review.
8/17/09 7:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7916 Jacket
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 6/29/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-141
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 8/3/09
Read Review

Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us