Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6348 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 572 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/09 6:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Very pretty!
8/14/09 8:23 PM
Kayseri said...
I love the pleated bodice and overall your dress looks great. Definitely well worth the extra trouble fitting it.
8/14/09 8:34 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Wow! The pintucked bodice is a terrific feature. It's also lovely to hear how PR members inspire and encourage each other - often unknowingly.
8/14/09 8:59 PM
Heatherrique said...
I totally agree with your husband! I adore this style and color on you!
8/14/09 9:39 PM
Amanda S. said...
I'm so glad you took the time to rework it. VERY gorgeous dress on you, and the pintucked top is flawless. Now I'm wondering if I need to add some back darts to mine...
8/14/09 10:33 PM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful pintucks! i am glad you eventually got back to it. you have a gorgeous dress to enjoy now:)
8/14/09 11:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
I'm so happy you finally got back to this. That bodice is so beautiful I couldn't bear this sitting in the back of your closet unfinished.
8/14/09 11:13 PM
DorothyK said...
Wow Barbara, this is amazing. I'm so glad you persevered. It was so worth it. You look spectacular in this dress. I'm sure you will find a worthy occasion to wear it. Were the pin tucks part of the pattern or were they your idea? You did an impeccable job.
8/15/09 0:49 AM
eugenia123 said...
All that work really paid off, this dress looks fantastic on you - very elegant. That pintucked bodice adds a beautiful couture touch. Wear it asap!
8/15/09 6:08 AM
halleyscomet said...
I think the dress turned out wonderful! I love the color on you. Very chic!
8/15/09 2:52 PM
magoe6217 said...
Your perseverance paid off beautifully. This is a gorgeous dress and you are gorgeous in it. The addition of the pin tucks takes this out of the realm of the ordinary into a couture level dress. Your tip on cutting the skirt on straight of grain is excellent. If I decide to make this dress I will definitely follow your advice. Congratulations on a beautiful finished product.
8/15/09 5:45 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you to all for your comments! Dorothy, the pintucking idea was something I wanted to do for contrast in the bodice. After looking through Carol Laflin Ahles "Fine Machine Sewing", I see that what I did is better described as finely folded tucks. At any rate, I must have seen something like this made up, but now I have forgotten its origin. That is a good reason to complete a pattern review soon after finishing a garment. Hee hee.
8/15/09 10:49 PM
Christas said...
Barbara! This is such a stunning dress! I haven't been on PR very much lately, and I somehow missed this review. It is beautiful, and I really love the pin tucking detail. Of course your husband thinks it looks great! Who wouldn't love this dress?!
9/15/09 0:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 8123 MISSES' JACKET
photo
Review by whomper on 3/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4209
photo
Review by JudyP on 5/12/06
Read Review

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us