SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6348 

7 more reviews
Viewed 583 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/09 6:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Barbara! This is such a stunning dress! I haven't been on PR very much lately, and I somehow missed this review. It is beautiful, and I really love the pin tucking detail. Of course your husband thinks it looks great! Who wouldn't love this dress?!
9/15/09 0:13 AM
Barbara V said...
Thank you to all for your comments! Dorothy, the pintucking idea was something I wanted to do for contrast in the bodice. After looking through Carol Laflin Ahles "Fine Machine Sewing", I see that what I did is better described as finely folded tucks. At any rate, I must have seen something like this made up, but now I have forgotten its origin. That is a good reason to complete a pattern review soon after finishing a garment. Hee hee.
8/15/09 10:49 PM
magoe6217 said...
Your perseverance paid off beautifully. This is a gorgeous dress and you are gorgeous in it. The addition of the pin tucks takes this out of the realm of the ordinary into a couture level dress. Your tip on cutting the skirt on straight of grain is excellent. If I decide to make this dress I will definitely follow your advice. Congratulations on a beautiful finished product.
8/15/09 5:45 PM
halleyscomet said...
I think the dress turned out wonderful! I love the color on you. Very chic!
8/15/09 2:52 PM
eugenia123 said...
All that work really paid off, this dress looks fantastic on you - very elegant. That pintucked bodice adds a beautiful couture touch. Wear it asap!
8/15/09 6:08 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow Barbara, this is amazing. I'm so glad you persevered. It was so worth it. You look spectacular in this dress. I'm sure you will find a worthy occasion to wear it. Were the pin tucks part of the pattern or were they your idea? You did an impeccable job.
8/15/09 0:49 AM
Ann Smith said...
I'm so happy you finally got back to this. That bodice is so beautiful I couldn't bear this sitting in the back of your closet unfinished.
8/14/09 11:13 PM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful pintucks! i am glad you eventually got back to it. you have a gorgeous dress to enjoy now:)
8/14/09 11:00 PM
Amanda S. said...
I'm so glad you took the time to rework it. VERY gorgeous dress on you, and the pintucked top is flawless. Now I'm wondering if I need to add some back darts to mine...
8/14/09 10:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
I totally agree with your husband! I adore this style and color on you!
8/14/09 9:39 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Wow! The pintucked bodice is a terrific feature. It's also lovely to hear how PR members inspire and encourage each other - often unknowingly.
8/14/09 8:59 PM
Kayseri said...
I love the pleated bodice and overall your dress looks great. Definitely well worth the extra trouble fitting it.
8/14/09 8:34 PM
crazygrad said...
Very pretty!
8/14/09 8:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Vogue Patterns 8084

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

More Info
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

More Info